We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Hill
Ranked #445 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very helpful & Friendly staff. Excellent location on a quiet street that is close to everything but just a block or two away from the main tourist core.

Since you are about 10 ft. from the blue mosque, you WILL hear the call to prayer every morning. Price you pay for being so close!

Definitely recommend getting a couple bottes of beer or a bottle of wine and heading up to the rooftop to watch the sunset at least once during your trip. It's a wonderful view.

Room Tip: The first floor was a little louder with people eating breakfast and pedestrians. We stayed there o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    63
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
89
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Location is awesome.. but there are 100 more hotels around . with equally good location..
in April 2012 it charged 65 euro.. which we found a little higher side for that hotel.
staff could have been a little more accommodating coz we were denied to late checkout..
Tip.. in old city Sultanahmet.. here are so many hotels without internet presence and are cheap.. so if u dont find anything book first night with any hotel and then shift to a less pricy option around.. so many options there..:)
sleep quality and bed was good.. i must say..
Cheers!

Room Tip: Sizes of the rooms vary a lot.. ask them to give u a big room.. coz small rooms are way too small th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareed85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It wasn't my first trip to Istanbul but it was for my 4 other companions. It is the best place to stay on your first trip to Istanbul. The location was fantastic, walking distance to most of the important attractions, many food options around, very close to the tram station. You can even walk to the ferry terminal if the weather is nice. The rooms are small, cozy and clean. The staff are super nice, and very accomodating. I'll recommend this place to anyone on their first trip to Istanbul, saves you a lotof time when you stay here! Plus they have a great view from the rooftop terrace. The only downside is the prayer coming from the Mosque early in the morning but it's part of the culture in Turkey and we were ok with it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank janet_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

As mentioned above, the main advantage of this hotel is its location (old town of Sultanahmet) and the view you get from the roof. It is strange that so few guests decide to walk the stairs on the top floor and enter the roof with wonderful veranda. There you will find tables and an amazingly close view on the Blue Mosque from one side and the sea with the ships awaiting their turn to pass the Bosphorus. The view is so fascinating (whichever side you chose) that you would not want to leave the roof at the evenings and nights. Instead, bring your own backgammon, fruit and some wine up there.

And of course you don't get awakened by the invitation to Muslim prayer from dynamics shouting in your window every day, do you? For many this could be a disaster, but for us in fact it was the main attractive point for the accomodation choice.

The location is also nice, since it is right in the middle between Hippodrome square and the restaurants streets further down in Sultanahmet.

However, there is nothing special in rest of the services offered in Sultan Hill hotel. Yes, the building is very old (150 years?) and it has been recently renewed but there are many like this around. The staff was very friendly, English-speaking and nice.
The eletronic devices provided, towels, bath accessories, furniture, air-conditioner, etc. was present but quite "cheap". Among the drawbacks during our stay was very low speed of Wi-Fi connection, but this might have been fixed afterwards. Another disadvantage was quite boring breakfast table...

In general, everything was OK, but we would recommend this hotel only thanks to the view from the top.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

The rooms are basic, generally clean, but a bit dusty. Our bathroom was musty and a bit moldy in the shower, and the plumbing leaked all over the floor, so was pretty wet after a few minutes in the shower. And the bed was on the hard side, with only one sheet.
Breakfast was decent. Nice yogurt and fruit, with an assortment of cold meats, cheese, bread and coffee/tea/juice. The staff were friendly and accommodating.
The main thing going for this place is location. It's right in the heart of things - an easy stroll to all the sights... Mind you, being right next to the Blue Mosque, be prepared to be woken up at 4:30am for morning prayers.
Overall, average place, but perhaps not the best value, with nicer hotels nearby for the same price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

during my long trip to Istanbul, I stayed @ Sultan Hill hotel, great location within walking distance to the major tourist attractions, loved the personel very friendly and warm hearted. check the paintings most of them are done by one of the owners. amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylva h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Like some other TripAdvisor contributors, I discovered Hotel Sultan Hill in the Rick Steves' Istanbul guidebook. The many positive reviews about the hotel here on TripAdvisor convinced me to book it for my vacation to Istanbul. Reserving the room prior to arrival was easy, with all of my e-mails answered promptly by the hotel staff. Upon arrival, the hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop. Breakfast every morning consisted of sliced meats and cheeses, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, dry cereals, dry and fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, breads and pastries, GREAT coffee, tea, juice, olives, fresh yogurt, and several jams and spreads. The small but cozy room featured cold air-conditioning, great water pressure in the shower with ample hot water, good sheets on the bed and towels in the bathroom, and Turkish and English (CNN, BBC) channels on the television. The hotel, open since 2005, is overall very clean throughout. Upon check-out, I received a 15% discount on the 60 Euro a night rate for being a follower of Rick Steves and showing his Istanbul guidebook during the check-in process. I am very satisfied that I stayed in this hotel for nine nights, and would readily recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Istanbul. However, this hotel may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues, as the hotel only has stairs and does not have an elevator. Also, anyone with insomnia may not want to choose this hotel, as the last call to prayer at the Blue Mosque next door is around 9:30 pm at night, with the first call to prayer around 5:30 am in the morning. Finally, there are some dilapidated buildings in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but it is my understanding that these will soon be upgraded. However, the hotel's location still felt and was very safe. TripAdvisor currently rates this hotel around #100 of around 700 hotels in Istanbul. There is no doubt in my mind that if the wonderful staff of Hotel Sultan Hill continues to perform at the level that I experienced during my stay, this hotel will soon be a Top 25 hotel in Istanbul.

Room Tip: The higher up your room is at Hotel Sultan Hill, the better your view of the Blue Mosque will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank weatherman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#309 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#203 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#220 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sureyya
#869 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Sultan Hotel
Ferman Sultan Hotel
#279 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#283 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Property: Hotel Sultan Hill
Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#205 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing