We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, compact but works if you are out sight seeing.”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antique Hotel
Ranked #639 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment for 5 days close by and it was nasty. Moved to this place because we had enough of that apartment! Hotel Antique is your basic hotel. No frills but they tried to compact the room with a fridge, air-conditioning and TV. The bathroom was small too but honestly, it wasn't nasty like the previous. The staff there, the best! Always with a smile and always willing to help. You can't fault that. Just note, not for long term stay as it can get too tight. But for a night or 2, ok and breakfast on the roof, basic but I go for tea in the mornings, not much else....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. Sofa beds not real beds that were really hard. Pigeons living in the roof as facia board missing. Hole in ceiling filled with plastic bag. No where to sit except on the beds.
The noise outside where people gathered at night was awful + the mosque opposite and next to noisy train line.
Only ++ was location to far to walk to any of historial sites.
Enis and staff at hotel was helpful and possible stay there on another visit.

Room Tip: Do not stay until a lot of work has been done to this apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 898Susan898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a very average hotel in an ideal location run by a charming and helpful proprietor Enis
whose hospitality outweighed the shortcomings. The accommodation is very reasonably priced.
A good breakfast is served on the roof which is lovely. All the staff were friendly and we did appreciate the tea and coffee served on the terrace with over guests. We will stay here again if in Istanbul

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel Antique has apartments available, but I would not recommend them. The first one we stayed at was in an old and decrepit building. Most of the furniture was broken and there were no eatings spaces or sitting spaces. The beds were also very old and needed to be replaced. However, the neighborhood was very good, a few blocks away from the water front and very close to all the historical sites. Plus, there was very little traffic, which was perfect for my three year old son. The second apartment we stayed at on our return trip a few weeks later was in a beautiful building quite far from Hotel Antique, but close to all the sites. The apartment was wonderful, and well decorated, but no air conditioning (agg!). The apartment was located in a in a working neighborhood and so it was bustling and full of real people, not just tourists. There were many small markets around and a large children's park just a few blocks away. Unfortunately, shortly after we arrived, the water shut off and stayed off. We hailed a cab back to Hotel Antique and stayed there for the remainder of the visit. The hotel itself is a very nice budget hotel, and I would stay there again because the staff was so helpful. Enis even carted us around in his own car. I would definitely hold off on staying at the apartments until the hotel gets a bit more organized. It's definitely harder to stay at an apartment in a new city because the lack of support from a concierge. However, I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JosieW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This Hotel is very very close to them Blue Mosque and other main attractions of Istanbul. It is clean and tidy. The staff go above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay. I had trouble with a rental car, and the manager got on the phone and sorted it out for me. Fantastic service. The roof top terrace is available to enjoy a byo drink while taking in the views across the city and the Marmara sea. An excellent breakfast is served here each morning too.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a value for money, very centrally located hotel, with helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive and simple hotel you will be happy with Antique. The rooms aren't much but the helpfulness of Enis, the owner makes up for the small and simple rooms. Overall, a clean, welcoming, and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTouristHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you are looking for a clean place to sleep and easy access to the tourist areas,
I will highly recommend this place.
The owner is friendly, helpful and speak excellent English.
Although the night staff doenst speak much English, he is still extremely helpful and nice!
Breakfast on the terrace on the top level has a nice view of the mamara sea. Breakfast is also prepared by a very friendly nice cheerful lady. She even baked a cake and offered it to the guests!

On the down side, it is abit old and run down. if you can go pass the asethetics, this is defintely a place to stay. For this B&B, it's the charm and friendliness that shine throughout.
If this place undergoes a face lift and refurbishment, I would dare say it will be hard to get a room there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#514 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#451 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#591 of 1,163 in Istanbul
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#118 of 1,163 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#558 of 1,163 in Istanbul
228 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#898 of 1,163 in Istanbul
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Ogul Sok. No:17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #639 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Antique Hotel Istanbul which serves since June, 1989. Centrally located in Sultanahmet, The Antique hotel is a traditional family run property situated in the historical centre of Istanbul. Hotel Antique makes visitors feel more like a home. Accommodations are available for the short and long term stays for international travelers. The Antique is one of the most unique and definitely best BB hotel in the Sultanahmet district, offering friendly budget accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing