We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a budget hotel in Istanbul!”
Review of Metropolis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropolis Hostel
Ranked #44 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for a budget hotel in Istanbul!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After scouring the Lonely Planet guidebook and the internet for a budget friendly option in Istanbul, we decided on this one, and were glad that we did! The staff was very helpful and accommodating, letting us eat breakfast upon our early morning arrival for free even though we weren't checked in yet! We were able to store our bags, and then check in early to our room, which was helpful. Our private room was great, cute building with tight stairs.

The sister restaurant was okay, but we weren't impressed with the food for the price that we payed for it. Budget food options were hard to find, especially after we'd been able to eat out cheaply across Turkey.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs, make it clear that you want to be on one of the lower floors, but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    45
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
32
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Excellent hostel with great staff and lovely rooftop terrace. Only small problem was no kitchen to cook for yourselves and no washing machine. Location is brilliant, in a quiet area that's only 2 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. Bathrooms and bedroom were very clean. We had a private double room with plenty of space in it. Had the comfort and facilities of a hotel with the atmosphere of a hostel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwlongwayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked a 4-bed room. We can barely open our suitcases and pack our stuff.
Apart from the size of the room, others are fine especially for the roof bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoek1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful hostel in the middle of the old city,very close to major sights, this the cleanest hostel l ever stayed, View from the roof is amazing, free breakfast on the roof was yummy and the bar is full of cheap drinks,best part of the hostel is friendly staff,they organize cheap tours,transfer,night outs etc..l will definetly come back here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very happy with the accommodation. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Small rooms and small building but very friendly and helpful staff. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and very good location. The roof terrace is lovely with wonderful views across the river. I would strongly reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights with a friend and really enjoyed it. The location is very convenient for visiting Sultanahmet. They offer female only dorms. The pricing is reasonable. The wifi works. The breakfast is not exceptional but it's good enough. It feels safe

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hostel is just what you need if you are travelling on a budget and aren't concerned with sharing. Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly and happy staff and great food. Cool area upstairs inside or outside to eat or play cards etc. and a great way to meet new people. The staff are great and really helpful. Would stay here agin!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#20 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,038 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Mytra Hotel
Mytra Hotel
#78 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Hostel
Old City Hostel
#36 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Hostel

Property: Metropolis Hostel
Address: Yeni Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:24 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Our Hostel,The entire hostel was completely renovated inside and out in November 2013. we put in new bathrooms, new beds (with an individual reading light and electrical outlet), new furniture, new floors and new decorations.We also installed new doors which close without making any noise, with electronic card locks for added securityWe offer high quality service at low prices for budget travellers. 'Run by travellers for travellers'. Metropolis Hostel is located in the historical old city of İstanbul. İt's just a few mins from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern and Historical Turkish Baths... just 10 mins to Grand Bazaar and Spice (Eqyptian) Bazaar... just 30 mins to Taksim... and just 20 mins to Asian side by historical boat. Choose your bed from four bed or six bed mixed dorms, 6 bed female dorms, or double rooms with shared bathroom or ensuite. All double rooms have temperature control (air conditioned) and most rooms have stunning views of the Maramara Sea, the Bosphorous, Prince's İslands and the Asian shore. All rooms have comfy mattreses including dorm beds. Our hostel is very secure wıth 24 hour reception and a safe box in which you may store your valuables.Very clean and great showers with 24 hour running hot water. You can meet people from all around the world in our common areas. We have one covered common room as well as a roof top terrace area, both of which have great views of the Marmara sea, Blue Mosque, St. Sophia...you can eat your free breakfast on this great terrace. We also serve lunch, dinner and BBQ. Each week we host a BBQ party on our rooftop terrace, followed by a pub crawl to Taksim (the centre of nightlife and live music in İstanbul). You can try traditional and very tasty Turkish food at our famous associated BABYLONIA RESTAURANT (which is just 20 metres from our hostel and on the very busy and popular backpacker street). We have several computers and free internet for our guests and also wireless internet connection throughout the hostel. So, you can connect to the internet with your own notebook. We have a big screen television to watch cable tv to keep in touch wıth the world, watch movie channels, sports events.. Our travel agency can arrange all your travel needs wıth international-domestic flights, special city tours, dinner cruise by night, ANZAC tours (Troy & Gallipolli), Cappadocia, Ephesus, Pamukkale tours, belly dancing show with dinner (Turkish night) and Turkish bath. Our hostel is located near bus, tram and train transport. Our airport pick up servıce is 25 euros from ATATURK AİRPORT and 45 euros from SABİHA GOKCEN. OUR ENGLİSH, FRENCH AND SPANİSH SPEAKİNG STAFF WİLL TAKE CARE OF YOU TO MAKE YOUR STAY EVEN BETTER. THEY WILL ALSO İNFORM YOU ABOUT İSTANBUL AND TURKEY AND GİVE YOU A FREE MAP WHEN YOU ARRİVE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Metropolis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing