We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turn back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Turvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turvan Hotel
Ranked #396 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turn back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Worst experience. First airport shuttle I booked didnt show, I called hotel, they told me to get a cab. When I got there my room was 'unavailable' for the first night so they sent me to a hotel around the corner where I was supposed to pay the same price. It was dirty, the toilet had foeces in it, the 'shower' head had come off the hose, no wifi, no fan or air con. Disgusting. I kicked up a fuss and eventually was taken to a room at turvan. Window had tape to seal it, shower door fell off hinges into me while in it, dirty, no bar fridge as promised. Definitely not worth the money!!!! Checked out early next morning and went somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salpal_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    37
    19
    45
See reviews for
48
31
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Please, stay away from this place!! We thought that comments written earlier by other customers would have made a difference over the years and that things might have changed but NO! Our room was small, which I was able to live with. The bathroom was also very small but dirty; This I can't allow in a room that price. The curtains were torn which made it impossible to close completely. Many lights are out of their sockets hanging by the wires on the staircase leading to the second floor. The carpet out of our room was in very bad shape. On the good side, towels were big and there was a very good variety items at the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BimmerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

The place is close to all atractions. Friendly staff but the rooms are very dirty. Cleaning service is very poor. Bathrooms are dirty. The bathtub was stained in dirt. We had bed bugs. Breakfast was ok, but I am not a big fan of the ham they serve. Kitchen is not very clean over there

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlatuszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Ferhat was working at the front desk and he made me feel right at home evertime he saw me. He was so helpful with planning activities and even made reservations for me without hesitation. The hotel was clean, safe, quiet, I had a great breakfast every morning and it's in a perfect location for walking everywhere in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I returned from Istanbul just 2 days ago & I stayed at the Turvan for the 6th time.It was just as enjoyable as the previous 5! Ferhat ,Emre, Serdal (smiler) & the rest of the staff made me so welcome as always.I cannot think of a nicer place to spend my 50th birthday.
Breakfast choice was even bigger than before!
The only part I didn't enjoy was leaving!!
Here's to returning in May! Davut UK.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Hotel has good location in Sultanahmet and not far from Galata bridge, tram station near 200 metres from hotel. Staff is very friendly and remember all customers by the name. They offer good breakfest with coffee from coffee machine in restaurant. But if you travel solo try to book double room, not single, because price is same, but single room is very small - near 8-10m2, so there is no corridor in single room and bed stay near the room door. And when people speak in hotel corridor, they do it near your head, so it's very hard to sleep in single room, because very noisy. But when I change it on double room with small corridor in the room, that problem was solve.

Room Tip: if you travel solo order double room, not single (price is same, but size of the rooms is different)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 864Olga_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Visited Turvan Hotel week and were pleased. Good location, close to the main attractions of Istanbul: Sultan Ahmed, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya. The hotel room is small but cozy. Dorozhelatelny hotel staff answered all our questions, where and how to get there. When we left, we denounced heavy bags, absolutely Platform is no tipping. Around the hotel are many cafes, shops selling souvenirs and handicrafts. They all work and after midnight. I liked everything, especially the sincere and sympathetic people.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilgar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#374 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#262 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#586 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#397 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turvan Hotel

Property: Turvan Hotel
Address: Hocapasa Sok. No: 16 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turvan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel with family athmosphere and English speaking staff. Welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul. If you choose to stay in Turvan Hotel you will experience the magnificent city of Istanbul by visiting the Blue Mosque, Saint sophia, Grand Bazaar,Under Ground Cistern, Topkapi Palace and more are walking distances.On the other hand, you can enjoy the sun and the sea by taking Bhosphorus tour and will also have chance to see the modern Istanbul. To taste the famaous Turkish cuisine to live the night life. Turvan Hotel Consists of 5 floors and 45 rooms. We have Single , Double, Twin and Triple rooms. All rooms are fully furnished and with own private bathrooms, TV, phone, Hair dryer, 24 hours room Service, Heating and cooling system ect... Breakfast is Open buffet for Our Guests.. And we have wireless internet it’s free of charge. You can use in lobby or all around the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turvan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing