We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Ranked #244 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I went to the Legacy Ottoman Hotel when I wanted to take a break from the crowds of the Grand Bazaar. I had become separated from my traveling companions, so I decided to try the hotel rather than a cafe as I searched for a place to have tea. The people at the reception desk welcomed me and indicated that I could get tea at the restaurant on the ground floor or at the rooftop bar. I went upstairs and found a space that, though somewhat tired, boasted an excellent view and a very good staff.

The staff did not speak much English, but they were very helpful and eager to make my visit pleasant. When it became clear that I could not have much that was on the menu due to a gluten intolerance, the manager had the chef prepare a plate of grilled vegetables for me. I enjoyed it with tea and champagne. The cost was well below what I had anticipated.

The visit was a great break from the intensity of the crowds in the bazaar. I hope that I have an opportunity to go there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesIslandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    117
    54
    21
    31
See reviews for
98
136
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the old city of Istanbul. It was walking distance to many main places in Istanbul. We spent there 3 nights on June 2013 as honeymoon experience.

We stayed in corner suite and it was very spacious. They arranged Honeymoon arrangements for us. Check-In was smooth, The hotel staff service was very good and they were helpful.

Free Internet everywhere. The only comment is about the food as the experience was normal not very special food.

Room Tip: Book Corner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Legacy Ottoman. On the plus side, the location is great, rooms are adequately sized, clean, staff has been very nice, and the price was very reasonable. On the downside, it's somewhat dated, breakfast was mediocre. The bottom line is it's a good choice if you want a decent and affordable hotel in the old city. Do not expect a true 5 star hotel though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruzer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed four terrific days in this centrally located hotel. Our third floor room faced the street with a lot of action, but at night was surprisingly quiet. The room was very large with high ceilings, well furnished with a beautiful rain fall shower bathroom. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Their top floor breakfast buffet was bountiful had great choices with superb views of the Golden Horn and olde city. Elegant elevators from an Agatha Christie film and a luxurious lobby added to the Legacy charm. The only negative is the pool that is advertised is really just a cold water tank for their steam bath and health facility which has an extra charge. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zehra S, Public Relations Manager at Legacy Ottoman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment. We are truly grateful and pleased to know that your stay a satisfaction was.

The happiness of our guests is the most important thing for us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kindly regards,

Zehra Sacan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a week in the Legacy Ottoman Hotel in June 2014. Very good, friendly and competent service, very good rooms, wonderful bed. Clean and safe. Location is outstanding. Bar is Ok but pricey. Sandwiches of room service are disappointing. Breakfast buffet could have a bit more of diversity. But overall very good. I'll certainly recommend it and come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is very well located for bussiness matters, you can take the tramway to taksim or besiktas, and it is not too far if you have to go to Ortakoy, and near to the Eminu Boat ship station, to cross to Kadikoy. it is a very good hotel, with clean rooms, and a good free spa with hamman, sauna, gym and pool. but meals and attention are not as good as it has to be, in a 5 star hotel.
In any case, a good option for bussiness travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabezuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was centrally located in the Old Town district, within walking distance of the Spice Market, the pier, and even the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The tram station was nearby and there were lots of restaurants around. The complimentary buffet breakfast was plentiful, the rooms we stayed in were newly renovated with updated bathrooms and the air-conditioning was adequate. Overall, a good place to stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#10 of 1,155 in Istanbul
190 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
#87 of 1,155 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,091 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#48 of 1,155 in Istanbul
333 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Ottoman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Ottoman Hotel

Property: Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Address: Hobyar Mahallesi Hamidiye Caddesi No 16, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#178 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Legacy Ottoman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Spa and Health Center we have pool, fitness, massages, Turkish Bath and Sauna. Also we have valet Service, 24 hours room service and concierge service.Legacy Ottoman Hotel is at the walking distance to GRAND BAZAAR & SPICE MARKET and 500 m. to BLUE MOSQUE,ST.SOPHIA, BASILICA CISTERN, 16 km.to Ataturk International Airport.Hotel have an a la carte restaurant and roof bar with a magnificent Bosphorus & Goldern Horn views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Ottoman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Legacy Ottoman
World Park Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing