We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great charming Guesthouse in Boheme Istanbul”
Review of Noble House Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noble House Galata
Ranked #308 of 1,219 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great charming Guesthouse in Boheme Istanbul”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Service is lovely and make you feel at home, rooms are nicely decorated, location in lively Beyoglu is the best...
Incomparable value for money vs Sultanhammet hotels, and the best breakfast of Turkey!
I would definitely recommand it and go back there when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinette108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    21
    9
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
42
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Eklektik Galata House ISTANBUL . Centrally located, quiet and clean. Booked on line with them. Took advantage of being met at the airport by a cab though the guest house to . Arriving in the old quater town full of charm and personality. No sign on the Guesthouse, so gratful for the cab knowing. Warm welcome and comfortable sized room with 2 windows that opened. Location isn't for some one who doesn't enjoy walking as Istanbul isn't flat neither is the loaction of this guest house. Needless to stay I felt like I was a guest in a frends house. The Staff are so welcoming. The place reminded me of Babery Lane from 'Tale of the City' books and Sabrio, the gereral helper is Mrs Madrigal. Staying in this guest house couldn't have been more perfect for some one like me who's hungery for charactor, charm, personality and intemcy rather than big bland and sterile. Artist / Designer Brandon Mably

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Location:- a great location if your visit to Istanbul involves the great nightlife. Very close by the Tunel in Beyoglu and all the fantastic back street bars and restaurants, about five mins walk from Galata tower, 30-45 mins spectacular walk over the bridge to Sultanamehmet (and you can pick up one of the delicious fried fish sandwiches as you step onto the Golden Horn, yum). Be warned that it's a little bit obscure to find - on a tiny alley off Serdar-i Ekram Cd, near the junction with Sah Kulu Bostan Sk. If you're directing a transfer, it's probably best to tell them to go up Serdar as car access is usually denied from Istikal Cd/ Tunel end.

Cleanliness:- Generally very clean - although when we lost something under the bed, there was a ton of dust! Towels were replaced, bedding was spotless.

Quietness/Privacy:- Our room was overlooked by the German school opposite - keep your curtains closed or you may have someone peeping in! Generally a quiet place, you can hear other people moving around (it's a small guest house) but nothing not copable with. There's no loud bars nearby - it's a residential area.

Facilities:- truly, truly amazing breakfast, with a huge plus point that you can have it whenever you get up rather than being limited to a particular time period. This made the whole experience very laid back, and there was always tons of stuff for us by 11.30 am. Fruit, tomatoes and cucumber, lots of different types of jam, honey, olives, breads, cake, gorgeous coffee, tea, fruit juice - and other stuff on demand. Very friendly people around to help with breakfast - good for an interesting natter, but also able to discreetly keep out of your way if you're feeling a bit worse for wear!

Style:- a boutique guest house, so all the rooms are different. Ours was the Sultan room. Beautifully laid out with opulent textiles, lovey mirror, big old wardrobe and an in-room hamman-style shower with marble and an ottoman lamp overhead. Very beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The place as a whole is a laid-back and friendly guest house - and you do feel like you're a guest in someone's house.

Service:- All the people working there were friendly and interesting, always up for suggestions and chats - no problems with English at all. We felt we were made very, very welcome. Help with our bags, lots of advice, and fantastic help with our transfer pick up back to the airport, who had problems finding the place (see above on location for further help here!).

Price:- Pretty reasonable for Istanbul, and really good considering how nice the place was. Is worth looking out for bargains on booking sites.

I'll definitely be going back to Istanbul, and when I do, I'll be trying to book in here - it's a really great place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Eklektik Guest House makes you feel at home as soon as you get there; the owner and the staff are friendly, intelligent and interesting people, always ready to help out with questions and information. The rooms have all one needs, it is quiet and the location is wonderful. The breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

I have stayed Eklektik Guest House in mid February 2009 for 3 nights. This is a "guest house" which you cannot expect some hotel services but at home and friendly welcome.

The place is conveniently located - close to Tunel and nostalgic-tram station as well as newly extended Sishane metro station in New City side. I got the "Red Room" which is the top of the building, very quiet, clean, roomy and very nicely decollated as "Queer Eye for the Straight Travelers." Breakfast is served with yummy breads and spreads, honey, several kinds of cheeses, tomato-cucumber salad, etc. (see my pictures)
All staffs are very friendly. Although English speakers are limited, they are trying to help my stay as comfortable as possible. The third night was owner's birthday and I was unexpectedly invited their party, had great conversation with their guests in both English and Japanese. They are really awesome people.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koba-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goumenissa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We spent 4 nights at Istabul's Eklekik and we would definately choose to stay there again, in case we are back at this part of the city.
The atmoshpere is homey, the guys who run it or work there have a great sense of humor and we had some good laughs with them over breakfast, that is shared between guests on the same table (sth we genuinely enjoyed).
All the decoration elements are carefully chosen and put together by a friend (adorable) of the owners and you overall get the sense that evth in Eklektik is decided, made or chosen by friends who share and love it.

I hope you'll keep on sharing good laughs with your guests guys!

Hope we get to meet again!
Maria

  • Liked — The cozy atmosphere and the owners' friendly approach.
  • Disliked — The fact that we counted on these guys to advice us on secret-local's-non-touristy-spots of the town, without knowing that only ONE of them really knows and comes from Istabul!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mmouzouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This gay-owned, gay-run guest house should probably be billing itself as "straight-friendly"! During my 10-day stay the people who shared the amply-laden communal breakfast table included gay, lesbian and straight couples, as well as a scattering of single gay men. They came from France, Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands, England, Israel, possibly elsewhere as well, and (in my case) Canada. Joining the guests at the breakfast table were the owner and his partner who live relatively nearby and the young manager (the flirtaious and endlessly helpful Selcuk) when he came on duty. (On the subject of breakfast, the constantly replenished table included eggs, cheeses, olives, cucumber, tomatoes, fruit (stawberries that taste like strawberries) fresh bread, simit (enjoy), sweet butter, honey soaked jams, thick cream (Clotted?) floating in honey, cake, Turkish Delight(!), grilled cheese and tomato slices, tea, coffee, and juice, and things I have probably forgotten. The only thing missing was yoghurt and when I think of it, had I asked they probably would have served it to me the next day. And breakfast was when you wanted it, although I doubt if many guests got up really early.) Did I mention how friendly a place this is? I should also mention how pleasant, helpful, friendly and attentive all the young staff were. Although only a small establishment, the rooms are spacious (and mine was one of the smaller rooms I think) and well appointed. The location - truly only minutes from the unending pleasures of Beyolgu - is unbeatable, yet still quiet (if you ignore the occassional dog barking, chicken clucking, and cats noisely mating). For those who, like me, enjoy walking, almost everything you might want to see in the historic parts of Istanbul can be reached on foot. Or if, again like me, you enjoy the economy and egalitarianism of public transit, then everything you might need - funicular, tram, ferry, bus and soon a new Metro line - is close by. A review without a caveat would be suspicious. My only reservation would be that my perfectly OK room (the misnamed Retro Room) lacked the pizazz of some of the other rooms but a lot of paint would soon fix that! And, oh yes, the wireless internet connection was more than a bit wobbly. I had a great time.

  • Liked — location, staff, atmosphere
  • Disliked — inconsistent wireless connection
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#17 of 1,156 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#10 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#89 of 1,156 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#155 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble House Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble House Galata

Property: Noble House Galata
Address: Serdari Ekrem Cad. Kadri Bey Cikmazi No:4 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey (Formerly Eklektik Guest House)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 1,219 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Noble House Galata 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical European Istanbul building of 1890s is originally converted into a 8-room hotel with different themes in each room. At Noble House, the modern comfort is united with a personal welcome feeling. Being in the very center of the city, it is conveniently located close to the major tourist attractions, shopping area and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Noble House Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklektik Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing