We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #200 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We reached Sumahan after a long taxi ride from congested Istanbul, to find a delightful and peaceful boutique hotel located on the Asian side of the Bosphorus. All very nicely appointed rooms have views on the water, with the Bosphorus bridge and Istanbul in the background. We spent three days there and fully enjoyed the local village scene and the complimentary sea shuttle private service from the hotel to Istanbul. Definitely a place to remember and recommend.
A special thanks to Nural, the Duty Manager, who guided us in perfect French around the hotel and made us immediately feel welcomed. Thanks to have assisted us throughout our stay, in particular with hints on local restaurants that we fully enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liliasolaregunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

Super great hotel in a lovely location. Suitable for families. We will come back next time we go to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyrkiet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed for six days and were still gazing at the views along the Bosphorus at the end of our stay.
Some distance from the old city and main tourist sites but the fact that you travel to the city via the hotel's own small boat makes the journey itself part of the experience - fantastic views of palaces along the water's edge.
Being on the Asian side adds to journey from Ataturk airport - ideal if you can time your arrival to take advantage of the hotel's boat timetable - will reduce journey time and its the best way to approach the hotel.
The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. They made for an extremely enjoyable stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JORO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Great product & service. We liked the location, view and the sevice. Lovely room with fireplace that you can enjoy a bottle of local wine. Garden access with fantastic Bosphorus view. Ideal for people looking for peace in the center of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atak-TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A brilliant renovation of the old family distillery.. the terrace over the Bosphorus is ridiculously exciting.. and the hotel restaurant provided us with a perfect late lunch. It is true - the effortlessly elegant and wonderfully-coiffured manager Nural can and did organise anything we needed - he would probably have let me beat him at backgammon if I had asked..
The launch across to Europe is a wonderful treat - and what a fabulous way to arrive..

We ate at the fish restaurant next to sumahan the afternoon we left - three lazy hours feeling like Suleiman the Magnificent

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecallipygousone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We couldn't have chosen a better hotel if we'd tried. Nural's welcome and continuous service throughout our 4 day stay was first class, as was the service provided by all the hotel staff (including restaurant menu, wine selection, hamam and massage centre, library with books on Turkey in many languages, etc.). The reception staff were a mine of information on Istanbul, places to visit, how best to get there. A nearby local restaurant was also recommended serving typical Istanbul dishes amongst other delicacies.
The hotel itself has the best views of the Bosphorus, and from all of its rooms, which are spacious and with a careful attention to detail (open fire, views of the Bosphorus even from the shower, fruit on a platter to name but some).
The location is perfect for those that love the quiet and tranquility while at the same time being only a short boat ride from the bustling European side. The hotel also provides its own taxi boat for its guests between the Hotel (on the Asian side) and the European side.
A totally unexpected pleasurable experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegs-EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My partner and I came to Istanbul and Cappodokya for the first time in October, ending our sojourn at Sumahan for 3 nights. We stayed closer to the Old City for the first part of our trip, left for Central Turkey in the middle, and capped off a wonderful adventure, by staying here, on the Asia side, between the two great bridges spanning the Bosphorous. When here, it rained for the better part of the 3 days; but we encountered no difficulties making our way into the Old City yet again(by ferry) or around fascinating spots in the vicinity. Our room, a 2-story loft was modern, and cozy with spectacular views of the water, and the multi-colored lightshow that decorated the bridge within view. The fireplace was a welcome and supremely romantic addition: maintained and supplied by the hotel staff within seconds of any request or call. My only criticism of our room, was that the furniture seemed a little worn.
The most exceptional aspect(besides this beautiful location and hotel): the staff.
The staff at Sumahan was ever present to attend to requests and offer assistance in any way they could.
We most appreciated the evening manager, Nural, who was consistently amazing in offering us direction and help. Without a doubt, Nural's recommendations were spot-on. He sent us off for our 3 nights, to the 3 most delightful meals of our entire stay in Istanbul. To top it off: when my partner left her treasured ipod in Cappodokya, Nural and the staff of Sumahan, coordinated the arrangements for shipping it to us there. Unfortunately it did not arrive in time before our departure, but no worries! Nural made arrangements to have it brought back to us by another visitor who was returning to the vicinity of our home in California. He called us several times to follow-up and be certain we had received the ipod. this is the definition of caring management!
I hope and have every intention to return to this beautiful place, and hope to land once again on the shores of Sumahan.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lscohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#434 of 1,159 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#277 of 1,159 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#365 of 1,159 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#10 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,028 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#59 of 1,159 in Istanbul
775 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £163 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing