We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for visitng Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Med Cezir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Med Cezir Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,010 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for visitng Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Everyone on staff was super helpful and friendly, I really hope we get to stay at Med Cezir again someday. We stayed in room number 4 and it was a really great value. There was a shared bathroom, but only with one other room so it was hardly an inconvenience. Plus, there was a door to close off the rest of the hotel from rooms 4, 5 and the restroom. The location of Med Cezir really couldn't be any better. You can walk to the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, many other attractions and the tram line in less than 5 minutes. The restaurant is also quite good - not the best we went to in Istanbul, but really good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Climber82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    71
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
129
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing time in Med Cezir Hotel. 100% recommended. Excellent location, great breakfast and great staff, specially Samet. He even organized us an amazing Turkey Tour much cheaper than we had checked before.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vetustamorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goreme, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The staff is extremely helpful, sincere, and friendly. They really went out of their way to help us arrange everything we needed. We really felt welcome. They can even arrange tours for you in Cappadoccia. The prices they offer in Istanbul are better than what you get once you arrive in Cappadoccia. We didn't book the air balloon tour in Istanbul and regretted it when we got to Cappadoccia.... The tours were selling for much much more (60 euro difference) in Cappadoccia. Thanks Orhan and Samet for your friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoozerewiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was a family trip (3 adults, one teenager and one 4-year-old girl) to Istanbul lasting one week and our first time in the city. We were taken care of by hospitable and helpful staff. The location couldn't be better - Med Cezir hotel is situated in the very heart of Sultanahmet, historic quarter, between Ayasofya and the Blue Mosque. We spent New Year's Eve in the hotel and it was magical, as the host played guitar and sang traditional Turkish songs. The staff speak multiple languages. It was a great "home away from home" experience. Med Cezir hotel is as charming as the city of Istanbul. I highly recommend it, it's worth the money charged.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Travelled here alone, and from the moment I arrived the boys looked after me so well, making me tea, keeping me company, playfully disagreeing over our respective football teams! The location is perfect - a stone's throw from all Istanbul's must-see sights. Take your chilled beer to the rooftop terrace and watch the sun set over the Blue Mosque, Ayia Sofia and the Bosphorus. That was one of my most magical moments in this phenomenal city. Enjoy a typical, generous Turkish breakfast in the morning in their traditional dining room. Don't even think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barefoot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you're looking for a place you can call 'home', even for just a day...I'd highly recommend Med Cezir Hotel. It is centrally located so all the big tourist attractions are a mere stone throw away and public transport is easily accessible. The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms clean. But above all, the service is personal. The staff at Med Cezir make you feel as though you're a part of an extended family and that makes your stay so much more special. One evening, we found the owner playing guitar in the restaurant and when my husband Yusuf said he also plays...the owner got out another guitar and they jammed together! It's the little things, the personal things that made our stay at Med Cezir memorable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is everything you want when visiting Istanbul. From the get-go, everything was great. I was greeted by a very nice young man who got me my room hours before official check-in time. The rest of the staff was very nice, friendly and welcoming. The room was warm (it was chilly outside when I was there, so I really appreciated the heat!), spacious and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was also good and authentic. I stayed almost a week and enjoyed every day. Whether you're travelling alone or with friends, I'm sure you will enjoy staying at Med Cezir. The location is superb: you will literaly be between Ayasofia and the Blue Mosque, at the heart of Istanbul's old city. I highly recommend this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madescoteaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#178 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Med Cezir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Med Cezir Hotel

Property: Med Cezir Hotel
Address: Tevkifhane Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,010 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Med Cezir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Med Cezir is a clean and comfortable hotel situated in Sultanahmet just a few minutes walk from Hagia Sophia, the Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, the Underground Cistern, the Mosaic Museum and the Spice Bazaar. Hotel Med Cezir has comfortable and well appointed guest rooms with or without a private bathroom. The rooms feature comfortable beds and a hair dryer. 24 hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Med Cezir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing