We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the Turquoise House in Old Istanbul”
other travellers have booked this property
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room
The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Elegant style
The kitchen, dish washer, full oven, washer/dryer etc etc
Kitchen
Italian tiles for taste full breakfast
A tasteful place to dine
Single beds can be made if necessary. Two friends sharing or brother and sister?
Beautiful bedroom
Vibrant colour. Tasteful design.
Spacious living.Large bed All beds brand new. Air conditioning.
Orginal wooden ceilings and doors. A place to sit and read. Lot's of light.
Sweetest dreams after a hectic day touring the city. Quality linens.
Orginal design. Each peice individual. One of a kind.
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Gorgeous orginal Stairs, modern and antique furnishings
Top floor double bed  Antique wardrobe. ceiling fan. air con.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Second Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Hallways
Coffee or breakfast.Views over the rooftops down to the water of the Golden Horn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Istanbul

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brian P
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Loved the Turquoise House in Old Istanbul”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our party of three had a wonderful 11 day stay at the Turquoise House. The house is beautifully decorated & looks exactly as it does in the pictures, so you’ll be pleasantly surprised that what you see in the photos is what you get. The location and neighborhood was the highlight for me, as there are two distinctive neighborhoods Balat and Fatih, Fatih is a very conservative Muslim area and Balat, is a more traditional Turkish neighborhood, with an increasingly modern trend. Both areas provided rich travel experiences. Once you get your bearings, you’ll find the Turquoise House is perfect for exploring Istanbul.
I do want to mention our host, on arrival Ozkan made me feel very welcomed and provided provisions to get us started, bread, milk and eggs. He also arranged for our transportation to and from the airport, which went smoothly. The insider recommendations on things to do and how to get around in Istanbul were very helpful.
Thank you Ozkan and Peter for a terrific stay and if I ever come back to Istanbul I will definitely stay at the Turquoise House as I feel it is my home away from home in Istanbul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hot water didn't work, but was repaired quickly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitbadut
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“STUNNING - abasolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The place is as fantastic as the photos show! At one point I was wondering if this place was a scam as I thought: "It looks too good to be true" BUT reality it is even better than the photos!! We loved staying in the house and enjoyed the feeling of having a home away from home. Ozkan & Peter were GREAT hosts!
We liked the neighbourhood and all the many everyday scenes: Laundry dangling high above the street; kids playing; adults meeting on the street corner; the simit-bakery and the friendly owner; the smiles; the steepness of the streets.
We highly recommend the house and we'll definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house; the hosts; the neighbourhood
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBut...
Garrett Speirs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just cant say enough good things about the Turquoise House. A 10!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

As with any memorable stay, it really begins with the people. Peter and Ozkan were such gracious hosts. They really went out of there way to attend to whatever small detail we needed. Even letting us borrow their own bus card to help us get around. We found all their recommendations to be spot on, especially their restaurant recommendations.
The location of the apartment was absolutely amazing. Such an authentic stay. After heading into the old/touristy section of town we craved the serenity of Balat. The area is one of the most incredibly beautiful section of town that can rival any place for its uniqueness. There are many (and I mean many) bakeries on the way down the hill from which we made our breakfast. We didn't see one other tourist in the four days we spent there.
Of course the apartment is simple beautiful. A piece of functional art! Thank you Peter and Ozkan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Episodeso...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even Better Than The Photographs In Elle Magazine”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We arrived on a cold snowy evening and were welcomed to the gorgeous Turquoise House by our charming hosts Peter and Ozkan.

The house is just stunning - even better than the photographs in Elle Magazine - with amazing attention to all the decorative details ... it just oozes with the care and love that this couple have lavished upon it.

When we travel we try to find interesting places to stay that are beautifully decorated, but which are not formal or fussy as it needs to work for us as a family and The Turquoise House did not disappoint easily absorbing the four of us.

Peter took us on a snowy tour of the neighbourhood on our first evening showing us where to buy our groceries and where to eat - each morning we loved going to the traditional wood fired simit bakery which is 2 minutes away just opposite the quirky wooden houses that featured in Skyfall.

We have been to Istanbul before and deliberately chose to stay away from the tourist centre. Balat is an authentic area that has been "discovered" - there is a mixture of crumbling old houses just waiting to be renovated, the odd one currently under renovation and stylish renovated houses as well as traditional family homes. We felt very comfortable, everyone we met was welcoming and we easily found taxis (which are very cheap) to take us where we wanted to go - within 10 minutes we were at the main sights.

If you want a choice of bars and restaurants on your doorstep with an immaculate view from your window then The Turquoise House might not be for you but if you want authenticity, a beautiful house and charming hosts then I'd recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen O
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration and comfort”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved staying in Ozkan and Peter's place ...it was a great place to come home to after a full day of sightseeing. The house was in a great location - easy to get to everything and just up the hill from public transport. We were able to do food shopping and find good restaurants easily located not far from the rental property. We loved the way they decorated and the place was homey and very cozy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy living room and bedrooms
Liked least: The kitchen was a little bit small but manageable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coartist4...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully decorated, comfortable apartment.”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Peter and Ozkan have done a wonderful job renovating this old building and have beautiful decorative touches. The beds are quite comfortable, including the thick duvet. Ozkan showed me around the neighbor hood and introduced us to the delightful American ladies renting the lower studio. He also brought bread, eggs and bottled water. They arranged for a driver to take us to the airport at 5:45 in the morning and he was actually a bit early. It was nice having a bathroom in each of the bedroom levels. The rain shower was great. Wi-fi worked well. Highly recommended. Be warned- it is up a hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds and bathrooms.
Liked least: The walk up the hill
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts were friendly, informative and accommodating.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing