We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tria Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #405 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Usually hotel resteraunts are more expensive. Tria's resteraunt was excellent, best price & best meals I had in Turkey. I was a little disappointed that the roof top terrace was being remodeled.
The hotel staff were excellent. This made up for the remodeling.

Room Tip: Double rooms are very small in Turkey and the beds a narrow so if you are above average height or la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tialtup59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    173
    54
    27
    13
See reviews for
68
205
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we have only spend 1 night in ISTANBUL but Tria is great! great breakfast, comfortable bed, clean room and nice decoration with a little balcony. only one problem is that the room is small, but in the old city, all the hotel have small room.

Room Tip: choose the room behind the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having just arrived in istanbul, the hotel is very well located,clean.
But Standard Double (or Twin Rooms) are VERY small and at the back of the building with views of a big rock wall. NOT RECOMMENDED.if you suffer from clostrophobia this is not recommend
Breakfast buffet was decent
This hotel in my opinion is not a 4 star as I'm currently staying in the raddison blu and that's a 5 star
Any way as I said it's got a Vgood location
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel proves conclusively that the correct selection of room, and brilliant staff, can take an ordinary hotel into the excellent category. From the start, let me say that the friendliness, helpfulness and courtesy of the staff was among the best we have found on Europe. But I'll come back to that at the end.

I said the hotel is not perfect. It is very small and quite old. However, the rooms are immaculately clean and tidy. Some of the rooms are very small, so the correct room selection is imperative if you are going to enjoy your stay. We had the Delux Double Room with hot-tub (which is really just a big bath with spa potential). The Standard Double (or Twin Rooms) are VERY small and at the back of the building with views of a big rock wall. NOT RECOMMENDED.
The Triple and Delux Double (from the second floor to the fourth floor) have great views out across the Marmara Sea to the Princes Islands). So, even though the bigger rooms (still only 27 sq.m, but more than sufficient) are a bit more expensive, it is definately worth the money. In that way, you will have the comfort, the views and the space. The double bed and pillows in our rooms were incredibly comfortable and we always had a very good nights sleep.

In addition, some things are not as advertised. The terrace is NOT completed due to government building restrictions. So don't count on a relaxed glass of wine with great views. The internet reception was was somewhat eratic. The iPhone seemed to work better than the laptop (but even the phone dropped out on a regular basis). The only way I could get internet was to go down to the reception area. That was inconvenient, but speaking to other guests in the hotel, they had no problems getting internet anywhere in the hotel. Therefore, I would have to put it down to the room rather than a general hotel problem. Let's give it the benefit of the doubt.

OK, I've covered the problems, so why would I give it 5 stars?

The position, in the Sultanahmet region, is absolutely perfect (about half way between the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia) but just far enough away to avoid the crowds. The hotel is in a quiet backsteet just around the corner (maybe 50m) from one of the main streets (mostly pedestrian traffic) absolutely full of delightful restaurants and shops. In addition, the Tria has it's own restaurant (in the main street) which serves great food at reasonable prices. We tried a different restaurant almost every night, except for the Tria (twice) and found the food here the best (and almost the cheapest). In addition, the breakfasts at the hotel offered a great selection and variety of drinks and food...certainly enough to satisfy any appetite. The dining room is cosy, but clean and comfortable.
The staff at the Tria were exceptional! We had a pick up organised from the airport which worked perfectly, even though it took almost an hour to get through customs. On arrival, we were greeted very warmly and immediately offered the (obligitary) glass (yes, glass, not cup) of Turkish Apple Tea (absolutely delicious). We ended up chatting to one of the staff members for almost an hour before checking into our room because of the huge amount of helpful information we received on what to see, where to go, how to avoid the tourists traps, how to shop, how to bid and negotiate for anything that we were interested in etc.
All of the staff were just so helpful and friendly. If I sat down in reception to use the computer, a cup of coffee or a glass of tea would miraculously appear beside me from one of the staff who were just walking by. The cleaning staff were all cheerful and friendly, as were the kitchen staff.
Everytime we came back into the hotel, from a days exploration and/or shopping, we were invited to sit down and have a chat about our day, always with the offer of free refreshments and solid and sound advice as to what else was available to see and do. Special little things added to the visit. One day, we said we were going to take the tram down to the Egyptian Bazaar, and one of the staff gave us his tram pass to use because it would remove the stress of buying tickets. Naturally, we recharged it for him, but what a fantastic act of kindness on his part.

In summary. The staff at the Tria are among the best we have ever seen in 5 years of travelling to Europe (and that includes some of the 5 star hotels of Britain, Italy, Greece and France. Simply, exceptional!!!! But if you pick the wrong room, I expect that the lack of space and poor views would make your stay less than great. If you pick the 'front' rooms with the views, you should have an outstanding stay in this hotel.

We would go back to this hotel at anytime. HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: For space and comfort, only choose the Delux Double or Triple rooms on the 2nd to the 4th floor. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are too small and smelly! Too much perfume by the cleaning lady I guess, maybe to cover smoke smell. The furniture is old and bathrooms are very small. To add insult to serious injury rooms are also quite noisy. The guy at reception is nice and gives you lots of advices for sightseeing. I will never recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciullip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Location, location.

This hotel was recommended to us by friends. It was the perfect base for exploring Istanbul. The service was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is quiet but less than two blocks away there is an abundance of bars and restaurants.

It was easy getting to/from Airport. Taxi was about $40 TLR a person.

The hotel itself is a solid 3 star hotel (older decor and furnishings). However location and service made it a 5.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aimeegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our last hotel, so I wanted 4 things: 1) Roomy room 2) Rooftop terrace 3) Free airport shuttle (one way), 4) Close to attractions. It was definitely situated off a very busy street and very close to the main attractions of the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and lots of restaurants. If you have a room in the back, then it's on a quiet street facing the Bosphorus. We ended up in a room in the front for 2 days. We had to walk through their restauraunt, use our card to open a door & walk up a small, winding staircase (THEY carried all our bags, thank goodness!). No option for elevator here. The room was very small with 2 beds that we had to squeeze around and a half-size jacuzzi in a cramped bathroom. Their rooftop terrace was closed, and the restaurant was noisy. MY MAIN ISSUE when I arrived is that I was expecting a free shuttle to the airport, but the desk clerk was denying it. He kept saying that's a perk of reserving through their site, not Expedia. How would I know this? There is nothing on their site saying that you only get that if you book through the hotel site. I did NOT appreciate one hotel clerk accusing me of looking on their site then going to Expedia to make the reservation. I would not have known about their hotel except for Expedia. HOW THEY MADE THIS UP TO US: For day #3, the manager moved us to the back (main entrance) of the hotel into a deluxe room (I had not requested this), which was much larger, in addition to a roomier bathroom & full-size jacuzzi. And yes, we did get the free shuttle back to the airport :). So, buyer beware! Know that what is on the hotel website might not be the same as what is offered through Expedia. My favorite hotel clerk had the last name of Benyamin (I'm sure spelled wrong). He listened and was very kind, patient, helpful, and professional. I would stay there again, but I would be sure to not get a room above the restaurant. Also: Realize that putting your room card in the slot in the room turns on the electricity. If you pull it out, it goes off. Hence, don't expect your phone battery to charge or the AC to cool the room while you are gone unless you go to the clerk and get another card for that reason only,

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms above the restaurant. They are noisy and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#334 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#307 of 1,141 in Istanbul
436 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#181 of 1,141 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#276 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#216 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,084 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albatros Premier Hotel
Albatros Premier Hotel
#439 of 1,141 in Istanbul
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tria Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tria Hotel Istanbul

Property: Tria Hotel Istanbul
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:7 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tria Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tria Istanbul is an intimate, boutique style hotel, elegantly decorated for your comfortableness. As "your destination in the city", the hotel affords a nice view to the Marmara Sea and Asian side. With a prime downtown Istanbul location just minutes from Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace Museum, Grand Covered Bazaar etc, the tramway, public train and bus stations are within five minutes walk. The hotel offers the traditional warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and super services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tria Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Tria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing