We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, even better service!”
Review of Berk Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berk Guest House
Ranked #25 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Excellent location, even better service!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For my first time in Istanbul I wanted to stay at a practical hotel with good service, clean and centrally located. Well...Berk Guest House passed with flying colors and surpassed expectations. Location was perfect, it's strategically located in the heart of Istanbul which will allow you to walk to all the important sights. Berk's owners were great hosts, I got to meet them and have two dinners with them, very lovely folks. If you are looking charming and informal, a place that treats their guess like family, and close to everything, then you should book your stay at the Berk Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    47
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
64
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our two night stay was a little short...but it couldn't have been in a better place: location, service, staff and breakfast- all good.
What topped off the experience was a surprise birthday gift- thanks to Berk guesthouse for the rest we needed and the convenience we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkeadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay in the Berk Guest House. The hotel is set in a great location in the Sultanahmet district and only a 5 minute walk away from the major sights (Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque and many others). We found all the hotel staff very friendly, the room was clean and the location quite at night (April 2014).Hoping to return to Istanbul in October and look forward to staying here again. Great hotel, very clean, excellent price, friendly staff, highly recommended!

Yeşim the hotel owner is extremely helpful, she would often give us and other guests recommendations and advice of things to do, see and eat. Yeşim even gave us a lift in her car (with her wonderful daughter) to the Rahmi M. Koç Museum (Industrial museum)! The breakfast room on the lower floor with a courtyard is nice. A good election of food is on offer. As an example you can choose from tea, coffee, fruit juice, cereals, sausage, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, fresh fruit, and a selection of breads. Great start to the day for seeing the sites in Istanbul!

Transport links to the hotel are superb. The T1 Sultanahmet tram stop is only a short walk away. I would highly recommend purchasing the Istanbul Kart which is an all-round public transportation boarding pass (similar to the London Oyster Card). This can be used on the trams, metro, buses, ferries and the funicular. For a couple you only need one card (10TL which includes 4TL credit) as up to 5 people can travel on 1 card. Just enter by touching the card on the card reader. Once you've “beeped/touched in” just hand it back to the next traveller after passing through the entry turnstile on the metro etc or after "beeping in" on a bus. You can easily “top up” the card at the Sultanahmet tram stop as they have a machine (in cash – notes only). You are charged roughly 2tl per person per trip – it's actually less than this but it makes it simple to work out how much you need to add or how long it will last. The new Sirkeci to Üsküdar (Üsküdar is on the Asian side of Istanbul) metro is now open. Again the Sirkeci stop is not far from the hotel on the T1 tram line (take Sultanahmet towards Kabatas and leave at Sirkeci next to the Tourist Information centre) or you can walk.

If you are travelling fairly lightly, it's easy to get from Ataturk Airport to the hotel via tram. Hop on the Metro in the airport (accessed underground – just head for Metro signs) and take a train in the direction of Aksaray from either platform. The Havalimanı (airport) station is the terminus of this Metro line, so you can board any train—they all go to Aksaray, you can't get the wrong train. At Zeytinburnu you must get off and take the T1 (Bağcılar-Kabataş) tramway in the direction of Kabataş. Stay on this tram until you reach the Sultanahmet stop. It's about a 45 minute journey from the airport to the hotel but you get to see parts of the city on your journey, for example passing the Grand Bazaar etc. The Sultanahmet tram stop is only about a five minute walk away from the hotel.

Once again if you plan to use more public transport like the ferries, buses or metro then I would recommend you buy an Istanbul Kart which is available at the airport metro station. It's the last machine on left closest to the platform. It issues the Istanbul Kart cards and costs 10TL (6TL for the card and 4TL initial credit). Once you have your card “top it up” with more Turkish lira (notes only) at one of the machines to the right of the card machine. One card allows 5 passengers to travel. Please note the machines accept cash only, no credit cards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. It was our first stop after a long flight. We had asked for airport pickup, and were thrilled to find our name held by a pleasant young fellow in the hectic arrivals lounge. We were welcomed, and given great advice about where to go, advice that suited our travel needs.
We stayed in room 41, with a nice balcony looking towards the old city, on the quiet side of the building. Istanbul is never really quiet, but this spot manages to provide peace.
Blue mosque, Topkapi and Hagia Sofia easy walk. Transit easy to access. Lots of good restaurants within a few blocks, and a convenience store next door.
The family and staff are always available, it is a great spot.

Room Tip: Room 41 is great, but I did not see the others. There are mosques and lots of activity servicing loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenzie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for eight nights in October (finally getting around to writing the review!) and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is very comfortable and clean, owned by a lovely couple who speak excellent English and who are very helpful with directions, ideas, etc. The front desk staff were all kind and helpful and spoke English. The cleaning staff did a fine job daily.

The morning breakfast on the terrace is substantial and delicious, with coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal, eggs, fruit, pastries and juices. It's a nice setting outdoors, of course with a cover if needed for rain.

The location is excellent, right in the heart of Sultanhamet, the old town. It's walking distance to many attractions, such as the Blue Mosque, the Topkapi Palace and the Aya Sofia. There are great restaurants on the block and the surrounding blocks, and it's a short walk to the tram to get around the city. The tram is fast and clean and very user-friendly.

As a single person, I stayed in Room 21, which had twin beds and a view to the street and the back of the Sheraton Hotel. A previous reviewer wrote a very negative review about this room, and I disagree. The bathroom is small but worked well, and street sounds are always common in any city. I don't know why someone would push two twin beds together in a small room and then complain about it being awkward to maneuver around.

The streets around the hotel are not steep, and I appreciated this, as Istambul is a city of hills! This area is flat or has just a small incline, very easy to walk.

I recommend this guesthouse very highly. It provided everything I needed for my first visit to Istambul. It's a fascinating city and was very interesting to explore.

Room Tip: Although Room 21 is small, it works quite well for a solo traveler, and the price is lower than for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a great time in November 2013. We spent a full week, the staff was lovely, always helpful and joyously so. We liked the room, their breakfast, the very honest prices, the sweet company of the owners' daughter (which is a marvel of nature).
Babur, the night guy, is just great. We enjoyed his international stories and we shared with us our daily adventures.
We got a private tour of the family "wall of fame", but we are sure they will do the same for every enthusiastic traveler. Enjoy the terrace, in all weathers and all times of the day: it is never the same, and you'll never get tired.
We hope they remember us with the same pleasure we remember them: we felt like we were visiting friends. No doubts that they put all their heart in their job. Shouldn't this be the case when you open the door of your home?

Ah! And don't forget to buy that cherry jam before you leave...

Margherita e Zaki

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marghenews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Perfectly located and convenient short walk away from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia or the Topkapi Palace. A few minutes walk awa from the tram station, Berk is a very warm place for a stay in Istanbul! It is located in the middle of Sulthanahmed which makes it easy for any traveler to walk around and be in the vicinity of great sites.

I walked my way to the spice market and Grand Bazaar.

The area has many cafes and restaurants and delicious breakfast is served at the guesthouse in the couryard. It includes a great variety of sausage, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, bread which gives a great start for a long walk to the beautiful bazaars!

The guest house is run by a wonderful family and they are very warm and helpful. They also speak good english so its great fun talking to them. They were very kind to give me directions to several places.

I had a beautiful time here.

Room Tip: Tope floor rooms give a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarimaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#194 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#135 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#341 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#184 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berk Guest House

Property: Berk Guest House
Address: Kutlugun Sokak, No: 29, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berk Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an old Istanbul family and invite you to stay with us in 'Grandma's House'. Explore Istanbul with us, an amazing city with many stories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Berk Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berk Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing