We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKS TO THE STAFF”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THANKS TO THE STAFF”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

A great hotel, well located with excellent staff. Treated my husband to Fizz, cake and a gift for his birthday. Thanks for making our weekend extra special. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basilsboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,609
    329
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
592
1,562
176
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Taking the recommendations from Trip Advisor, we booked 3 nights at the Sirkeci Konak and we could not have been more pleased. This boutique hotel is actually larger than it seems at first but is still quite intimate and homey. The staff tries hard to please you. The standard double room was quite comfortable with a great bed - my wife is not easy to please when it comes to hotel beds but she slept like a baby. The European breakfast was excellent and I soon became addicted to the fresh yogurt with honey from the standing honeycomb! We ate at both restaurants and found them both excellent. In fact the fish we had at the hotel restaurant was every bit as good as that at the specialty seafood restaurant. The extra amenities added excellent value to a reasonable hotel, including free wi-fi, turkish bath, pool & sauna, tea time, complimentary cooking lessons followed by a light meal, complimentary dinner and airport transfer. And the 11% cash discount saved us $100! And with the location, you really can walk all over the old town, with Tapkapi, the Blue Mosque, and Ayia Sofia right up the street.

We hit Istanbul at the end of a two week itinerary-jammed cruise and it was a welcome respite. An example of the staff going above and beyond came when, after two days of rain, my jeans had become water-logged and muddy. The laundry bag states very clearly that there is no service on Sundays but we were leaving on Monday so I inquired about a laundromat in the neighborhood. The manager told me not to worry and to bring him the jeans. Literally two hours later my jeans were delivered back to my room washed and pressed. The only down side to the location is the appearance of the street which seems a bit sketchy but it actually quite safe at any hour.

If we find ourselves back in Istanbul, we will definitely be staying at Sirkeci Konak.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachb214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2009

As you can see from all of us reviewers, this hotel is something special, from room comfort to food to location within walking distance of a number of Istanbul attractions. But the most noted quality is the friendliness of the staff. Whenever you enter the lobby they are there to assist. I remember particularly Palen, the young lady, and her newly appointed cohort who had just transferred from the restaurant area. Both of these ladies were helpful at all times. I keep kicking myself for not taking a picture as we departed: They were all lined up at the door, even the hotel owner, to see us off in a cab to the airport. This is Turkish hospitality at its most memorable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Smashing little boutique hotel, that stands out because of its wonderful staff. Location is great, if a little difficult to find at first as Sirkeci is something of a maze. No more than a few minutes walk from most of the sites, and easy access to the Galat bridge.

I wasnt in the hotel long enough to put it to the test, but every contact i had with the staff was excellent. I can well believe the many glowing reviews elsewhere on this site. A special word for the breakfast though- wonderful buffet with even a whole fresh honeycomb!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We spent four very pleasant days at the Sirkeci Konak Hotel which lived up to the high standard reported by other reviewers. The hotel has a very attractive turkish decor throughout. The rooms, although not large, were very clean, comfortable and well equipped. There are two restaurants and we tried both. One is a standard hotel restaurant with good decor and good hotel food. The other is a fish restaurant open to non residents. The standards in both were good although we found wine expensive. The service throughout the hotel was really excellent in that nothing was too much trouble and it came with a smile. As an example let me relate our visit to the Florence Nightingale Museum. This is situated in army barracks on the Asian side. The army demanded a minimum notice period of at least three days which in our case would have been impossible. The desk manager telephoned and explained our situation following up with a fax explaining my wife trained as a nurse in London etc etc and really wanted to make the visit. A few hours later we got an affirmative reply and we made the visit the next day.

The only real downside is the location. Although quite central in the old town and in easy walking distance of the key sites, trams and ferries, it is in a narrow street with rather rundown buildings opposite. It did not present a problem to us and we were quite comfortable walking at night.

THE ONLY REAL DOWNSIDE IS THE LOCATION. ALTHOUGH IT IS VERY CENTRAL IN THE OLD TOWN FOR THE KEY SITES, FERRIES AND TRAMS, ALL OF WHICH ARE IN EASY WALKING DISTANCE, IT IS SITUATED IN A NARROW STREET WITH RATHER RUNDOWN BUILDINGS OPPOSITE WHICH ARE PROBABLY DUE FOR DEVELOPMENT. iT DID NOT CAUSE US ANY PROBLEM AND WE WERE QUITE COMFORTABLE WALKING AT NIGHT

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varuna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicilia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The hotel has been a fantastic surprise: a boutique accommodation in the hearth of the old Istanbul, just in front of the Topkapi entrance.
Fantastic breakfast, excellent service: at your arrival an hostess greats you and is available for any possible question you may have.
Definitely reccomendable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ele17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Superb staff greeted us as we arrived and detailed what to do and where to go in the city, including which sites were open/closed on certain days - all this whilst being served an excellent complimentary tea. Our room, a deluxe double was very spacious, very clean, and well furnished, with complimentary fresh fruit, water and turkish delight as a bonus. The hotel is extremely well-situated, next to the archeological museum, Topkapi palace and very close to a tram station for easy access to other sites of interest. The staff always greeted us with a welcoming smile and made us feel special. There is a swimming pool and fitness centre too, which is well equipped. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaksarefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,092 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Property: Sirkeci Mansion
Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing