We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply fabulous place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #200 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As a family of 5 we stayed here in April 2014. It is a truly special place with wonderful rooms, charming staff and the most amazing views of Istanbul from the Asian side of the river. It is right on the banks of the Bosphorous so its position is unrivalled. It was wonderful to sit and have an early evening drink outside and watch the sun set over the Blue Mosque! The hotel has an excellent cafe for lunches and supper and a superb restaurant - Tapasuma - for dinner. Sumahan On The Water must be one of the very best places to stay in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouringTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

An old family-owned distillery on the Asiatic shore of the Bosphorus, two young architects with a dream, 25 years of challenges to overcome and so was realized the magnificent Sumahan on the Water Hotel in Istanbul.
We had the pleasure of a double stay at the Sumahan Hotel during March-April 2014. Owner-architects, Mark and Nedret Butler, personally supervised and/or attended in a hands-on-manner to the comfort and needs of their lucky guests.
Every room/suite faces the Bosphorus with expansive water views toward the European shore. The rooms/suites are elegantly and comfortably appointed, exceptionally clean and quiet. The discrete reception and housekeeping staff were respectful, dependable and knowledgeable.
The included Turkish breakfast buffets were superb and dinners at the renown Tapasuma restaurant on-site were memorable not only for the creative cuisine but also for the well-measured, attentive yet unobtrusive service.
An exceptional complimentary treat of the Sumahan Hotel is their private launch, Sumahan 1, which whisks guests back and forth across the Bosphorus. Too romantic!!
The Sumahan Hotel remains on our short list of places to enthusiastically return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms/suites and lofts are gorgeous. During the busy season, quarters further from the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

When you find a place that seems to have it all - How Nice! Researching locations and trying to make the right decision of Asian or European side was challenging, but in the end we made the right one. Our goal was to have a good location, a place to chill, nice amenities and service - When you get an 'Awesome' view along with all that - What can I say? Sumahan has one of the best locations I think you can have. Looking out over the Bosphorus each morning and evening was the chill factor we wanted. It is truly magical to watch the fishermen and all the vessels travel along the Bosphorus. The beauty of the evening lights of the European side and the lighting of the Bosphorus bridge were so exceptional. Our room was a very well appointed, comfortable, nicely decorated and overall a very well designed boutique room. Again, the view of the Bosphorus - 'Outstanding'! Having access to their own boat each morning was such a plus and was so convenient to get from Asia to Europe in about 20 minutes. We booked the Sumahan for 6 nights and found that even staying there to just relax was so nice. The grounds are well maintained - offering a very pleasant place to just hang, read a book, or just enjoy a nice cup of tea after a long day of site seeing. The proximity to the small community - about a 2 min walk -put you into the the local Turkish life with little to no shopping - But, if you like to eat!!!!

When you find a place like this you want everything to be perfect. I have only a few things that keep this property from rising to a 5 Star rating for me. First - after 6 nights the breakfast was a little boring - not enough change or imagination in preparation. Each day seemed to bring the same with very small changes - scrambled eggs plain or with a tomatoes sauce ( cold on multiple days ), breads, cereals, etc.. Enough of that - not what it could be! The other thing was so minor and easy to take care of - frayed and soiled carpet - an easy fix.

Sercan, the front desk manager, was very helpful to make our stay a good one and we really appreciated his concerns that our stay be very nice.

If you are looking for a 'Special' place away from all the busyness of the city - this is the place for you!

Room Tip: No #'s just names - Kuzguncuk - nice location, great view with a good architectural design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevemathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed 9 days in a loft suite with my wife. It is the best you can find, it has an access to garden which is directly on the bosophorus water...wanderful for couples. Also, the suite was very nice and couzy...ul

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Polo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What an incredible property! The waterfront is amazing, something you will not find in ANY OTHER Istanbul hotel!

The rooms are modern with acknowledgements to its historic past - it used to be a distillery! A great mix of exposed brick, steel, and wood makes for a perfect loft style room in my books.

Staff is incredibly friendly and over the top helpful.

Location - If you are concerned about its location consider this, Istanbul is a very busy city. VERY. Sumahan on the Water allows you to have peace in an other wise hectic place. The hotels offers a free and private water taxi (which is gorgeous!) that can take you to and from downtown Istanbul. It really is a perfect fit.

For a full review I did see here:

http://www.thislifeintrips.com/reviews/sumahan-on-the-water-unique-istanbul-hotel/

Shaun
www.thislifeintrips.com

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft style room which has access to the river front. Highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLITs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed only for 1 night in September for our wedding
anniversary.Our room had a fantastic view.I think it is the best place for a romantic stay.The breakfast was plentiful.Only dissapointment was the poor facilities in the room.There may be a coffee machine in the room as most of the hotels have one in Europe.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrs_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a great 4 nights here recently. Service was exemplary, the accomodation very comfortable and the views superb. You might think its a bit of a schlep to get from the hotel to the tourist attractions but in reality it was all rather easy. Hotel boat over there in the morning and then public ferry and taxi ride back. The taxi was only ever less than 15 Lira which amounts to just over 4£. The hotel's location is good in the sense that you are away from the maddening crowds and the restaurants locally are all authentic Turkish establishments geared to local residents not tourists. Hasan and Emre were particularly helpful staff and the in house restaurant was a delight to eat at as well for dinner. Only bug bear would have to be the quality of the pillows and a bathroom starting to look tired. One tip...make sure you have a room on the first or second floor and not the garden level.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#434 of 1,159 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#277 of 1,159 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#365 of 1,159 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#10 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,028 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#59 of 1,159 in Istanbul
774 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £163 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing