We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was ok but way below expectation”
Review of Sirvan Sofrasi

Sirvan Sofrasi
Reserve with
Sirvan Sofrasi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 13,475 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Sirvan Sofrasi is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet, near the Blue Mosque and Arasta Bazaar. We offer traditional Turkish and Anatolian dishes. We do not serve alcohol.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was ok but way below expectation”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to this place since it was ranked No.1 on Tropadvisor. The food was ok but I would never agree that it represents the "NO.1" restaurant in Istanbul. The actual food they gave to us looked very different from the pictures in the menu and the portion was quite small given the price.

I would say this place was just average and there were many similar restaurants in the area serving better foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PageDesign, Public Relations Manager at Sirvan Sofrasi, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and for being our guest at Sirvan Sofrasi.
We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We never had any complains before about our portion sizes. May be you should have tried a main courses instead of having just one mezes/appetizer.
With regard to our rating on Tripadvisor, we are a local restaurant and try to serve simple, affordable and traditional Turkish food with a welcoming atmosphere. We know there are far more luxurious and culinary restaurants in Istanbul. So why are we rated so well on Tripadvisor? We are not certain, we do not have any influence on the reviews and ratings given to us, although of course we are very grateful. We can only assume it is because a lot of our customers have really enjoyed their visit to our restaurant and have subsequently given us such good reviews in the short time that we have been on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    40
    28
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
263 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I'm in Istanbul right now and had such a great meal I decided to write the review right now.

Came here because it was ranked #1 here and it was close to my hotel. I was ver6 happy with the service and all staff spoke English so there was no problems communicating.

The menu is similar to all other restaurants in Istanbul but it has been the tastiest one I've had so far. Mind you I may not go to another restaurant while I'm here.

Prices are quite cheap by North American standards

Helpful?
3 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PageDesign, Public Relations Manager at Sirvan Sofrasi, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for having dinner with us and this wonderfull review. Please do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food and service but no alcohol :)”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

good value for the money but they even didnt have beer and lot of cats begging for the food made the dinner bit annoying

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrejs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PageDesign, Public Relations Manager at Sirvan Sofrasi, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are sorry that the cats were bothering you. We try to find a solution for this but it is difficult as there are stray cats in abundance in the old city and we are also close to a cat sanctuary.
Concerning the beer we can only say the following: We are a local restaurant and because we are close to the mosque and most of our customers are Turkish, we do not serve alcohol out of respect for Turkish tradition and religion. We hope you understand this and thank you for having dinner with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food& reasonable price”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My hotel was just next door rose hotel. I ate there three times and I had different dishes from the menu. All was really good. As I was told that they can't serve alcohol bsc they are located very close to the little Hagia Sophia mosque. So respect to religion alcohol is not served. But I really enjoyed,the staff are well educated about food and recommend good food. I Definetly recommend the testi kebap and mezes also the grill was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank siraj69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PageDesign, Public Relations Manager at Sirvan Sofrasi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendations.
We were very pleased to serve you some of our dishes. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Food and the staff are great. They will serve you breakfast at 12 so it was just what we needed. The only downside might be that they don't serve alcohol. Everything we ate there was great. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PageDesign, Public Relations Manager at Sirvan Sofrasi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great response. Come back for lunch or dinner :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sirvan Sofrasi also viewed

 

Been to Sirvan Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing