We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally charming hotel from which you can enjoy both the magic of the Bosphorus and the incredible sites of Istanbul.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #211 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

With so much to chose from on the internet I was so lucky to have found the Sumahan, the high scoring reviews are justified. I loved the fact my bedroom had floor to ceiling windows with views over the Bosphorus and that after breakfast I could jump into the hotels free boat service and be dropped off on the European side to walk around sites such as the Blue Mosque & Grand Bazaar. (you don't need to book a Bosphorus trip with this service!) Laden with bags and with tired legs I was grateful for the boat ride back to tranquility. There's a very popular fish restaurant next door where I watched several glamorous parties arrive by speed boat. Apparently in the summer months there is a rather chic floating swimming pool just by the opposite bank of the river which the hotel boat can drop you off at for a days lounging! I didn't try the hotels Hamman but a couple I spoke to said it was amazing. The staff totally made the stay - I have couldn't have felt more at home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Sumahan on the Water
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

Tucked away on the Asian shore of the Bosphorous just up from the Beylerbeyi Palace, this small hotel provides the perfect spot for a relaxing break. From the moment you arrive the staff discreetly look after your every need - with a chilled glass of lemonade as you stroll to your room after check in, being the first of many delights. The views from the suite we took were breath taking, and the rooms themselves were simply but very stylishly furnished. The bathroom was superb - as you would expect in Turkey.
The hotel has an excellent bar / restaurant with a beautiful waterside terrace, a gym, its own hamam and a private launch which can take you across the Bosphorous at various times of the day. The library is very well chosen and in winter I can imagine strolling back to the fireplace in your room to enjoy the book of your choice.
It is the staff however who are key to the success of this hotel and I couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The hotel was exactly as stated . The best view in Istanbuhl. The room was beautiful, the staff was excellent, the spa was very good. But the most interesting part of the trip is that we left $3,000 in the safe and they returned it to us. I would recomend this hotel to anyone. Yes it is a little tricky to get to the European side but the trade off is well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiePhiladlphiaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

The sumahan made our trip to turkey completely unforgettable from the lovely and helpful staff to the breathtaking views and rooms. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms plush and comfortable. The location is remote which was exactly what we were looking for for this leg of the trip--it was calm, quiet and peaceful. The whole stay was very special and truly could not have been more perfect.
The private boat was an amazing experience which allowed us to essentiallly take a private tour of the bosphorous for no added cost.
We give this hotel the highest recommendation. I hope we have the oportunity to stay at the sumahan again--and when we do we'll be sure to catch a fennerbache game!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Mll321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Lured by the romantic setting & some of the buzz -incl. the Conde Nast Traveler rating, our experience from an amateur desk staff to appaling services (for starters, we had to pay the upgrade to get a room that was not in the stairwell, pathetic restaurant, meaningless complimentary boat shuttle runs only twice a day, 20 mn waiting for room service..etc) was rather disapointing...This is not across the water, it is a different continent & just a different notion of quality & professionalism.
For anybody who has traveled the world in small or traditional luxury hotels, this doesn't warrant the buzz nor the overpriced rates that would get you amuch better location & a real world class hotel like the Ciragan Kempinski to which we switched too after 2 nights...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeDiscerningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

In a tastefully converted distillery, Sumahan has genuine character. The keen eye of its architect owners is evident in the attention to detail and flawless execution of the renovation. Located on the Asian side, sightseeing is only a short boat ride away on either the hotels boat or public ferry. And on returning from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, Sumahan is a welcome tranquil oasis where we were could relax with an open log fire in our room. The views from the room were simply stunning, looking uninterrupted up and down the Bosporus. I loved the Hamam (Turkish bath) at the hotels spa. The staff were wonderfully helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. This was the best place I have ever stayed for a romantic getaway and I would definitely stay here again. The experience was simply amazing.

Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank fat_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Just few words to say how much is fantastic is this hotel. Great Hotel, great location and great Staff!! is like to be home.

the best way to enjoy Istanbul ever.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestTravellerWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#449 of 1,159 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#286 of 1,159 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#376 of 1,159 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,023 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#159 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £162 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing