We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Hill
Ranked #443 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at the Sultan Hill Hotel for 4 nights and had a wonderful room (502) on the top floor, overlooking at the Blue Mosque. We had requested such a room and this was accommodated.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, including organising an airport shuttle due to late arrivals and early departures and they even helped us to print our boarding pass the night before leaving. The room was comfortable, clean and included a safe and fridge which came in handy to chill the Efes we had on the terrace roof, overlooking the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was great! ... The other reviews that there is limited choice .... not sure what that was all about! There was cereal, yoghurt, olives, fruit, meat, cheeses, bread, tea/coffee, juice ... what more could you want? Oh, and the divine borek's with feta cheese! It did us til lunchtime!

All in all, this is a very central location in Sultanahmet, close to all major attractions. It can't be beat!

Don't be put off by other reviews about this part of Istanbul being "down and out" .... and similarily the Lonely Planet says there are not good nearby restaurants ...... there are plenty of places to eat down Divan Yolu Cadassi or Yerebatan Cadassi.

Overall, a fabulous, wonderful and most affordable stay at the Hotel Sultan Hill. Oh, and did we mention the roof top terrace overlooking the Blue Mosque?

Thank you to all the staff at the Sultan Hill Hotel for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor overlooking the Blue Mosque - room 502 or 503.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchnooksScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    63
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
89
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My parents and I went to Istanbul for a week. We stayed at the Sultan Hill Hotel In SultanAhmet, right by the Blue Mosque. This hotel is in a perfect location!- literally less than 30 yards away from the Blue mosque and about a 5 min walk to Hagia Sophia. The trams/ buses/ metro are all within 5 minutes.

All I can say is that the hotel and staff are AWESOME! My parents booked a room for two originally, but when I decided last minute to tag along, the hotel went out of their way to place an extra bed in the room for just $10 EU extra/ night.

The staff if literally like family! They get to know you during your stay and are very genuine/ pleasant to be with. They spent time acquainting us with the surrounding city and making a personalized schedule during our stay. The staff, especially Botan and Sylva, is really what makes this hotel extraordinary!!!

The hotel has free Wi-Fi and breakfast in the mornings. They also have a TV in the lobby and a fridge with Coke, water, and beer for purchase. Additionally, they have converters (so if you are traveling from the US with your laptop or other electronics- NO WORRIES: they have you covered during your stay!

Overall- loved loved LOVED this hotel. Would not hesitate to book this place again if visiting Istanbul again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a pair- no problems (room large enough). If you are a family (children, rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bydgoszcz
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What is most amazing about Sultan Hill is its location. When you come up the stairs and face the Blue Mosque you have the feeling that you can touch this beautiful state of art. This view is just perfect. You have all the historical places just in hand's touch.
The room is not very big but just enough. The staff is helpful and breakfast simple but tasty. The hotel doesn't have a lift and the stairs are quite narrow but we survived:).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is great if you are looking for a good value in sultanahmet. It's clean and the breakfast is great. Don't miss the view from the roof! I didn't find the staff as friendly or helpful as my guidebook said they'd be and the pillows on the beds are terrible. But for the price, this is a clean, affordable option in the heart of the tourist district.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a level up from the ground floor for less noise. The rooms on the 4th floor are near a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallybally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Due to its proximity to the main tourist sites, the parks and fountain and the street of turkish delight and cakes galore. Oh and not forgetting its basically next door to the arasta bazaar, then you really can't get a better location for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenlouisaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

There are lots of Hotels in the neighbourhood of the Blue Mosque but I doubt that there is one where you get the value for money as Sultan Hill. Very cheap price when you take into account a very helpful and friendly staff (seems family run... or maybe it is), a very well clean (small) room, a fantastic terrace, a good bed and a fantastic location. In 3 minutes walking you are in Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.... only thing really bad is the call for pray at 5 am....
Breakfast could be improved in variety. If you are in a budget and want to be right on the middle of Old Istanbul, this is a good choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our first impression coming to this hotel was mixed feelings, we knew that it was on a great location but the street was not a nice one (the building in front seems its going to collapse any minute). But upon entering everything changed. The hotel is a small one which makes the room also small. But regardless we liked. The receptionist were always friendly and willing to help. The terrace has an excellent view, the space for breakfast was nice, only the breakfast itself could be improved. The rooms were very clean. The location of the hotel is really excellent. So all in all a warm recommendation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have terraces. The hotel doesn't have an elevator so if you have problems with steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#324 of 1,149 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#253 of 1,149 in Istanbul
91 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#498 of 1,149 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#539 of 1,149 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#334 of 1,149 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#561 of 1,149 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Property: Hotel Sultan Hill
Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#204 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing