We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropolis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropolis Hostel
Ranked #44 of 1,190 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

While I'm giving Metropolis four stars, I should start by saying this is the most pleasant hostel stay I've ever had (in about five tries). The hostel itself is a less than five minute walk from the center of Sultanahmet, which features the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Underground Cistern. It is also a short and manageable walk from other sites, including the Grand Bazaar and Galata Bridge. The hostel itself features a lovely rooftop terrace, where you can eat free breakfast and relax with a beer at the end of the day.

My only (small) complaints were tiny rooms, and slightly un-comfy beds, but hey, this is a hostel, not the Four Seasons. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    45
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
31
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

First of all, the location of Metropolis is great! Right next to Aya Sofia and Sultanahmet Camii, and it's also easy to reach the public transportation, even not far away to walk to Eminonu! Rooms aren't big but shall be enough for backpackers, and they DO have clean toilets.
Breakfast on the Roof Bar is one of the most attractive part of Metropolis, except for fresh breakfast, you can also enjoy the beautiful scenery up there.
Staff are extremely nice and helpful, makes you feel like home.
A must try hostel in Istanbul, you won't regret!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serina11329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great spot right next to Aya Sofya, very helpful and friendly stuff.
Toilets are clean, rooms are small but nice.The view on the roof bar is breath taking. Breakfast is delicious and fresh.
Absolutely first choice of hostel stay in Istanbul.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Serina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

It's a good place for you to start your adventure in Istanbul!
Nice position, just few minutes away from Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque, which means also near the tram, easy for you to get the public transportation to else where of the city.
Awesome view on the rooof! I can spend my whole day just sitting there enjoying the view of beautiful Bosphours.
Great service! Pleasant with the service of the nice staffs Metropolis has.
I'll give a highly recommend of this hostel. And will head back again if there is any chances.
You should difintely give it a try :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinAWenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Cleanest hostel l ever stayed in my life same with the security,hostel is located in very nice street and couple minutes a way from Hagia Sophia,free breakfast on the roof terrace was awesome and l liked turkısh tea (chai) very friendly people working there and they are knowladgeable.During our stay they organised free shisha and also free pub crawl,was definetly fun! Overall is perfect place in everyway! Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Metropolis and was a pleasant stay. Cleaning,security view,service breakfast and internet all was good,Staff were cool,friendly and they are best with recommandations,tips, directions,tours.transfer,etc..Location was perfect,so close to many historical site and many restaurants. Thanks for the lovely stay and if we ever come back we will definetly stay at Metropolis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We had a good time at the Metropolis Guesthouse! Its a special, well located, little hostel owned by a friendly guy! Everything is really clean! On top of that: free WiFi and a BEAUTIFUL terrace with a great seaview and good breakfast!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#22 of 1,190 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,029 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Mytra Hotel
Mytra Hotel
#88 of 1,190 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,190 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,190 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Hostel
Old City Hostel
#32 of 1,190 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Hostel

Property: Metropolis Hostel
Address: Yeni Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:24 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,190 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Our Hostel,The entire hostel was completely renovated inside and out in November 2013. we put in new bathrooms, new beds (with an individual reading light and electrical outlet), new furniture, new floors and new decorations.We also installed new doors which close without making any noise, with electronic card locks for added securityWe offer high quality service at low prices for budget travellers. 'Run by travellers for travellers'. Metropolis Hostel is located in the historical old city of İstanbul. İt's just a few mins from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern and Historical Turkish Baths... just 10 mins to Grand Bazaar and Spice (Eqyptian) Bazaar... just 30 mins to Taksim... and just 20 mins to Asian side by historical boat. Choose your bed from four bed or six bed mixed dorms, 6 bed female dorms, or double rooms with shared bathroom or ensuite. All double rooms have temperature control (air conditioned) and most rooms have stunning views of the Maramara Sea, the Bosphorous, Prince's İslands and the Asian shore. All rooms have comfy mattreses including dorm beds. Our hostel is very secure wıth 24 hour reception and a safe box in which you may store your valuables.Very clean and great showers with 24 hour running hot water. You can meet people from all around the world in our common areas. We have one covered common room as well as a roof top terrace area, both of which have great views of the Marmara sea, Blue Mosque, St. Sophia...you can eat your free breakfast on this great terrace. We also serve lunch, dinner and BBQ. Each week we host a BBQ party on our rooftop terrace, followed by a pub crawl to Taksim (the centre of nightlife and live music in İstanbul). You can try traditional and very tasty Turkish food at our famous associated BABYLONIA RESTAURANT (which is just 20 metres from our hostel and on the very busy and popular backpacker street). We have several computers and free internet for our guests and also wireless internet connection throughout the hostel. So, you can connect to the internet with your own notebook. We have a big screen television to watch cable tv to keep in touch wıth the world, watch movie channels, sports events.. Our travel agency can arrange all your travel needs wıth international-domestic flights, special city tours, dinner cruise by night, ANZAC tours (Troy & Gallipolli), Cappadocia, Ephesus, Pamukkale tours, belly dancing show with dinner (Turkish night) and Turkish bath. Our hostel is located near bus, tram and train transport. Our airport pick up servıce is 25 euros from ATATURK AİRPORT and 45 euros from SABİHA GOKCEN. OUR ENGLİSH, FRENCH AND SPANİSH SPEAKİNG STAFF WİLL TAKE CARE OF YOU TO MAKE YOUR STAY EVEN BETTER. THEY WILL ALSO İNFORM YOU ABOUT İSTANBUL AND TURKEY AND GİVE YOU A FREE MAP WHEN YOU ARRİVE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Metropolis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing