We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't really get much better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumahan on the Water

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #222 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Doesn't really get much better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a great 4 nights here recently. Service was exemplary, the accomodation very comfortable and the views superb. You might think its a bit of a schlep to get from the hotel to the tourist attractions but in reality it was all rather easy. Hotel boat over there in the morning and then public ferry and taxi ride back. The taxi was only ever less than 15 Lira which amounts to just over 4£. The hotel's location is good in the sense that you are away from the maddening crowds and the restaurants locally are all authentic Turkish establishments geared to local residents not tourists. Hasan and Emre were particularly helpful staff and the in house restaurant was a delight to eat at as well for dinner. Only bug bear would have to be the quality of the pillows and a bathroom starting to look tired. One tip...make sure you have a room on the first or second floor and not the garden level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    88
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
48
224
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed there only one night as a stopover towards the Middle East. Excellent location right upon the river, good transport facility through a private boat shuttle service towards the city centre, excellent restaurant, stylish room design. Perhaps a bit far from the main attractions but definitivley worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seadreamingever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was a lovely, clean and friendly small hotel. They catered for our every needs in a courteous manner. Breakfast was continental but they were happy to help with any other requests we wanted. The only downside for us (but we were visiting out of season - February) and maybe this does not apply in the summer months was that when we headed over the sea to the other side we had to book a taxi back for a certain time. Unfortunately for us I developed ear ache and wanted to come back earlier and we anticipated that a taxi would run on the hour but it didn't so in the end we took the public ferry and had to incur taxi charges the other side to return to the hotel. If I could advise them anything it would be that they ran water taxis hourly but this may have been, as I say, because it was out of season. Would wholly recommend it anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - some are smaller than others - just enquire on size really
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COVENTRYMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for three nights in January and were very glad we chose Sumahan on the Water. Despite our initial worries about being on the Asian side of the Bosphorus away from the main tourist sites and a two hour taxi ride from the airport to get there, our fears were quickly allayed. Although it was January and the hotel was quiet, they still laid on a free boat at set times to get us across the water at our convenience and helpfully explained to us the local transport services, making it easy to get around. The room was lovely (clean and well appointed) with a fabulous view across the water. The food in the main restaurant was particularly good and the choice at breakfast was excellent. Above all, though, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that made our stay particularly special. We would definitely recommend. Top tip - don't pay for a taxi to and from the airport as it takes forever. You can get a taxi to the metro, which nows goes under the Bosphorus and then a short taxi ride to the hotel - much cheaper and quicker.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have a 3 night stay here, and are halfway through, the hotel, is very good located on the water, we had a lower studio, mezzanine level bed and bathroom. Very clean, well appointed, breakfast very good, did not use the spa. Normally they have their own boat to ferry the water but unfortunately it was out of service, but easy to get to the horn on the European side, a short taxi ride 15 lira, and then a regular public ferry 10 minutes. The staff in the hotel are very good especially the front desk, nothing is too much trouble. And helpful in every way. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colshorrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

perfect Bosphorus view, fireplace, great ambiance, nice services.. It wouldn't be more romantic then this. we were on our wedding anniversary and we had fantastic time.. It is one of the best getaway hotels in Istanbul..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Fascinating! Awesome! Amazing! For those who are looking for 100% relaxation and harmony. Irreproachable top level service, great cuicine. The stuff is friendly and professional, ready to help you 24 hours a day. Perfect Bosphorus view out of your window - the strait is just 20 meters close to the hotel. You can cross the Boshorus by hotel boat. It's free. The best choice in Asian part of Istanbul! Highly recommended!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexeyKozloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#479 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#370 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#496 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Uskudar
The Bosphorus House
The Bosphorus House
#689 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Property: Sumahan on the Water
Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#164 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing