We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and attention to detail within walking distance of the must-see sites”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

My partner and I have just spent a four-night break at the Sirkeci Konak Hotel, and even in that brief time we were made to feel like friends as well as valued customers. When you arrive, you are greeted with a drink of your choice and personal a welcome by a member of the guest relations team - in our case, a wonderful young lady called Ezgi - who provides an orientation to the hotel and the city centre. Maps of the old town and the public transport system are provided and you are encouraged to ask for any assistance you may require, either within the hotel, or in finding your way around the city.

The hotel caters to an international clientele, and to families as well as couples, and meeting other guests and sharing the day's experiences is encouraged over complimentary tea and simit (traditional Turkish bread, something like a sesame bagel) in the lounge. Facilities include two restaurants, one offering food from around Turkey, one specialising in seafood; a wellness centre including a small indoor pool, a sauna, a hammam, a fitness suite, etc; free wifi and access to a PC with printer; and a roof-top terrace, although this is only open in the summer months.

The location is extremely convenient, as the hotel is just outside the walls of Gulhane Park, originally the grounds of the Topkapi Palace. It's just a short walk around the perimeter walls to access the palace itself, as well as its next door neighbour, the archaeological museum. Other major highlights such as Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Museum of Turkish and Islamic Arts, the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Byzantine Cistern and Hippodrome are all with a 10 or 15 minute walk, as is the pier at Eminonou from which you can access ferry crossings and boat tours along the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn (highly recommended!). For those who are venturing further afield, or don't wish to walk, the Gulhane tram stop is just at the end of the street and from here you can connect to buses, suburban rail, and furnicular services. It's very easy to use, and we took the tram and the furniculars up the hill to the bustling shops, cafes and restaurants of Istiklal Caddesi.

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the hotel staff. Somehow our pre-booked taxi transfer from the airport was not there to meet us, but the hotel straight away accepted responsibility for the mistake and offered us a free meal at the hotel restaurant to compensate us for the inconvenience. Detailed information about things to do, getting around, and the best places to eat was provided whenever we needed it; restaurants reservations were made for us and our return taxi booking was double-checked on our day of departure.

Our room was not huge, but it was adequate and the bed was enormous, with clean, crisp sheets which were changed daily. The attention to detail continued in a letter left by the manager giving his mobile number and offering any assistance we might require, and a dish of Turkish delight on the bed. We didn't have any view to speak of, but that wasn't something we were particularly bothered about, and we slept well (although there is a mosque very close by and we heard the call to prayer regularly, this did not disturb us). Breakfast boasted a range of Turkish and international food, including a selection of local cheeses, meats, cooked options, pastries, fruits, vegetables, cereals and - my favourite - a slab of golden, dripping honeycomb.

We felt so welcomed and well looked after that we were all the more sad to leave Istanbul, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or relatives looking for somewhere to stay in the city. The Sirkeci Konak's staff are its greatest asset, and their friendly and helpful service is a cut above anything we have experienced in the past.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padma07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,991)
There are newer reviews for Sirkeci Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,991 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2010

Everything is special in this hotel, thanks to its staff. You aren't considered as a normal client, but as a guest to satisfy completely. An excellent Relation Manager takes care of all your needs and gives you extremely detailed information to make your holiday a success.
The rooms are big and clean, with lots of complimentary stuff, the breakfast is very good and varied, the restaurant deserves a visit.
I stayed there for 5 days with my family for holidays and we never found anything wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Just completed a two night stay at this Hotel during the month of April and really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is conveniently located to the key tourist sites, the quality of the hotel and room we stayed in was five stars, and the staff was excellent - always friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Easy to repeat the many positives that this hotel clearly deserves. Consistency of warmth and helpfulness throughout our 3 night stay. Located in a side street, it may not have kerb appeal but that is forgotten once inside. Good Fish and Turkish restaurants (terrace would be an added attraction for drinks/dinner when warm. Staff speak excellent English and go out of their way to make helpful/knowledgeable suggestions. Take advantage of very good complimentary dinner and airport pick up (with 3 night minimum stay), daily afternoon tea and short guest programmes that include Turkish wine introduction and cookery class. Our standard room was perfectly adequately sized, well equipped, clean, quiet and comfortable. Some standard rooms may be smaller so it is worth checking when reserving. Location is ideal for most of the sites...easy walking and close to tram for longer trips.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

First impression: small hotel located in 'auto-alley'.
Lasting impression: warm welcome, ever helpful staff.
Location: I had no problem with the location of this hotel. Yes, it is situated on what could be described as Auto Alley (there were spare parts shops nearby) but this was a quiet street. The only noises came from the maintenance work being done on the wall around the Topkapi Park across the street.
Views depended on which side of the hotel you were on. My room was bright and faced the park, nice views. Rooms on the other side maybe not so good and the importance of that depends on how long you want to spend in your room.
Remember that if you feel a bit confined by your room size there are other escapes. The roof top terrace -a word of caution here ‘the elevator doesn’t go all the way to the top’ is true in the literal sense as a flight of stairs stands between you and the great outdoors. For my last morning at the hotel- when I had it all to myself on a gloriously sunny day, there couldn’t have been a more delightful place in the whole city.
In the afternoon when you are tired from a day of sight-seeing, retreat to a very pleasant reception room in which apple tea and sandwiches are served.
By evening you will want to try out the relaxing Hamam downstairs. Sitting in a nice warm room, whether or not you opt for a massage or scrub is always soothing. Sauna also available, and if you haven’t walked off all that naughty Turkish delight provided in your room, a well equipped gym for you to use. There is a ‘swimming pool’, but that is more of a plunge pool to cool off in after your sauna.
Sirkeci Konak is very close to many of the cultural attractions that you will want to see, my elderly mother and I walked to all of them. The terrain is not flat and cobbles are hard on the feet, so sensible shoes are a must.
Transport: The tram is very quick walk away. The system is easy to work out, and the helpful hotel staff will explain all about this on your arrival.
Size of room: This may be of concern depending on how much luggage you are travelling with. I am sure there are hotels will more spacious rooms in Istanbul, so if space concerns you, get an estimate of room size first. I have to agree with a previous posting that the room may be small, but in days gone by I’ve stayed in very expensive hotels in London that are even more cramped.
Special touches: Look for a copy of the ‘Sirkeci Daily Express’ on your breakfast table to let you know about happenings in the arts, nightlife, ideas for a day out, a couple of Turkish phrases or words, weather and also to check on which museums are closed that day.
Great innovations: In your room-key folder you find a small piece of paper with Turkish Cultural Activities run by the hotel, usually at 5.30pm. I highly recommend the trip to the Wednesday 10.30am traditional market tour: this is where the locals shop for their necessities, not for souvenirs. And do learn how to play backgammon- its fun!
Free wireless internet: in my room I was always connected to the web.
Breakfast: traditional Turkish breakfast plus a host of cereals, bread, jams, fruit and juices. Cheese and sliced meats provide plenty of energy for the day’s activities ahead.
The staff at Hotel Sirkeci Konak are extremely welcoming and helpful but also very professional.
Will I return? Without a moment’s hesitation!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

My Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for honoring us with your kind comments and becoming a part of our global family. It is very important to hear that you had a pleasing stay at our hotel.

I hope to see you again in Istanbul with us in the Sirkeci Mansion Family.

Kind Regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of Sirkeci Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The Sirkeci Konak hotel was an absolute treasure in the heart of Sultanmet. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly - they made my travel companions and I feel like family. The best part of our stay was the complimentary wine and cheese tasting one night, and the cooking lesson another night. Both were engaging, interactive, and educational. Rooms were charming and comfortable, and the dining room served exquisite regional cuisine. Most impressive was the graciousness and positive energy of the staff - I will miss hanging out in the lobby playing backgammon and drinking raki!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailey004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Two days in Istanbul AT The sirkeci konak.
The breakfast wasn t unforgetable but The staff knows what guest means....
You can book it with closed eyes!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triangle232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,385 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,121 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,942 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing