We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really friendly welcome”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really friendly welcome”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Sirkeci Konak is a gem. The location, beside the Topkapi Palace, is ideal for exploring Sultanahmet with the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar and Archaeological Museum all within easy walking distance. For trips further afield there is a tram stop within 100m. The immediate surroundings are uninspiring, rather drab blocks on either side, but the hotel itself is beautifully restored. But what makes the Sirkeci Konak outstanding is the friendliness of the staff. Both in reception and the restaurant they are genuinely keen to help and make your visit to Istanbul as enjoyable as possible, There are two 'guest relations attendants' who were both knowledgeable and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is of a high standard with some interesting Turkish specialities as well as the usual range of international cuisine and we thoroughly enjoyed two meals in the restaurant which specialises in dishes from Anatolia. You can also get a 10% discount at two other restaurants owned by the group.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,575
    324
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
575
1,549
174
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I came for a short break to Istanbul and found the Sirkeci Konak a great base to explore from. A short walk to the Topkapi Palace and centre of town. Staff were impeccable, I arrived late at night but the reception staff were organised and efficient in making me feel comfortable and at home. I was treated to many delicious snacks as I made my way in and out of the main foyer and was always acknowledged leaving and returning in a polite way, staff only to happy to give advice or ask about plans etc. Breakfast was great, varied and I met several other solo travellers whilst eating so we could all meet up for dinner when it suited. Really pleasant stay here from start to finish. They have certainly got a good talent for making you feel at ease. Many thanks for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I just returned from my trip to Istanbul where I stayed for 3 nights at the Sirkeci Konak hotel. Initially I had made a reservation at the 3 star Erboy hotel of teh Sirkeci group, but as renovation was going on, we were transferred and upgraded to the 5 star Sirkeci Konak with no additionnal fees.Thank you very much!
I congratulate the Sirkeci group for the excellent organisation of their hotels and their extremely friendly, helpful and professionnal STAFF.
In particular, the two guest relation attendants are persons of special merit ! Many thanks to them.
I only can recommend the Sirkeci Konak to everyone visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeluxSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

There’s a reason why the Sirkeci Konak is #1 on Trip Advisor…as soon as you enter the lobby, there is something crisp, special, and clean about the hotel - the fine lines of décor, and friendly staff.

We were welcomed to our spacious, bright “standard” room with a small tray of Turkish delight – a nice detail. It was a large room in comparison to other Istanbul hotels’ standard rooms (we had also stayed at Zeynep Sultan and Pera Tulip, see reviews if you wish).

Staff was gracious and eager to help. We received all the information we needed to find a Bosphorous boat tour with the concierge.

The amenities and services provided with this hotel are spectacular. You are provided free transportation to/from airport, and if staying for longer than 3 nights, a welcome complimentary dinner is included! The food at the restaurant is superb. Afternoon tea time is the best; every day at around 5PM simit sandwiches (finger sandwiches made with a pretzel/bagel bread) and tea are offered complimentary for guests.

Location is great, it has a pool / spa / sauna in the basement, it is clean, spacious and has a great staff.

Overall, the best hotel we stayed at in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SampleTheCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were made to feel special. Turkish people have a reputation as being very friendly and every member of staff in the Sirkeci proved this. Whilst checking in we were served the traditional afternoon tea (free of charge) and introduced to the area and activites by the lovely Dilhun who continued to advise us throughout our stay.

Our room was fantastic, spotlessly clean with a big comfy bed and squashy pillows! with a view overlooking Gulhane Park.

The hotel was perfectly located as many of the main tourist attractions, the tram and the ferries are all within walking distance.

The hotel staff all made us very welcome and treated us like old friends rather than customers.

This is a superb hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

OK, we have visited many luxury hotels in the US and around the world but rarely have I had such excellent service without being formal and stuufy. You feel more like you are a family member than a guest. Here's an example: we happened to be in Istanbul during a festival and were lucky enough to see a free concert in front of the Hagia Sofia, which is about a five minute walk from the hotel. Gorkem Suzgun, who works at the front desk, promised to be on the lookout for a DVD of the concert. I have been back home for three weeks and he just followed up with an e-mail out of the blue! They pick you up from the airport, give you snacks and tea while you check in, the breakfast is spectacular and is included in the room rate, the rooms are spacious by European standards and they have a fabulous rooftop bar, which was too cold for us to use in January.
We considered staying in another area of town where the W hotel is, and I am so glad we didn't. Out of my hotel room window I had a view of Topkapi park. What could be better than that?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Title sounds like advertisement, but it is true!
We are giving every year weekend trip like birthday gift to each other, in the family. Usually in Europe - flighttime is shorter for weekend trip. Sometimes destination is completely surprize for birthday hero. This time we choosed trip together with husband for his birthday party. And we decided to travel to Istanbul for 4 days, along with 2 dauthers (21 & 11). We were searching many hours, reading lots of the Tripadvisor reviews. And wondering very high rating of the Sirkeci Konak hotel. Is it really true what people writing about this hotel? Anyway, they contacted very fast and confirmed the reservation by E-mail, we ordered then car to deliver us from airport to hotel. Our flight was late for one hour, but then everything went smoothly. Driver was waiting us with a sign and after 25 minutes we were in the hotel. Hotel staff was very cool, not as usually fake happiness faces. We had connected rooms with kids and very nice rooms, perfectly renovated, every millimeter was made with love and high skills, clean, fresh flowers in the both sides of the bed. Welcome note from the hotel owner with the direct phone number to his cellphone. Turkish sweets on the table...etc. So our stay in Istanbul started with pleasant stay in the hotel. Location is perfect, all the sights are on the walking distance away. We only used taxi once for driving to Taksim square and later back to hotel (10 euros one way). We used twice a hotel pool and sauna. There was also hammam - a turkish sauna. On the birthday evening we asked staff for some restorant with view to the city and sea, and they suggested for us nearby Sirkeci Group Hotel called Orient Express, and boy, it was really dining pleasure on the rooftop with the panoramic view of Istanbul, Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace and St. Sophia. Food was excellent and service superb. Such a good service is hard to find in the Europe and we have lot to learn from turkish hospitality. The best part was after dinner, when they suddenly turned off lights, and came to us singing "Happy birthday", with a cake and candles. We were very happy, everybody sang along and applaused. My husband was really surpirised and so was I, because I didn't wait that they'll come to the other restaurant to congradulate him. We were all very grateful for this kind of kindness. And when we went back to our hotel, a surprise was waiting in our room, more presents! We got turkish coffe-cups for 6 persons, and besides of that we felt that we are very appreciated and loved. Next morning, when the car brought us to the airport, there were three men from hotel personnel, waving us good-bye. :) That made us feel that we really want to go back. Amazing sincere friendlyness.
We recommend Sirkeci Konak for everybody, and yes, all positive notes about it is true.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path. We will look forward to seeing you with us again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of Sirkeci Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,239 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#14 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Property: Sirkeci Mansion
Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing