We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Ranked #126 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location, services, breakfast included, restaurant. Would recommend this place, this is one of the best value for money proposition in Istanbul. Especially I like location of this hotel very close to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pes Bubuka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    302
    97
    28
    32
See reviews for
369
412
61
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff of the hotel, the owner mr. Ibrahim Kaygisiz and Ms. Zeynep Icellioglu were very helpful during my stay in Istanbul!!!
I often stay in the Sura Hagia Sofia hotel for business purposes, this time I suffered severe pain due to kidney stones. They personally helped me and escorted me during the whole proces while i had to stay in Hospital!!!
Next to the beautiness of the hotel, for me, it's more important that they helped me!

Many Thanks to: Mr. Ibrahim, Ms. Zeynep and the staff of the reception.

Highly recommended by me!!

Rifat

Room Tip: Rooms are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RifatCevahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First, the easiest and cheapest way to get to the hotel from the airport is via metro and tram. It will require two tokens for a total of 8 Lira (about 3 Euro/$4 U.S.). Take the tram to the end on the line (about 15 or 20 minute) then jump on the tram (about 5 stops) and you are about a 2 minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel is located on a cobblestone street with many restaurants and shops just as you exit the hotel. It's situated in the heart of Old Town Istanbul and The Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque are less than a 3 mi ute walk from the hotel. Also, the Grand Bazaar is just a 10 minute walk as well. The tram is about a two mintue walk so the hotel is situated in a great location.

The hotel is nice and it's new. The rooms are a little small but are very nice. Room rate includes breakfast (really nice spread) and free wireless internet. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure your stay is a good one. I say the staff is some of the best you will encounter. They aso have free snacks during the day and high tea time from 5 to 6 with tea and snacks . . . all free.

You can't go wrong staying here. Don't stay anywhere else in Istanbul. Love the hotel, location and the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank American-n-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here with my teenage son for 4 nights for a lovely city break. Location is absolutely perfect for sightseeing, everything you could want in walking distance, and for further afield the tram stop just meters from front door which we took to Eminonu port to catch the ferry to the Asian side for and afternoon. The hotel is new and very comfortable, with all the facilities you could want for a city break stay.. very nice. Only slight disappointment, reception/front of house staff were not friendly or welcoming, even just a smile would have been nice... that said the restaurant and housekeeping staff were lovely. I chose the hotel from the reviews and paid my money for the location and the fact it had an outdoor pool, which is small but spotless and in lovely little garden area. Just be aware if you wanting to combine a little sun and pool with your sightseeing, the sun goes off this area mid/late afternoon, so swim and sun yourself before you head off out to the sights. So no evening sun area to sit in. But otherwise, probably hard to beat for location and comfort in the old town area of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Our standard twin looked onto garden area. Room 2015, A bit dark and small but very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWallace60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Thank you to the whole team of Sura Hotels.. our was made very comfortable and very homely. From the driver who picked us up Omar to the reception and most importantly guest relations! very friendly and approachable.

I was a mother with a child travelling alone.

Fatma & Asmar did not only help me and my child with everything (cabs, sightseeing, directions, best food and shopping!) My son was very found of the breakfast buffet team who always welcomed us with smiles.. The breakfast was amazing. It even had fresh watermelon and many other fruits.. even the juice was FRESH!
Best thing was.. Breakfast 08-10.30 - Snack time 13-16.00 and Tea Time 17-18.00 !! loads of yummy delicious goodies kept in the arrival lobby.. amazing garden in the new hotel side and old building!

Hotel has quite central location, close to most of the main historical places. Very close to Ayasophia & the blue mosque.

Over All.. I would definitely recommend the hotel and will most definitely use them again :)

Room Tip: I got a room with a garden view.. fresh and breath taking in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Razia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IJsselstein
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a really great hotel. Very clean, large rooms en outstanding friendly and helpfull staff. One of the minor hotels is Istanbul with a nice pool. Great en flower full garden with nice places to relax. Nice bathroom with whatever you like and good beds. Located on the most perfect place for a city trip to Istanbul. On short walking distance you have the Sultan Ahmed Moskee, the Aya Sophia and the grand bazaar. Lots of very nice restaurants especially at the other site of the street of the hotel.
I wouldn't doubt if I visit Istanbul again, which for sure is gonna happen. This hotel will be the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rengerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A modern 5 stars hotel. Very close to Ayasophia & the blue mosque. We stayed here for four nights. The crew were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was one of the best (compared to the other hotels i booked during my stay in turkey). Certainly worth the stars & the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#108 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel

Property: Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Cd. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sk. No. 10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing