We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant was a gem!”
Review of Yesil Ev

Yesil Ev
Ranked #615 of 13,534 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This restaurant was a gem!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We sat in the beautiful garden and enjoyed a multi-course lunch. We had stuffed tomatoes, a cold cucumber soup and an incredibly good eggplant stuffed with lamb. It was wonderful. Our lunch ended with a coconut almond pudding that was also good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food by the fountain in cool garden”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

A wonderful garden tucked away behind the Bath of Haseki Hurrem near the Hippodrome of Istanbul offers a place of rest with great food, excellent service and a sense of well being enhanced by the fountain in the center and discrete live music. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis steps from Topkapi Palace”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you need to refuel and recharge this is a good option near the major sights. Meals and snacks are served in the large garden with tables set all around a fountain in the shade of trees. Birds hop around on the flowers and polite and efficient waitors take care of you. Tasty Turkish food is reasonably priced, though perhaps a little more than some budgets may want, but worth if it you need to get away from the busy streets for a change.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This restaurant is for those who seek shelter from eating at the Istanbul street restaurants. I didn't care for it. Our meals were expensive by Istanbul standards. The stuffed quail was marginal and all the meals came with rice and french fries.We got some high end still water that cost more than a bottle of water at JFK airport. A group of English speaking women seated at another table were served Nestle bottled water. We were not asked! The restaurant is a nice quiet location between and very close to Sophia and the Blue Mosque. My son commented that it was like being back in Vienna or Frankfurt. For the leary tourist it is a great escape. We are in Istanbul for flavor and adventure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Airbuspilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food, Service and atmosphere were delightful!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our travel guide took us to this little gem in Old Town. She told us it was definitely not a tourist restaurant and was relaxing and was she right!! The food, wine, service and atmosphere met expectations and beyond. We caught Istanbul in a cold/rainy weekend, therefore we spent quite a bit of time inside. Look for the Green Bed and Breakfast and go behind to a garden....through the garden is the restaurant. The staff was VERY attentive. The food was surprisingly good and refreshing. Much, much more than we would have ever expected in Old Town.

We would definitely recommend finding this li'l gem. It was worth the time to walk to it and to be honest, it isn't far from any of the sites but you have to know what your looking for!!

Happy Eating!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yesil Ev also viewed

 

Been to Yesil Ev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing