We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Apex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apex Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed at the Apex Hotel from 30 April - 5 May with my brother. The hotel is a quaint small boutique hotel and has real character. If you want 4-5 star this may not be the place for you, but if, like me, you prefer hotels with some "local" character and none of the anonymity of the big chains, this is the place for you. Fantastically friendly and helpful staff who are more than willing to help out with maps, taxis (including free pickup from the airport!) and recommend and book local restaurants/tours, particularly Ibraham who just could not have done more to make our stay a truly wonderful experience. Free wireless Internet is also a nice touch. Rooms and bathroom facilities obviously old and small, but very clean and, once again, full of character and hugely comfortable beds. :o) Rooms included "cablo TV" and mini bar - and bathroom has hairdryer. Breakfast is included up on the roof terrace with fabulous view of the blue mosque -breakfast is basic but has everything you need. Located absolutely in the thick of things it is only minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkapi. Other sights easy to reach using the tram, which can be caught near Hagia Sofia. Plenty of good restaurants nearby and Ibraham happy to recommend more. We had great meals at Blue Turquoise and FAMILY - both in AKBIYIK caddessi just around the corner. I can't recommend this place enough - GREAT value for money, GREAT location and GREAT staff. Will definitely be my port of call if I find myself in Istanbul again! :o)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gemini2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    91
    28
    23
    17
See reviews for
83
161
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Quaint 12 room boutique hotel centrally located on a quiet street in the historical Sultanahmet district. My wife and I stayed in a standard room, which though small, was clean and comfortable and a suitable base for exploring Istanbul. There is no restaurant in the hotel but they do have breakfast on the roof top with an incredible view of the Blue Mosque.

The staff at the front desk could not have been more helpful, especially Ibrahim, the general manager. He made great restaurant recommendations and arranged transportation, guides and of course, a Turkish bath. Once he found out we were there to celebrate our anniversary, he made sure that the restaurant (only 5 minutes walk) set aside a special table by the fireplace; and upon our return had a bottle of wine and fruit in our room. Such personal attention added to a wonderful stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Robert5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The young manager took charge of the place a couple of months ago and has already improved things. The new terrace on the roof has a view onto the Blue Mosque. While I was there, a kitchen and bar were being built onto the terrace which means farewell to the horrible, fake orange juice and average breakfast and hello to fresh products and food. The rooms are a bit kitsch but I prefer that to cold Heathrow Ibis hotel efficiency.
A very promising place with a dynamic manager.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serkore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We spent a very enjoyable 4 nights at the Apex Hotel. The location is excellant and the staff friendly and very helpful. The room we had (we were given a choice of 2) was larger than average, with a very comfy bed and a good sized bathroom. Shower was good with plentiful supply of hot water, but some of the other fttings need a little TLC. Toilet roll holder only held in place by one screw, so roll kept falling on to the floor. Hairdryer kept falling out of holder and glass shelf above basin broken at one end. Only small things, but annoying! Breakfast was ok, bread, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, jams, fruit etc. Coffee and orange juice could be improved. Basically, the hotel was as described on the Internet and good value for the centre of the Old Town. A little quiet haven after the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandSmarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

It may not be the best hotel of stars but i may say that it is the best place that we could stay and the only place we ll stay in the future. Perfect location (walking distance to historical places-sultanahmet-topkapi palace-yerebatan-ayasofya and many more)the friendliest ever and helpfull staff, it was a home away from home... we love u guys and hope to see u again soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank FTurkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We came here on our honeymoon after a lot of travelling around Europe. We found this hotel to be much nicer than others we stayed at in this price range in Greece and Egypt. A very pleasant, small hotel with atmosphere and very helpful staff who let us use the internet for free and even gave us some Turkish delight and apple tea as a present. Breakfast was boiled eggs, salad, fetta cheese, olives and bread and jam. Location is excellent, a very quiet street but also very close (5 to 10 minutes walk) to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Roman cistern, mosaics museum and Topkapi palace. There are also many restaurants nearby - I recommend Guvec and Ayran at one called Ocean's 7.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PitchedOutsideLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Co. Clare , Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and can say that it is faultless. Ibrahim and his staff pull out all the stops to ensure that you have a wonderful time and are very helpful with advice on places to eat and where to go and what to watch out for.
They offer a courtesy transfer from the airport to the hotel and if you're staying six nights or more they offer a courtesy transfer back to the airport otherwise transfers cost TRY40 (approx Euro18).
There's free Wi-Fi. Bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable, very clean with fresh towels every day. Breakfast, although simple, is fresh and delicious and is included in the nights stay.
The hotel is 200 meters from the Blue Mosque and within walking distance of everywhere. It's in a lovely, clean and safe location and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.
We've already advised friends and family to stay here and we're really suggesting you consider the Apex. You'll enjoy it and the warm welcome. We can't thank Ibrahim and his team for their help in making our visit to Istanbul such a memorable and happy one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DavidPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#434 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#135 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#467 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#284 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#490 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#578 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Hotel

Property: Apex Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No: 28 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old city neighborhood of Sultanahmet, the Apex Hotel Istanbul is within walking distance of all of the famous tourist attractions such as the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia Museum and the Topkapi Palace. Your breakfast served at a perfect place, overlooking the Sea of Marmara and facing to the Blue mosque. Enjoy the rich typical Turkish foods or international selection, just ask the smiling staff who are always willing to give you the individualized attention you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing