We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impress the one you love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #220 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I recommend this hotel if you're here not for touristic places but for have relax time and romantic moments. This hotel is for those who have visited Istanbul before and have seen everything but want to come for enjoy watching the sea and boats and big ships crossing near your window in early morning with sound of birds.

Overall,
I like the hotel. My wife she was so happy, and she even felt like she is in dream with the view.
Good!

Notices:
1- I recommend the upper rooms.
2- Hotel offers free transport boat to some certain places at certain times only, but once you reach Kabatas remember that you'll jump from boat to the edge and it is high unless somebody give you hand.
3- Keep your belongs secured in safe box. ex: money.

Room Tip: Take the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mss024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

A small Oasis in this busy city. Not recommended if it’s your first time in Istanbul. We enjoyed staying away from the crowd. A launch scheduled can drop you to pastasi and you can take the metro to Taksim. For public transport ask for a acrd at the reception desk. You can easily take it from there to any point in Istanbul or even Princess Islands (the ferry leaves from kadikoy).

A room with a view of the Bosphurus, amazing and romantic. Breakfast on the terrace watching the big liners and boats. Do not miss the fresh orange juice!

Service was OK.
Housekeeping wqas above average... really rare in Istanbul even at Ceragan Kempinski was not that clean.

Room Tip: we took a Junior suite which was really OK and just a little bit more expensive > a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip to Istanbul. My meetings were away from Taxsim Square where I normally would stay for the nightlife and work but this little jem is an amazing place to stay. Great accommodations, modern rooms and common areas and stunning views of the Bosphorus since the hotel is situated right on the water. This would be a nice place to get married too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Had a wonderful loft that opened up to a front yard right on the Bosphorous. The hotel is small and intimate, but nice as it has the amenities of larger hotels: hammam, massage services, room service etc. It was definitely a bit inconvenient for touring as all the main attractions are on the European side and this was on the Asian side. The hotel does offer a private water taxi to shuttle you back and forth for free, but once you get there it is still a taxi ride to the sights, and then if you want to go out until the early hours of the morning you're pretty much stuck taking a taxi the road route back to the hotel which is very far compared to the water taxi.

If you want a lovely view, and a peaceful, relaxing place come here. If you want to tour Istanbul and/or experience fun nightlife without the hassle of a long commute home, stay on the European side.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kixawixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just stayed for 4 nights after almost not booking due to some of the reviews. Ignore the bad ones, and message to the couple who had to carry their bags up 3 flights of stairs. Use the lift which the stairs wrap around. Its completely glass so impossible to miss.

Staying 20 feet from the "busy habour"...oops sorry, that would be the Bosporous, is the point of going to Istanbul. Living on the water. Even my 5 year old was transfixed by the view and the activity and loved the boat trip to the tourist Europe side, which goes mutiple times in the morning, and for $30 ($60TL) you can go whenever you want...!

Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was appropriate (and included) for the number of guests and you can order extras if you really feel the need to pretend you are in a Las Vegas all you can eat buffet!

Did I mention the view? or that just a mere 25 metres from the front of the hotel you can buy all manner of the most delicious fruit (including figs), and within a 5 minute walk are in the middle of a small local community shopping centre.

Ignore any reservation you may have and stay here...and you will feel compelled like I was to add another positive review to the over 150 already

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Sumahan on the water is a in a beautiful location overlooking the Bosphorus and a great spot to just relax and watch the daily events on this busy water way , the water traffic although not a bother was a little noisy on one morning. The hotel offers a boat service into Kabatas from here there is regular tram service up to the tourist attractions Topkapi Palace , Hagia Sophia, Cistern, Blue Mosque etc (dont forget to get a swipe card from hotel which gives access to trams ferrys etc - you will need to recharge if you are there for a couple of days but not difficult) . Hotel staff could not have been more helpful certainly gave great service and helpful when trying to find local restaurants etc - not a lot of tourists in this area , restaurants we tried had a couple of english speakers who were very helpful in choosing our meals and wine (local beer was ok to) - definitely try the local cafe's within walking distance really enjoyed our fish sandwich (balik ekmek) and turkish tea (cay , chah-yee). Ok back to the hotel - rooms and amenities are good and the hotel Hamam is worth making the time for all in all a great spot to stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: I would suggest an upper level room , we had suite just above the restaurant which could be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muzz&Krissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Sumahan is just as beautiful, sleek and modern as the photos would lead you to believe. ALL the rooms appear to face the Bosphorus so unless you need a suite or you are promised a room with a fireplace there is no need to spend more to get a view. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning, or a drink on the terrace late at night, the view is always terrific and the boats go up and down non stop and the bridge has an all night light show.

The staff at reception are very helpful, the breakfast is pleasant although nothing out of the ordinary except for the divine yoghurt which I expect comes from Kanlica nearby. We did not try the restaurant for dinner or use the spa.

The big issue is transportation. We specifically chose to be on the Asian side as we had already visited the European side previously. However, we did want to cross over sometimes. The boat transfer provided by the hotel only runs at very limited and specific times (3 times in the morning and 2 times in the evening) and must be booked at least an hour ahead. Hardly spontaneous and hardly convenient for a mid day trip. Taxis are available at the hotel, but a lot of taxis on the European side are not keen to cross over, especially if there is a lot of bridge traffic, to make the return trip. There are public boats but they require a taxi or tram to connect on each side and there are private taxi boats but they are very expensive. Some people love the hotel transfer boat experience though so just decide what kind of experience you want.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#421 of 1,173 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#278 of 1,173 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#385 of 1,173 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grand Tarabya
#98 of 1,173 in Istanbul
542 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,173 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £140 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing