We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, would return!”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #3 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel with 2 more friends and spent a week on it. Overall, I was very pleased with the stay. Here´s how it went:

THE GOOD
- The check-in/reception people are awesome. Very helpful and speak good english (we had no trouble with it at the tourist sites and restaurants).
- Location is very good! Quiet street, close to metro lines, restaurants and sight-seeing spots
- We did not eat at hotel´s restaurant, but other guests said it was nice
- Breakfast was good and complimentary
- Pool is on the basement, but it was hot and well maintained.

THE AVERAGE
- Rooms are small, as in rest of Europe
- Beds are just OK. Not bad, not good.
- Too few channels on Cable TV.

THE BAD
- At night it is very easy to hear the noises from the corridor or your neighbour. Hope you don´t get a loud one!

Room Tip: There´s a discount if you pay cash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0d_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 3,003 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

Good location in the old part of town from where you can easily walk to all the main sights - Topkapi palace, Blue Mosque, old Turkish baths etc. However, the immediate area lacked charm, in fact most of the surrounding area did despite being overloaded with hotels. Our room had a pretty sad view, looking on to the back of a run-down business where empty boxes adorned most of the windows. Some of the rooms would face the gardens of the Topkapi palace but these views would mainly be of the fortress wall. (The palace itself has wonderful views of the water and is well worth a visit.) Our room was clean, well appointed, good size and the bed and all furnishings were very comfortable. The style of decor seemed to be traditional, local style and quite luxurious but overall the hotel was a bit too dark and heavy in feel. The bathroom was on the small size but still very nice. Despite being next to the lift, we did not hear any noise at all and similarly, the double glazed windows protect you well from the surrounding noise (including the early morning call to prayers). Many other reviews rave about the service; we found it a bit hit and miss as two of the reception staff although meaning to help, had only limited English and could not understand our questions properly. A couple of other staff were really helpful. There were lots of nice touches - free collection from the airport, welcome dish of Turkish delights, welcome dinner, free internet computers in the lobby lounge and free wifi throughout, free afternoon snack and tea, complimentary activities, and a farewell gift. The pool and gym are both quite small and basic. The breakfast buffet options were very extensive although the coffee was adequate only. We enjoyed our stay there but must say that we are surprised that it is rated No. 2 overall; it is certainly above average, good value for money but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance of all the attractions in old town, many restaurants within a few minutes walk, tram at the corner. We found our room to be very quiet and comfortable - fresh flowers and turkish delight in the room added a nice touch. Breakfast and the seafood restaurant were also very good.

The best part of this hotel, however, is the staff. They were all unfailingly polite and friendly. We were very surprised on our departure to receive a box of turkish delight as a gift and then the porter and girls from reception all stood outside and waved goodbye to us! We couldn't believe it. This would have to be the friendliest hotel in the world.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyAnne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Service , amenties, location and food are critical to a pleasant stay and SK met all our expectations.
We were picked up at the airport and met by the owner himself when we arrived. Instead of the normal counter check in, they sat us down in the receiving room, offered us drinks and made us feel so welcome. They automatically took care of the check in process, helped us with our vacation plans and assisted us o our room. The complimentary dinner was wonderful. A short walk to all the attractions and shopping. Stayed 3 days, definitely not long enough! We will be back again Oct 2011 and guess where we will be staying!'

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Luxorious in all the right ways for an excellent price. My family and I felt cared for in all matters, from the welcoming smiles and offers for any assistance to the beautiful rooms and unbelievable breakfasts. The complimentary meal was a fine dining experience and unexpected gift.

This hotel was centrally located and easily within walking distance of all the important things we wanted to see with only 4 days open to us in Istanbul. A real sanctuary in a bustling city - we were given all the resources and recommendations to make our trip a real success.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascadefoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This place is completely at ease with itself and as a result guests can really relax and enjoy their stay. The whole experience was marvelous. We had a massive room on top floor with balcony and views over Gulhane Park; to the left the Bosphorous; to the right Ayia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Quite simply the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Great little pool and hammam in basement. They even gave us a Turkish cookery lesson in the hotel kitchen.
The staff are fantastic and on our departure even gave us an umbrella because it was raining.
Breakfast was excellent (choice and quality), loved cutting the honeycomb. Ate once in the evening and again great food was served. Only minor complaint is that the wine appeared a bit expensive relative to the food.
Don't be in any doubt, stay here if coming to Istanbul, you won't regret it!!!

Room Tip: Top floor room with balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Sirkeci Konak for 4 nights & really enjoyed our time. The rooms are nice & clean. Service was great & the breakfast was wonderful. In addition to our stay, we added transfers (only way to get back and forth to the airports), spa treatments, etc. I found the front desk really helpful.

Only issue we had with the hotel... we arranged a 1/2 day tour through the front desk. While the tour guide was licensed & knowledgeable, he pushed us through the historic sites quickly so we could visit his friend's carpet store. We were prepared for this tactic from our research... however, after we refused to buy anything, the guide tried to change the cost of the tour. Quite annoying! Normally I don't hold the hotel responsible but they might want to vet the guides better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvsTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

As the owner of the hotel and on behalf of our team, we would like to express our sadness for that inconvenience.It is not possible to accept what our guest experienced.According to our agreement with the agencies and guides they are not allowed to take our guests to the rug stores.

The behaviour of the guide is totally out of the knowledge of the agency and our hotel.We totally do not approve these behaviours.

We are chasing the issue and as soon as we receive an e-mail fro our guests,they will ve refunded by the agency.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,075 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,140 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#3 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing