We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guesthouse in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guesthouse in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This guesthouse was perfect for a relaxing long weekend in Istanbul. The service was great starting with private pickup from the airport as we were arriving late, the breakfasts and some good recommendations for eating locally. The room was clean and tidy with good facilities and the roof top terrace overlooking the Bosphorus was the perfect location for breakfast or an evening beer. It's also in the perfect location just a short walk from most of Istanbul's main attractions. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    223
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
204
398
91
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay at Marmara Guesthouse was great. Location is superb to visit all the historic places: Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Anthropology Museum. You can walk to all these places in 5 minutes. It's just one street from a lot of restaurants and cafes and still is in a quiet street so you can relax as soon as you enter to this area.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stay at top floor and beds were really good. (not elevator). Breakfast was really good and we found some treats every day from the family. Terrace was great to relax in the afternoon with free coffee and tea.

Everybody was really helpful with information about trams and how to arrive to places.

Thanks a lot to our host!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Everything in the hotel was great. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful with whatever you needed, and the airport transfer (for a fee) was good. Also, the rooftop breakfast was very good with many options and a nice view. The location was fantastic, walking distance from the major attractions. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamBenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The owners and staff at the Marmara Guesthouse were friendly, capable and very helpful - especially when we needed assistance in making reservations for ferries and intercity buses. The location in Sultanahmet was ideal - close to many of the must-see sites. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious with many homemade treats. The rooftop terrace was great for enjoying a drink and snack before venturing to the many nearby restaurants. We would recommend this Guesthouse to any travellers and would return ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrisjanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A very good guesthouse, very well situated in the heart of Stambul, nearly main famous landmarks. Generous breakfast, hosts very smiley and helpful. You will enjoy a beautiful terrace with a nicely view on the Marmara Sea...We recommend !

Room Tip: Maybe avoid bedroom 402, which is just beside the breakfast room, if you want lie in :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Marmara Guesthouse. The location is great, and the owners and staff were quite helpful and friendly. With our stay at the end of our trip to Turkey, Marmara was a welcome and relaxing conclusion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is very close to the main Sultanamhet sites and also to many restaurants. Our room 301 was compact but there were plenty of drawers and a wardrobe so we could unpack our cases. The room was sunny, well maintained and modern. All of the staff were very friendly and they really went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The breakfast buffet was good quality and varied. It was very pleasant to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view at breakfast or to have a drink later in the day. We stayed for a week and we were really pleased that we had chosen to stay at the Marmara Guesthouse. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301, the room below 201 is a bit smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,029 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Property: Marmara Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing