We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location !”
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Hill
Ranked #411 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel was perfect , easily walkable to the Blue Mosque and Topkapki Palace. A little difficult to find so be sure to get good directions from the hotel. Rooms were good and the views from the breakfast terrace were excellent. They were really good when i realised i had booked an extra night by mistake and they never charged us. All round a pretty good hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mully_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a brief overnight stay here after completing a week long tour of western Turkey. Compared to the other accommodations (and perhaps relative to what was available in the other cities), I thought the Hotel Sultan Hill was a gem. The building was modern but cozy and the room clean and spacious. Yes, it is rather close to The Blue Mosque and you will hear the calls to prayer but that's what happens anywhere you stay since there are so many mosques in the city. Wi-Fi was free and I had a strong signal in my room. Because it was raining I did not get to see the rooftop terrace referred to by others. Location is short walking distance to the Sultanahmet tram stop I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends. The only thing I might ding the hotel on was their breakfast, which compared to another hotel in the city seemed more simple. (It also may have been due to the changed location of breakfast since the terrace couldn't be used due to rain.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoMichLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The room was clean. The hardest bed my husband or I have ever slept on. We were disappointed that the hotel did not offer tea or even a kettle to make our own. Most other hotels in turkey offer this and it is appreciated. The rooftop terrace is pleasant but with no accommodations for drinks or food it isn't as great. Overall an ok stay. This was our 6th hotel in turkey and we found it lacking in ammenities when compared to others.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at Hotel Sultan Hill. Nice clean rooms of decent size. Perfect location close to plenty of restaurants & transport options. Short stroll to the Grand Bazaar & right next door to the Blue Mosque. Only about 15 mins walk to Galata Bridge area. The highlight of the hotel has to be the rooftop terrace. Although no bar or restaurant up there, our group took our own drinks up there on every balmy evening and took in the amazing views of the Blue Mosque & endless ship traffic in the Sea of Marmara. Overall, this hotel is great value for money in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hotel Sultan Hill is located in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul steps away from the Blue Mosque. This was my third visit to this hotel. Last year I was able to stay on two separate occasions and had such a wonderful experience that I came back again this year. The hotel has a welcoming lobby area and very friendly and helpful owner and staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Your stay includes a lovely breakfast in the lower level courtyard. There is also a rooftop terrace with spectacular views of the Bosphorus and Blue Mosque. It is only a short walk through the Arasta Bazaar to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and the Basilica Cistern.
Three ladies from Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voloshka755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Enjoyed our stay ! Yes, you can hear the neighbour but what do you expect. Views from the rooftop are excellent. Staff friendly and helpful- and the airport transfers were on time. Can recommend this hotel as it, as well as the area, has a local feel to it.There is no lift in the building - do keep this in mind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better place to start off our visit to Turkey. To lay in bed and have the Blue Mosque fill your window is pretty awesome. The call to prayer starts early (4:30am) but it's part of the experience and in a city with more than 1000 mosques, hard to avoid. The roof-top patio provides a spectacular view of the mosque as well as the Bosphorus Strait and Sea of Marmara.
The staff were wonderful and the breakfast delicious. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#340 of 1,173 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#133 of 1,173 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#179 of 1,173 in Istanbul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#348 of 1,173 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Askin Hotel
Askin Hotel
#978 of 1,173 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#533 of 1,173 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#202 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing