We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We think of it as our home in Istanbul”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
234 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“We think of it as our home in Istanbul”
Reviewed 28 May 2010

So much has already been written on this beautiful hotel that I will try to write something personal that has still not been said.
From the very first minute we stepped into the hotel my husband and I felt we were greeted as members of the Sirkeci family and not as any kind of tourists. The hotel is very professionally run with the Front Office Attendant, Okay, and Guest Relations Team (a special mention to an adorable young lady called Ezgi) always at hand smiling and warm while not obtrusive at all: unlike other hotels they never try to sell you expensive trips, or send you to their friends’ shops; instead they organize free activities in and out of the hotel: they took us to the less well-known Fatih market and had us tour the Greek High School (not open to the public), all the while discussing Turkey with us and answering all our questions in the most clever way. We had a cooking lesson in the cook’s immaculate kitchen one night and a wine- and cheese-tasting session on another night, all thiat free of charge.
The location is absolutely perfect in a small non touristy quiet street, within walking distance of the big Istanbul sights of Haghia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar, and close to a tram line that can take you anywhere in town across the Bosphorus.
The hotel sorted out taxis and airport shuttle for us (the driver will be holding your name as you walk out - the airport shuttle and the first three-course dinner in their restaurant were free of charge: the latter idea is excellent when you get there at night after a long trip). They booked all the restaurants we asked them, found out the location of the medical lab we needed during our stay, printed all the necessary maps for the taxi drivers to take us there, always explained them how to reach their destinations.
The spotless, well-decorated room with the balcony overlooking Gulhane park will long be remembered as well-as the rooftop terrace with its elegant resin deckchairs.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and plentiful.
We had free tea & snack in the afternoon.

We had dinner several times at the hotel’s fish restaurant and enjoyed delicious grilled sea-bass (the fish restaurant is very well rated in town).
What is more, the free wireless Internet connection allowed me to continue working mornings and nights and never lose touch with my kids back home.
Both my husband and I enjoyed the Sultan’s massage in the hammam of the hotel and my only suggestion would be to have a hairdresser at hand in the hotel or - why not - encourage the installation of a hairdresser’s close by.
Because the volcano ash had prevented us to go for a week over Easter the first time we were supposed to only spend 3 nights at the Sirkeci Konak and then relocate to a lesser quality hotel close-by: Okay, the Front Office attendant went out of his way to accommodate us a fourth night. When we did leave for the hotel next door and found out breakfasts (there and the rest) were terrible they allowed us to breakfast for free and use all the amenities of the hotel, including the extensive rooftop terrace overlooking Gulhane’s Park (the park around Topkapi), as if we had still been staying there.
And finally, they offered us a box of Turkish delight for the road.
Sirkeci Konak is really the place to be staying at when travelling to Istanbul and I myself have started recommending it on my blog !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisandVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,587
    326
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
578
1,556
175
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This hotel is ideally located to all the major tourist attractions by foot. The staff, in particular the customer service ladies, were most helpful and friendliest hotel people we have ever had the pleasure meeting. Every day there is an afternoon tea provided (free of cost) which is of high quality. The hotel is affiliated with other hotels in the immediate area which provide a 10% discount on your dining bill - the food was of high quality and consistent with local foods. There is free internet available and a free turkish bath facility on the lower level.
An excellent hotel with great facilities and high quality customer service - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkdale2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Sirkeci Konak and were extremely impressed by the facilities and by the helpful staff. Their guest relations team helped us book the remainder of our trip in Turkey and were available to take calls and help us even after we left the hotel. The location next to the park made for perfect viewing from the rooftop and the proximity to the tram made it very easy to navigate around town. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sirkeci to anyone traveling to Istanbul.
Jim - Centennial, Colorado

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We had only one day in Istanbul after a 12-day cruise, so Sirkeci Konak was a convenient location to easily access the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. When we got back to the hotel from our full day of touring, the lounge and retaurant beckoned, and we truly enjoyed the selection of Turkish meze and good white wine. The rooms/beds were comfortable, the bathrooms well stocked and equiped. Wish we would have had time to enjoy the in-hotel haman. The hotel arranged for vans for our party of six to get the airport in plenty of time for two different flights. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We were very pleased with this hotel. Great location, down a quiet street within walking distance to all the tourist spots. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast buffet. Clean, modern room. Free tea & snack in the afternoon. Free wireless internet.

We had dinner once at the hotel restaurant and once at the Terrace restaurant of their sister hotel. Both were excellent.

And finally, they a box of Turkish delight for the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Wow---What a visit.. KKinBmore summed it up perfectly.
Beautiful people at the hotel who would do anything for you.
Our highlights---My wife had a special birthday at Imbat arranged by Dilhan. Perfect.. Cake and presents..
Birol was amazing. I broke my sunglasses and he took me to the maintenance room where they filed down a screwdriver to fix them!!!
I will not repeat comments on the other staff but they are abolutely 100% accurate and not exaggerated in the the slightest.
These guys are number 1 on tripadvisor and very proud of it. The owner Faruk Boyaci, spends his money on his guests and training his staff to be number 1 . He has acoomplished this like no other place in the world that I have been.
Mr Boyaci gives you his cell phone number at time of check in and tells you if you have problems call him!!!! Where have you ever encountered this?
We will go back to Istanbul just to be around these fabulous people.
Also, outside the front door to the left is Memo, a local merchant selling beer, wine ,spirits and snacks.
Very nice man and honest.
A liitle further at the fork in the road is Kenan, who has scarves,bowls,blankets,shirts and other collectables.He treated us very fair and his prices were better than the Grand Bazaar.
All in all--Sirkeci Konak treats you like Misafir---which means more than a guest.
Go and enjoy........

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The choice was made mainly because of the hotel's excellent reputation at this site. And I must say we were never disappointed. From the very 1st moment of our meeting at the airport, trip across the overcrowded Istanbul traffic, meeting us at the lobby, offering sightseeing help, we realized - we are among friends, always helpful and positive, we soon got a chance to prove it. On the 1st night of our stay, our 20 year old daughter unexpectedly felt ill - fever, difficulty in breathing, sorethroat, she was choking. We called to our insurance company and they promised to send us the doctor immediately (4 am in the morning!!!). As soon as we informed the guy at the reception, we realized - we are not alone. It is very important to feel the support when you're in panic, don't know what to do, where to run etc. Looked like the people at the hotel where ready to do everything (and I mean EVERYRTHING!!!) for us. Meeting the doctor at the hotel door, taking him to our room, bringing the doctor everything he needed (lots of water, paper towels, copy machine). As soon as the doctor prescribed the medicine, they sent a guy to the drug store on duty (as I said it was early morning Sunday) and in half an hour all the medicine was on our table. Furthermore, in the morning they brought breakfast to our room and it looked like they were REALLY worried. When we checked out, we received very sincere gifts from the hotel. We really didn't want to leave. Needless to say that we were really thankful to all people who did so much for us in need. Once again, I am taking this opportunity to thank you very much for all your help and I am recommending this hotel to all the good people.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Websurfer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,278 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,895 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,042 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Property: Sirkeci Mansion
Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing