We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel near the centre of Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #5 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very good hotel near the centre of Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I had a lovely stay in this hotel. My room (overlooking a grocery store in the street) was nothing remarkable, but the service in the hotel was of a high calibre. All of the staff work consistently together to ensure that your stay in the Konak Hotel is a highly enjoyable one.

The morning breakfast is offered buffet style and it boasts a rich range of delicious foodstuffs including different fruit juices, fresh and dried fruits, cheeses, hams, salamis, mueslis and yoghurts. They also serve really good coffee in the morning. Breakfast runs until 11 a.m. and I was really glad to avail of the opportunity to have a late breakfast the morning after my midnight arrival in Istanbul.

As other posters have pointed out, the hotel is quite close to some of the most imposing places in Istanbul including the Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and the incredible Hagia Sophia. Together with six others, I paid Euro 60 a for one day walking tour of these places. Our guide was from the University of Istanbul and he gave us some wonderful insights into historical Byzantium/Constantinople/Istanbul (as well as the benefits of his hilarious sense of humour). We also had lunch with him and a lengthy afternoon cafe break at Topkapi Palace (to allow us to take in a wonderful view of the Sea of Marmara).

All in all, I was impressed with my stay in Sirkeci Konak. Great people running a comfortable hotel.

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,557
    322
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
569
1,540
173
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

The staff were overwhelmingly helpful, yet unobtrusive. Istanbul is a huge and fabulous city; to have such a great base is essential. Everything from restaurant recommendations, restaurant bookings and transfers arranged without fuss sounds trite but was so important in this city. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, hamam on site and essential to remove travel weariness and dirt. Easy walk to old city sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islander
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I visited Istanbul this time with my partner and extended family. The hotel made our stay. Having been to Istabul before, I wanted a hotel that was closer to the sights - to avoid traffic delays and the problematic taxis.
Sirkeci Konak is not large and has a clean, comfortable and relaxed feeling. It is in easy walking distance of the Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand and Spice Bazaars, the main ferry terminals and lots of good restaurants. It is not pretentious and has lots of local character. It has an excellent Hammam which is modern, clean and well run. We all had massages and would strongly recommend the 30 minutes session. All the staff can communicate in English and some speak it very well. They were all very friendly and helpful. The guest relations manager was particularly helpful and her advice contributed greatly to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampsonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
321 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

My wife and I spent 6 nights here in early May 2009. We chose this hotel solely based on reviews from tripadvisor.com
I must say that either the people who stayed here have not seen better hotels or are easily impressed. The hotel was just average. The lobby was average (small actually), the layout wasnt anything special. I had to request a room change as the one assigned to us was terrible. The room was narrow and long, kinda like a hallway and at the end of the room (towards the balcony) there was a huge round pillar that made the room even smaller and darker as it was right in the middle and blocked most of the sunlight! The pillar must have been at least 1 meter in diameter. The room we were swapped to was ok. Rather small and the view was on the inside of the building, so we basically saw large air conditioning units of other buildings. We could not open the window because of the immense dust that would enter the room. We faced an area that resembled a court yard but there was no greenery as it was shared between 3 or 4 buildings and was a location for mechanical machines and obviously they did not dust the area so that prohibited us from enjoying the cool spring breeze. Bathroom tub kept getting blocked till they finally fixed it on their 2nd attempt.
Location was just ok. There was a nearby tram stop but the hotel is on a service street which was lined with mechanic shops and car part shops which really dampened the mood. It took about 12 minutes to walk to the Blue Mosque and 15 minutes to the Spice Bazaar and perhaps 25 minutes to the grand bazaar (although taking the tram is much faster).
The only good things I can say about the hotel is customer service and breakfast. Yes the breakfast was good, almost Dubai style. Meaning there was a large selection of hot and cold food items.
We ate at the hotel restaurant one night, the food was average and overpriced.
Also, there was a computer located by one of the elevators and a laptop in the lounge area that was free to use which was nice. You also have complete wireless connection to the internet from anywhere in the hotel (as did most of the hotels we stayed at in Turkey).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CorruptedSanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Lovely family-run hotel. Personal service and attention to make each guest feel special. Be sure to ask the very helpful concierge about hotel's cooking classes, recommended restaurants, etc. Lots of guide books available. Computer with printer available for free usage. Nice breakfast buffet and afternoon tea included. Well-located for walking to all major sites, but get a map showing precise location and phone number of hotel if planning to take a taxi to hotel. The two late-night taxi drivers we encountered were incapable of finding the hotel, so we got out and walked.

If you travelled overland to India in the 70's, be sure to stop by the Pudding Shop. Sadly, place has completely changed but nostalgic to read letters, news postings, etc on walls.

If you're moving on to Greece, consider early morning flight to Izmir to see Ephesus (fabulous ruins), then late afternoon ferry Kusadasi to Samos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

When travelling it is important to know those places where quality is not under question. This knowlege makes life easy. During my last travels around Turkey (2007/2008) I relied on Sikeci Konak in Istanbul and both times with success.
I am travelling a lot and cannot say that the building or rooms of the hotel are smth extraordinary. Actually standard rooms are not very large (though it is common feature of Istanbul downtown ). Then, what makes my happy? It is combination of location, cleanliness, exellent breakfast, and very frendly service. I never experienced answer 'no' for my (normal) requests. Managers on reception are always professinal and ready to help.
Resume - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

We got married the day before arrival, and arrived very tired to the hotel.
Check in was fast and easy and friendly, you could not ask for more.
A week in Turkey was beyond anything we have experienced earlier.
Hotel location is just prefect, close to all the main sights.
Service was excellent, very polite but still not too formal.
Rooms are tidy and stylish, as well the entire anterior.
You really feel your self welcome there.
Restaurants both down and upstairs where amazing.
These people can really make your vacation so much enjoyable.
Thank you Pelin, Birol, Okay, Arcon, Muhammed ! We will remember you always!
Hope to meet with you when we come back.
Reg.
Kimmo & Eglis

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keke1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Property: Sirkeci Mansion
Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#3 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing