We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
271
96
18
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
96
18
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel in one of the best locations on the Bosporus. Relaxed atmoshphere, tastey food, gorgeous rooms with views of the Bosporus from your bed!
Can only recommend it to anybody with style and class who does not look for a show off hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The setting at the Sumahan is nothing short of magical. You could practically dangle your feet from your hotel room into the Bosphorous it is so near. The building which is a renovation of an old distillery has been immaculately conceived by its architect owners. The design and decor are faultless throughout the communal areas and rooms.
My wife and I chose to have a humanist wedding ceremony at the Sumahan in August 2010 and it was absolutely perfect. We had guests from all over the world, al of whom where blown away by the whole affair; the building, the rooms, the view and the service.
There is also an excellent fish restaurant (Kordon) right next door which is where we chose to have the wedding dinner.
The location really suits us as it is very tranquil and the hectic crowds of Sultanahmet feel a thousand miles away. You can however get across to the European side very conveniently using the complimentary boat shuttle which is not only practical but also an experience in itself.
The service is fantastic with a very warm welcome from the moment you arrive. Barely had our suitcases touched the floor on arrival, before glasses of fresh lemonade were offered to us and our luggage was whisked away to our rooms.
We used both a standard (deluxe) room and an Executive Suite - both were excellent and the suite really does take your breathe away when you first enter.
We wouldn't change much with this hotel; only possible criticism we could have is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and the rather lacklustre mini-bar (bottled water only albeit complimentary). However these are tiny details and would certainly not stop us from returning (which we have every intention of doing!).
An unforgettable place for an unforgettable day - thank you Sumahan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexClow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Spent a couple of nights here in August 2010 and really liked the place. If you're happy to be away from the tourist hub of Sultanahmet, this is a chic, contemporary "designer" hotel, right on the water, as the name suggests. Lovely interiors, excellent reception staff, exudes quality everywhere. Food is nothing special, but there's lots of choice nearby. The best thing is the location, as long as you're happy to take the hotel's shuttle launch across the Bosphorus to the "European" side, then continue your journey by tram or taxi. We were more than happy - the boat trip is all part of the adventure and we had a great time here.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Gorgeous10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We found the Sumahan hotel by looking for areas that were not over run with tourist. Instead we found the most magnificent hotel in all of Istanbul. Most people stay on the european side of Istanbul thinking it's more convenient. Not true! The hotel has it's own boat that shuttles across the Bosporus in about 7-10 minutes! It will drop you right in the heart of all the tourist sites and with out the hassle or noise of staying on the european side. We stayed on the european side at what would be considered the most fancy of hotels and it was actually quite inconvenient and rampant with tourist traffic.

The best thing about the Sumahan is that we had a built in tour guide. The staff new all the spots to see and even better what time and how to avoid lines and traffic (something none of our tour books had). Moreover, within walking distance or very short cab ride you will be in authentic turkish restaurants sitting quietly by the water.

I can't say enough good things, we stayed 5 nights because we loved it so much. Everything is very modern and you basically ask and they will make it happen with out charging!

Incredible experience!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Sumahan Hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and the boat that shuttled us back and forth between the Asian and European side of Istanbul was not only extremely convenient, but the ride was gorgeous. We hope to visit again someday soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caiwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews