We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an excellent choice!!!”
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Hill
Ranked #419 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall an excellent choice!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at this family-owned hotel for 8 nights and had a comfortable stay. The english-speaking staff Tarik, Gokhan and manager Sedat were super friendly and helpful in getting bookings and reservations that we needed.

The hotel is right next to the Blue Mosque on a fairly quiet street. All the major attractions are within walking distance from the hotel. The Sultanahmet tram station is a short walk away. We took the tram to Kabatas and then the funicular to Taksim Square. We got some of the best money exchange rates with no commission near the Beyazit tram station which was about 15 minutes walk away from the hotel. The entrance gate 5 for the Grand Bazaar (Kapili Karsi) is on to the right.

Restaurants are plentiful near Sultan Hill and we tried a few before we settled for one that suited our taste and pocket. Just make sure you ask for the price of anything before you consume it, or else you may end up paying a ridiculous price. There are many dishonest vendors and touts, so save your money! We had some of the best Turkish baklava at Haji Mustafa, just across from Sirkeci station at the corner of Ankara Cad. The manager was friendly and hospitable. The Hoca Pasa cultural center (where we went for the Whirling Dervishes show) is located nearby Sirkeci tram station . Booking was made by the Sultan Hill hotel for us.

To and fro from Ataturk airport and hotel was arranged online by ourselves with a private transfer services and it was on-time, fast, affordable and hassle free. If you are looking for any tour, make sure to shop around as the same tour can be sold by agents for a different price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SyedCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    63
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
89
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Sultan Hill Hotel is perfectly located - in the heart of Sultanahmet, just behind the Blue Mosque. It is a traditional rebuilt house.
You can come by metro + tram from the airport.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. It has a rooftop terrace, with wonderful views from the mosque and the Bosphorus.
Just a small drawback is the 5 or 6 am call for prayer, which is impossible to avoid, due to the closeness of the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Sultan Hill and liked it very much. The rooms are small but comfortable and the location can't be beat. (Cleanliness was a '3' because I dropped something under the bed and, while the obvious areas were sparkling, it'd be a long time since someone cleaned under the furniture!) The staff was very very helpful and kind (translations, taxis, information, etc.), although there were 'confusions' (forgot to book our airport pick-up , etc.) The hotel is in a perfect location - you can walk about anywhere!! The price is great for the high quality, too. We would absolutely stay here again - the great aspects of the hotel far outweigh any of the details. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We were there for 3 days and loved the hotel. Rooms are a bit small but comfortable.
Amazing views from the terrace of the Blue mosque and the Bosphorus.
Also, the staff is very friendly.
Breakfast is good as well.
Highly recommend it if you are looking for value. Location is unbeatable - right by the Blue mosque. It can get a bit noisy as its right by the mosque .. but I slept through the morning azaan and didn't get bothered by it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
201 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Recommended by friends, this hotel is in the perfect location for spending a few days exploring Sultanhamet. Easy walking access to all the main sites. The staff were friendly and helpful beyond expectation. The breakfast of yoghurt, cheeses, olives, toast, juices, and coffee was spot on - and the breakfast staff was great! The room was clean and comfortable - and with free wifi, I frequently called friends and family on Skype during the call to prayer to share the ambiance of my experience. Be sure to go up to the rooftop terrace during the day and the night for terrific views of the city, the water, and the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polaraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Our room was two singles on the main floor off of the lobby. Room was small but perfect for what we needed. Bathroom a good size. Rooms were very, very clean. We got an airport transfer for pickup and were there waiting for us when we landed at Sabiha Gocken airport. Staff were very helpful, informative and courteous.

Hotel is situated behind the Blue Mosque, therefore if you wish to sleep in .... unless you're a deep sleeper, you won't. We knew this and the call to prayer can be heard quite early and didn't bother us in the slightest. Breakfast was a fair selection of fruit, juices and toast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeNedra_YOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hotel Sultan Hill was a great place to stay. Our room was decent sized and clean with a fridge and surprisingly good-sized bathroom. The breakfast was quite good and included in the very reasonable rate. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made us feel welcome and were very willing to answer any questions. The location was right by the Blue Mosque and was very convenient to all the site in Sultanhamet. I definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calypzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#310 of 1,140 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#233 of 1,140 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#291 of 1,140 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#270 of 1,140 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,140 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#222 of 1,140 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Property: Hotel Sultan Hill
Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#205 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing