We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berk Guest House Grandma's House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$245
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$296
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
US$49
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elite World Business(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$823
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
160
50
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
50
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstopkapi palacesmall roof terracewonderful guesthousevariety of cerealsblue moscheeturkeyattic roomnice hospitalitylike coming homehome away from homeboiled eggscafes and restaurantsagia sofiaistanbul visittop kapiwalking distancethe main tourist attractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Brilliant location, excellent service, very clean, well maintained and definitely well worth the money. This pleasant family run Guest House is situated in one of the best areas in Sultan Ahmet only walking distance to the famous Topkapi palace, Ayasofya (Hagia Sophia) and the Blue Mosque. This area has great ambiance with little shops and loads of restaurants that serve fantastic local and international dishes. We stayed in Berk Guest House for a few nights and loved our clean air conditioned, spacious bright room and the friendly helpful staff. The owner Yasim was extremely helpful and accommodating and spoke English very well.
The breakfast buffet was real good with crepes, eggs, a selection of jam, cheese, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers and a variety of Cereals with tea and coffee.
If you plan to go shopping , a short taxi drive for about 10-12 TL will take you to Istiklal street or Taksim square
Overall I found this place of great value with great service and loved the location. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Good rooms, breakfast is really good.
The two ladies that now run the Guesthouse are terrific and, honestly, refreshingly good to talk with in Turkey -if you are OK talking about interesting things.
however, as is the case all over Istanbul, it is expensive for what you get (€3 for a can of beer? It should be TL1.50. Beer at a Guesthouse should be about relationships, not profit).

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schurr_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This family owned and operated guest house combines the simple charm of a converted residence with the convenience of a central location in the heart of Istanbul's most visited area, Sultanahmet. A small rooftop patio provides one of the most commanding vistas of the Bosphorus as well as stunning views of nearby Haghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Owner Gungor Evrensel is a delightful host who can provide information and tips for any excursion into the world's most exotic city, his birthplace. Affordable rates include a traditional breakfast. If you're looking for Euro-chic, the Berk is not for you; you'll have to check in across the street at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdebevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed in the Berk because the original hotel we booked (Marmara) cancelled 1 day prior to us arriving due to health issues. The Berk was a bit more expensive but there were good reviews on trip advisor so we went ahead and booked. The hotel was such a disappointment and by far the worst Turkey hotel we've stayed in. We stayed in a "superior" room, the air con in our room acted more like a fan so didn't act in cooling the room so we found ourselves tossing and turning all night because it was stuffy and hot. Don't bother getting up for breakfast unless you like stale bread with a horrible cheese spread. Agree with the last review, hotel staff were rude and unhelpful compared with others places we stayed. Our advice is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BananaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

This is the worst place we have ever stayed in Istanbul and we visit there 2 or 3 times a year.
Was not as described in Turkeys Rough Guide. Very overpriced. Unfriendly hotelier. Breakfast was served in a tiny room that was obviously her lounge with three plastic patio tables and chairs pulled in from outside. She even had her iron still set up!
We advised her that niether of the lights in the bathroom were working at lunch time and they were still not fixed when we decided to leave the next day.
She asked for a visa number on booking then did not accept Visa when we arrived.
Our room was dirty. There was cigarette ash on the bedside table and the carpet was all bits and pieces.
This is in a great location but there are lots of other hotels in the same road that charge half the price and have better facillities as we found out the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shirley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews