We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of old Istanbul”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antique Hotel
Ranked #632 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Antique hotel for 6 days. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was served in the patio with a sea view and we had nice chats with other guests. The room was clean. It was a decent size room but the bathroom is REALLY small! My husband is 6' 1" so it was a bit of challenge for him. The rooftop patio has a great view of Blue Mosque. The location is great. Arasta bazar, Topkapi palace and Hagia Sophia are walking distance. The price is right if you don't mind the smaller size room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very nice place, convenient location, friendly people, good food!
Clean room, quiet area.

The room was little small, also the bathroom (no window), but absolutely enough for an holiday.
no elevator (historical building), small stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EB762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a family run hotel in historical Istanbul, two minutes from the Blue Mosque. Although very central, the hotel is situated in a very quiet area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is a bit old fashioned but clean. Our two rooms, situated next to each other, were tiny but tasteful. Sofas on the terrasse provide a view of the Marmara sea and a pleasant place to drink coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I visited Istanbul for 3 nights with a group of friends - girls and guys. There were 7 of us including 2 couples. We booked 3 rooms at the Antique Hotel soley based on reviews on Trip Advisor and location in relation to the Blue Mosque/sightseeing/restaurants and night-life in Old Town. The rooms/bathroom are indeed small, but this is to be expected of any hotel in this area, as the buildings are all very old. The rooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast was hearty and delicious, and the views were excellent from the outdoor patio in back. It's a very short (2-minute) walk to the Blue Mosque and all other attractions in the area. If you take a taxi from the airport, be sure you can give directions (in Turkish) or you can call the hotel and have the hotel mgr speak to the cab driver, as most cabies don't know where to go based on just the address (this is common for this area of Istanbul).
It's a family owned and operated hotel. You will probably meet Enis while there - he provided the best guest service I have ever experienced at any hotel, and I have been a business traveller for the last 10 years of my life, so I certainly have high standards when it comes to guest service. He offerred great suggestions for restaurants, bars, etc. Helped us with cabs. Even walked with all of us and helped carry our luggage through town so we wouldn't get lost when leaving. He suggested that we have an afternoon BBQ at the hotel one afternoon so we could mingle with the other guests, who happenned to be English-speaking as well - from South Africa, the US, and the UK. Enis made our experience one we will never forget. If I ever return to Istanbul I will certainly be staying at the Antique Hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask to stay in the main building of the hotel. There is a seperate building a few bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrooks1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Antique Hotel gets good marks in the Lonely Planet so I booked a private room with a bathroom. It's really nothing out of the ordinary but I was satisfied. I booked my own van to and from the airport so don't know if they offer that service. I booked over the internet and they were friendly and responsive. Yes, it's true that lugging my very large bag up the narrow staircase was a challenge but they helped me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bessf0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed there for just one night although had a booking for four nights. We had to change our hotel the very next day. Although we had an airport transfer booked previously with this hotel, they did not send the cab to the airport. Rooms are very small . No space to stand in the bathroom. No lift. Staircase very narrow. Breakfast was below average. Only advantage is the location but there are other very good hotels around in the same area.
The staff returned our money and we shifted to another hotel nearby.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Dirty, tiny room! Sheets and towels were not clean.
Horrible breakfast at the "terrace". Ok view though! But you can find the same view all over Sultanahmet.
When we checked out early due to the unsatisfying room etc. the staff was friendly and helpfull as we paid for our one night stay. Unfortunately, as we arrived back home, we realized that the hotel helped themself charging for 4 nights at i our credit card - although agreeing not to do so!

We will definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CmS802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#442 of 1,160 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#586 of 1,160 in Istanbul
16 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#519 of 1,160 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#896 of 1,160 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#502 of 1,160 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Emir
Hotel Emir
#483 of 1,160 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Ogul Sok. No:17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Antique Hotel Istanbul which serves since June, 1989. Centrally located in Sultanahmet, The Antique hotel is a traditional family run property situated in the historical centre of Istanbul. Hotel Antique makes visitors feel more like a home. Accommodations are available for the short and long term stays for international travelers. The Antique is one of the most unique and definitely best BB hotel in the Sultanahmet district, offering friendly budget accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing