We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Know Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Know Hostel
Ranked #58 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location. It is 20 meters from the Gulhane tram station and about 10 minutes walk from the Blue mosque and 5 minutes from Topkapi palace. The rooms are not very big but they are clean and are comfortable. Washroom is very neat and clean and new.
The staff is very helpful, especially Orhan who is the manager of the hotel and Erkan, who is the owner of the hotel. Orhan helped us plan our day trips, guided us about the bus routes and assisted us with everything we needed. One of the staff members even helped us purchase a new bag (they were cheap near his house so he got one for us) and they were kind enough to keep our luggage for 5 days with them too. The breakfast was awesome and there was a lot of variety.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of living in sultanahmet area as the Elite Kasseria staff and the facility offer everything you would want to have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UmairK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel. You made very important points about the location of the hotel and it's quietness. And we are also happy for your comment about the staff, it really motivates us.

Looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay, here in your home in Istanbul!!

King Regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed three days at the end of July: the position is awesome, just 5 minutes walk by most important sites of Sultanahmet, our room was very comfortable, the bathroom perfectly clean and newly refurbished. Breakfast is abudant and the blue-eyed lady in the kitchen is very pretty and kind. Orhan, the receptionist, was very kind and helpful to us: he patiently explained to us how to sort bus connections in Istanbul and he made a reservation on behalf of us by personally calling at a restaurant.
Astounding money for value Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I spent there only 4 days but they were exellent.The rooms are new and clean with nice interiour (especially I liked the diamonds in the bathroom:))I was pleasantly surprised with the kettle with coffee and tea in the room which came in handy much.
Special hearty thanks to the personnel, they were very kind and caring.On the last day of my stay I was upgraded to the other room category and I got a great view from the window.
Guys thank you very much for making my stay in Istanbul unforgettable!
Best regards
Maria

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I visited the gift shop of this hotel on my recent trip to Istanbul. It had great gifts to take back for family and friends at really reasonable prices. The staff could not have been nicer, they spoke excellent English and we were made to feel so welcome. We were fed snacks cooked by the manager's mother and given a free gift! On my last day in Istanbul, I returned to the shop to purchase some last minute gifts and completely forgot to take the shopping with me when I left. I had a business card from the shop and emailed them the following day from the UK. The store manager, Fatih, packaged up the gifts and posted them to me at home, service totally above and beyond the norm. I would definitely recommend a visit to this shop if you travel to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ATBuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This small hotel, just eight rooms, is great. Everything is brand new! Yes, it's cozy, but it's also just a short walk from the major tourist attractions. The staff is wonderfully friendly, helping book tours, etc. the breakfast is delicious: a new special item every day. There's even a lending library for books and they'll loan you an umbrella. There's air conditioning if you need it, and always a smile to greet you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MovingRightAloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After the horrors of passport control at Ataturk airport and the airline delays we were worried about finding our ride. No worries, the driver sent by the hotel was still waiting despite out 3 hour delay. He even pulled over on the busy road to get us waters after that 13 hour plane ride. The hotel was perfectly friendly upon arrival and took those cumbersome bags from us.

The breakfast was amazing. We were full until dinner. We didn't realize how spoiled we were by that breakfast until we flew to the coast. The eggs and sausage were perfect! I raved about them so much that Mama made them again the next morning. I am missing them for sure. It was a perfect blend of breads, jams, hot items, fruit and cheeses. There were plenty of drinks and the coffee was superb.

Housekeeping was above and beyond. We were so impressed by the cleaning that we we almost ashamed of how messy we were to begin with.

It was perfectly located on the T1 tram line and everything was easy to access from here.

The wifi was reliable and great. We never once turned on the tv during our stay but it was a large one. The a/c worked great. The bathroom was spacious with lots of much appreciated storage under the sink. There were plenty of towels.

I will certainly recommend this place to others and look forward to going back. I legitimately have nothing even mildly negative to say about this place.

Room Tip: We slept with the doors open in room 401 to hear the street noise but once closed you couldn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orhan Ö, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything went well for us in Istanbul. Although our arrival at the airport was beset by atrociously inefficient and ineffective airport staff at managing huge immigration lineups, and trust me I have been through scores of undeveloped airports, everything else was excellent in this wonderful city.

The hotel was perfectly located for sightseeing, and the family-based staff was courteous, knowledgeable and above all, quite willing to help. Food was home cooked and yummy! Room was small, but clean and modern. Chatting with the staff was fun.

I have no complaints other than we did not have longer explore Istanbul: an eccletic mix of new and old. Truly a fabulous city. Pity about some of the political stress.

A special thanks to all at Elite K. Hotel. I would have written this review sooner, but there has been a coup in Bangkok, where I live, so I have been preoccupied. I missed rating this place on Booking,com, but I would have given it 9/10. :)

Room Tip: I saw the suites and they looked quite big. Our room was adequate for a couple. There is a nice cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ineedmorespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SERKAN K, Ön Büro Müdürü at Know Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Elite Kasseria Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Elite Kasseria Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us in Elite Kasseria Hotel.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel as I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Elite Kasseria Hotel Istanbul.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#741 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,246 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#106 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Know Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Know Hostel

Address: Hocapasa Mah. Hudevendigar Cad. No:10 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Elite Kasseria Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Kasseria Hotel, Tarihi Yarimada'da elverisli bir konuma sahiptir. Ucretsiz Wi-Fi erisimi mevcuttur. Elite Kasseria Hotel'in tumu klimali odalarinda duz ekran kablo TV, elektrikli su isiticisi ve minibar bulunmaktadir. Duslu ozel banyolarda sac kurutma makinesi ve ucretsiz banyo malzemeleri vardir. Elite Kasseria Hotel, 24 saat acik resepsiyonu ve terasiyla hizmetinizdedir. Diger olanaklar arasinda ortak lounge alani ve bagaj muhafaza hizmeti sayilabilir. Tesisin etrafinda cok sayida restoran ve magaza yer almaktadir. Otel, Topkapi Sarayi'na 500 metre, Ayasofya'ya ise 500 metre mesafededir. Ataturk Havalimani ise 18 km uzakliktadir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Know Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing