We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab view - so-so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #228 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fab view - so-so hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This is a difficult one!
Fabulous location, right by the Bosphorus, with stunning views. Wonderful to arrive (and depart) by the private and complimentary motor launch.
Some staff friendly, others cool.
Surprisingly our bedroom (on a non busy night) was probably one of the smallest. No fireplace, synthetic pillows and duvet, functional furniture. Some maintenance issues - desk lamp and bath waste not working. Compact room and small marble bathroom. Our 'package' should have included a bottle of wine and 15 minute massage - neither were forthcoming - although when we pushed we did receive the wine. However, the view from the (one) window was wonderful and it sort of compensated for the somewhat disappointing other aspects.
The Kordon restaurant was fine - no more expensive than others and the fish was fresh and nicely cooked and presented and the service was satisfactory. There is also a very well stocked and interesting library where one could spend many enjoyable hours.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    88
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
50
225
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We had a great time, there were loads of complimentary things, like nuts and fresh fruit, marzipan and they brought this olive flavoured oat crisps with the free wine. We had a loft suit with its own Turkish Bath and that was amazing as well except the fact that the shower bit was a bit cold but we didn't mind as we had the amazing Turkish Bath. The view was so great too. It was very peaceful and quiet. Breakfast was a good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

one the best hotel ever thing was prefect room and service, location and i plan to stay there next time

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

What a lovely welcome we received on arriving at Sumahan on the Water - no sooner had the taxi come to a halt a friendly face appeared, our luggage was whisked to our room and a cool, refreshing drink was put into our hands - what service! Our room was one of the smaller ones, but with stunning views of the Bospherous and a generous marble bathroom, we were very happy. Had it been colder we would have gladly lit the contemporary fire. On our first night it was great being able to stay 'at home' and enjoy a delicious dinner and the very personalised hammam is a must if time permits. Charming staff, charming service and somewhere we would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay at a small luxury boutique hotel in Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

I think needing some days to explore the wonders of Istanbul it was perfect to come across such a wonderful hotel. A retreat when arriving back to the Asian side by private ferry after busy adventures seeing the sites. The small towns within walking distance or local bus all having great restaurants. The hotel itself has a fantastic breakfast where you can sit and relax and plan your day with the water at your doorstep. The dinner menu is also excellent. To take time to enjoy the Spa is so very worthwhile. It is a sensational experience. All the staff are extremely helpful and kind and truly hope I have the opportunity to visit again soon. This was however my second stay at Sumahan in 2 years and it was very nice to be welcomed and recognised by staff. A wonderful experience in perfect surrounds with luxurious rooms with beautiful views of the Bospherous

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu09Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

The perfect place for a romantic break. Our first time in Istanbul and we were not disappointed. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was spotlessly clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and incredibly attentive, nothing was ever too much trouble. Infact they willingly went that extra mile for you every day. The food was delicious and presented well. The location of the hotel could not have been better, it seemed like we were miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city with a very serene atmosphere. Stunning views overlooking the Bosphorus and a fun boat ride to the other side when needed which was by far the best way to travel considering the amount of traffic in Istanbul.
This hotel made our stay really wonderful and if we were ever to return I think we would definitely choose to stay at the Sumahan on the Water, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

With so much to chose from on the internet I was so lucky to have found the Sumahan, the high scoring reviews are justified. I loved the fact my bedroom had floor to ceiling windows with views over the Bosphorus and that after breakfast I could jump into the hotels free boat service and be dropped off on the European side to walk around sites such as the Blue Mosque & Grand Bazaar. (you don't need to book a Bosphorus trip with this service!) Laden with bags and with tired legs I was grateful for the boat ride back to tranquility. There's a very popular fish restaurant next door where I watched several glamorous parties arrive by speed boat. Apparently in the summer months there is a rather chic floating swimming pool just by the opposite bank of the river which the hotel boat can drop you off at for a days lounging! I didn't try the hotels Hamman but a couple I spoke to said it was amazing. The staff totally made the stay - I have couldn't have felt more at home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#484 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#359 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#72 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#492 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Property: Sumahan on the Water
Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#166 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing