We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming chic hotel in an excellent central location”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #3 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Sirkeci Konak Hotel is a gem. What makes it exceptional is the friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the staff, particularly Pelin, the Customer Relations Manager. Pelin responded quickly and effectively to emails sent in advance of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for her, from locating a shop to booking three restaurants for dinner for us. When we met Pelin, she lived up to our expectations.
The hotel provides excellent value for money in a very central location which is ideal for both sightseeing and public transport. We did so much sightseeing that we did not have time to use all the facilities like the hammam and swimming pool. But we did avail ourselves of the free cookery lesson which was great fun - donning the 'whites' and eating our efforts in the dining room. The owner of the hotel company came and joined us afterwards and was very friendly and informative, telling us about his future ventures - another hotel due to open May 2010 which sounds just as good as the Sirkeci Konak. Another very nice feature is the complimentary apple tea and tasty items to eat every afternoon in the lounge lobby. We would certainly return and stay in this delightful boutique style hotel because it is so intimate and friendly and such good value. When we return we would probably upgrade bedrooms to get a larger bathroom. (Bedrooms and bathrooms are well equipped and provide everything you need when on a busy sightseeing holiday in such an interesting capital). Well done to all the staff at the Sirkeci Konak - a great team effort..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKinghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,117 - 2,123 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

Just returned from 10 days at the Sirkeci Konak. Great Hotel – but what I wanted to mention was the small shop directly across the road from the Sirkeci. This is not just another shop I understand it is the only Fair Trade shop selling Turkish Carpets in Istanbul and we all know what Fair Trade means. The owner of the shop is not just another turkish carpet salesman (lets face it there are plenty of them) he is actually passionate about what he does. So do yourself a favour and check it out – you won’t be disappointed

Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
4  Thank SweetyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This was the first time that my wife and I picked a hotel purely from Trip Advisor recommendations and we certainly weren't disappointed. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by the Desk Manager a charming guy called Okay and were offered welcome drinks and simit if we wanted. My wife happened to remember a few lines of a Turkish song and sang a few bars and He was absolutely delighted and they wound up singing this song together in the middle of the lounge - made for a lovely warm start to the holiday. Our room was furnished in a traditional Ottoman style, comfortable bed, strong hot shower and a balcony view over the Topkapi gardens. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the roof terrace that night, incredibly atmospheric with commanding views over the city, the food was interesting though not memorable in my opinion, service was plenty good though.

Breakfast was varied and plentiful and in the afternoons the staff assemble in the lounge with the guests and everbody has tea and simit and talk about the events of the day, good idea, got everybody mingling nicely.

The hotel has a little pool, sauna and Hammam in the basement which appeared mostly deserted, I used the pool and the hammam a few times and found it very relaxing , my wife had a massage and said it was pretty good.

Summing up : I dropped points for the location as it was next to a late night cafe that could get a little raucous when the footie was on but for a hotel in the middle of Sultanhamet you shouldn't expect tranquility. There weren't robes in the rooms on arrival, but they arrived sharpish after we rang down.

The staff are all under 30 I reckon and they're like a little family and couldn't be more helpful particularly Okay (the manager) who upon hearing that we had to meet someone in the business district later on offered to drive us there after he went off shift, lovely bloke.

Obviously if you want opulence (and to drop 450 euros a night) there's the Four Seasons but when we popped in for a look it just looked like any other Four Seasons - OK if you like that sort of thing but completely insulated from the rest of Istanbul

We much preferred the Ottoman styling and intimacy of the Sirkeci Konak. All in all it's high rating on TA is I think more than deserved.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandHopper041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

I use to travel several times per year in different countries, among others Turkey. We like so much the turkish culture and its exceptional hospitality. We usually stay in charming hotels and we just staid in Istanbul in SIRECI KONAK hotel, located close to
the historical area of Istanbul and not far (within half an hour) from the modern area Taksim thanks to the tram.
This hotel (about 35 rooms) is far and away the most comfortable and the most friendly I have till yet visited. All was perfect : cleanliness, food (2 restaurants), breakfast, room, frontdesk, service and warmest wellcome. The extras and meals prices are very moderate regarding to the quality.
I can recommend it without any hesitancy and I am waiting for a next stay in it as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Personal service from the the moment you arrive outside the hotel. Every single member of staff smiled and their attention to detail meant nothing was too much trouble. Excellent location, great food, lovely room and the bonus of a turkish bath downstairs. Afternoon tea provided free of charge, ideal after a day in the bustle of Istanbul. We'd go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heraldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I was well pleased with this charming small hotel and its delightfully helpful staff

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

A pleasing and surprising welcome. Instead of being 'processed' through the accustomed registration standing at a desk, we were ushered through to comfortable seating, offered refreshing drinks, encouraged to relax. We were then joined by the guest service manager and provided with helpful material about our location and the key city sights.
When we were ready, we were shown to our room. It was large and airy with excellent bathroom, very comfortable bed. The balcony overlooked the gardens alongside the Topkapi Palace with views to the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus. The location was perfect for these and also other main sights such as the Grand Bazar and Spice Market. Our package included an evening meal in the hotel restaurant which added to the sense of relaxing into the holiday mood. The breakfasts provided lavish choice and the service was consistently attentive but unobtrusive. There was a strong sense that the ethos of the hotel was resolutely focused on the comfort and enjoyment of their guests and the smiles from the staff at all our comings and goings felt genuine.
We were there at Ramadan and there was a buzz in the evenings as people enjoyed the breaking of fast and being out in company. At this time and generally, Istanbul felt a place where strangers were accepted and welcomed and despite our lack of Turkish language, we had some humorous exchanges which were fun and added to our enjoyment of the holiday.
There were many highlights but one to mention in particular was a visit to the 300 year old Cagalogu Hamami, a quite wonderful experience. Our stay was for 6 days, there was still much more to see.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,027 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,176 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5, Istanbul 34120, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#3 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing