We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the very heart of Sultanahmet”
Review of Sultanahmet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #590 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Claverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At the very heart of Sultanahmet”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stopped in this hotel for only three nights, while on my way to Nepal via turkey and the emirates. My room was small, but super clean and very comfortable with a large bed, nice matress, tv, and a good internet connection but the real plus of this small hotel is its incredible location, (a 3 minutes walk away from the blue Mosque, 5 minutes from the Topkapi palace...and the tramway stop 25 meters away from the door). I could basically come back to my room in between visits whenever I wanted or needed to.
Enjoying their excellent breakfast on the roof top while admiring the view over the nearby blue mosque truly is a great souvenir from Istanbul.
The staff was also very helpfull, patient and friendly.
So to sum up: the room was ok,the staff was great and the location was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    58
    28
    9
    23
See reviews for
33
71
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Perfect location for sight seeing. It is definitely worth spending the extra money to get the second floor rooms with balcony and amazing views of the mosque and the Bosporus. Yes the rooms are small and the bathroom smaller but the balcony, the friendliness of the staff and the great breakfast make it an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rastam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were honeymooners and had the best stay at sultanahmet hotel.
The staff was very nice and cooperative, breakfast was so delicious with a breathtaking view at all sultanahmet area from the terrace.
The manager Cidam was so helpful always smiling and she knows english; she helped us find a hotel and reserve for us in Termal Yalova.
the room was small but clean,with AC; the bathroom though was small with no bathtub.
it is a cozy hotel, no elevator
the hotel was in the heart of the old city: sultanahmet area, close to everything:tram, topkapi, aya sophia...
i highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahmoudeffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Sit on the terrace and watch the view beileve me even this is enaugh for to spend time in this hotel..My room is very clean and Air-conditionıng is very quiet
Hotel is on the straight way,means we didnt walk up and down.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busecik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We visited the Sultanahmet hotel in June. It is, as it says, 10 metres from the tram stop at Sultanahmet. We had an interior room but it was spacious and adequate. The main bonus was the roof terrace where we could sit at any time- taking our own drinks/ food. It has benches, chairs and sun loungers. It was ideal for a late lunchtime break before sightseeing in the afternoon. Evenings too were delightful on the terrace.
The superb breakfast is served there every morning and must have the best view in Istanbul of the Blue Mosque/ Topkapi etc.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The linen/towels are changed daily.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.
The price is good too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you do not want an interior room. That said, the interior rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we have stayed in hotel Sultanahmet few weeks ago during our visit in Istanbul, the location of the hotel was perfect as we were in reach of everywhere we wished to visit, the rooms were clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, we would definately go back to this hotel, especaily to have a nice drink in Terrace cafe with the magical view of Sultanahmet Mosque,


we highly recommend hotel Sultanahmet to everyone,

thank you very much for the magical experience,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulku-boztas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#383 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel Istanbul
Ares Hotel Istanbul
#205 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#258 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#434 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Hotel

Property: Sultanahmet Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Cad No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 340110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultanahmet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultanahmet’s location positions guests within a short walk of major historic sites of Istanbul, including Grand Bazaar. Public tramway and bus stops are situated at the front of the hotel.Sultanahmet Hotel surrounded by small shops and restaurants has been serving to its visitors as a boutique hotel since 1972. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing