We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and characterful hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amiral Palace Hotel
Ranked #339 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Stourport-on-Severn
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly and characterful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We wanted a fairly small-scale, characterful hotel which would be convenient for visiting the historic heart of the city around Sultan Ahmet. The Amiral Palace fitted the bill perfectly, as it is in an interesting old building in the historic area of Canturkaran, which slopes down from Sultan Ahmet towards the Bosphorus. The staff are extremely friendly and anxious to please and want to be informed straightaway if you are experiencing any difficulties. The hotel lies just off an attractive street which consists of wall-to-wall restaurants, many of which are very attractive with roof gardens looking out over the sea. (A slight disadvantage of this location is that when you walk from the hotel up to town you have to run the gauntlet of the over-persistent restaurant touts.) From the Amiral Palace you can walk to Sultan Ahmet, Agia Sofia and the Topkapi Palace in about five or ten minutes, so its location is ideal. The rooms are not huge, but they are attractively decorated in an old-world way and the bathrooms are in good order. We used the hotel staff to book a day trip on the river and their advice proved to be accurate and reliable. One of the best features of this friendly hotel is the lovely conservatory on the front of the hotel, which is where breakfast is served. Breakfast is a strong feature of the hotel, featuring an attractive variety of breads, fruits, cheeses etc. The breakfast is very relaxed and you are able to spend plenty of time and make yourself at home.
On top of this hotel there is a nice rooftop seating area and bar. This commands spectacular views over the Bosphorus, as well as amazing views over the old city rooftops looking back up towards the Blue Mosque. (The call to prayer from the mosque rings out loud and clear in this part of town and might wake you in the early hours of the morning.) There's a nice feel around this area because there are quite a few small hostels and family run hotels, so you get right away from any corporate atmosphere. The Amiral Palace is a well-run, caring establishment which provides an ideal base for a city break in the historic heart of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Although the streets around the hotel are not at all busy, traffic coming up the hill past the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    137
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
66
155
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Amira location is perfect for traveling in Old City Istanbul: next to the Blue Mosqe, and 10m walk to the Tram that take you anywhere.
Hotel rooms are reasonable size, but what make the Amira hotl a superb one is the SERVICE. you have all you need to travle in the city and more: complementry breakfast, afternoon tea, good assistance for any special requirements.

Room Tip: Chhose the twoer which is sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my second time here. The location is excellent. The staff was cordial and helpful. Breakfast was a good spread. I had lunch on the terrace. The view and ambience on the terrace was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_B72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The reasonably priced Amiral Palace is one of the many hotels located in the Sultanahment area of Istanbul. Close to the major sites and public transport, this is the best area for tourists to stay in and the Amiral Palace is a very decent lodging. It meets just about everything on my personal checklist: free WIFI - yes; plenty of towels - yes; clean bedding - yes; functioning air conditioning without a deafening racket - yes; quiet room - ie. no call to prayer waking one at 5 am - yes; acceptable breakfast - yes; helpful & friendly staff - yes. The only thing that was a bit odd in the room was a window that was located down on the floor (obviously the room had been split into two floors). Also I didn't really appreciate how the man who checked me in when I arrived around midnight kept conspicuously scratching his junk while we were getting the paperwork done. Not cool. The day staff however were wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel. At arrival we got the apparantly standard sales pitch on the Gray Line (Bosphorus) tour and we booked it. What a waste of time and money that proved to be! I hope for the reception staff got a good commission on the money we wasted. Rooms: rather small, somewhat outdated, but OK. Daily cleaning. Breakfast: simple but OK, unfortunately you cannot have breakfast on the roof. We did not have dinner in the hotel, given the area is loaded with good quality restaurants. Staff is friendly, and efficiently arranged for our pick up & return at/to the airport. We had the impression the occupancy rate was rather low.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oksan e, Guest Relations Manager at Amiral Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying in Amiral Palace Hotel and sharing at Trip Advisor. Your comments and suggestions are important for us to improve our staff and service in the future.

We also would like to inform you that our front desk is here to make you enjoy your trip in İstanbul as much as possible. Giving information about the hotel facilities and İstanbul is their routine.Also the tours or transfers the front desk provide are confidential. Considering the previous experiences, our customers rely on the service they get from Amiral palace Hotel. Thus they prefer to get a tour/transfer from the front desk. It is totally our customer's choice to get or not to get.

Finally again thank you very much for sharing. We would like to welcome you back in Amiral Palace Hotel again.

Best Regards,
Veysel Aydinç
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Long overdue review. Stayed for one night in May with my mother . Unbeatable location in the Old City. Service and breakfast were excellent. The chef even makes his own jams and marmalade. We were given a free upgrade into a beautiful room with a terrace. Many thanks to the pretty lady at reception whose name was Sim. She suggested having a turkish bath at a 500 year old , deluxe bathhouse and made the reservations for us. It was a short walk away and was a highlight of our trip. Taxi stand was right outside the hotel is very handy. Would love to stay here again and for a longer time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EASYEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter and her boyfriend in June, and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. The rooms were comfortable, with a safe for valuables, wifi and the bathroom was good. The hotel is just off one of the main streets behind the Blue Mosque, and its a perfect base for visiting all the main attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful and more than happy to help with booking trips and taxis, although their trips were not as good value as if you book direct.
The breakfast is good - fresh and dried fruits, cereals, bread, cheese, meats, jams, honey, olives etc and is included in the price. We had a fantastic time in this amazing city, we will definitely be back, and I will book to come back here again.
My only suggestion for improvement is to provide a kettle for tea and coffee in the rooms -especially for us English guests!

Helpful?
Thank Suebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#194 of 1,141 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#341 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#181 of 1,141 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#115 of 1,141 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Palace Hotel

Property: Amiral Palace Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#209 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#222 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amiral Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magical city, Thank you for your choosing our hotel. We are happy to share your memories . I would like to give you information about our hotel , Our front office department is open 7/24 . We are here to answer all your questions , What to do in Istanbul? How to do in this town? We have prepared answers to these questions for you . Moreover, both professional and as someone family . You can call us for City Tour , Bosphorus Tour ,Turkish Bath , Turkish Night and Dervishes Show etc. Our breakfast served 07:30 until 10:30 in the morning from Garden Restaurant.(Near by the hotel bulilding). Our breakfast is offered about 140 kinds of Traditional taste . Our all kinds of breakfast are prepared handmade in our own kitchen. As Our mother pastry and our grandmothers cakes . Our terrace is a great place to watch in Istanbul. You can drink your coffee with enjoy , can lovely talk ,you can feel serenity .Definitely , I suggest , you review our menu because , all the delicacies on the menu is selected specially for you. You will believe in you, looks amazing Istanbul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiral Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Palace Istanbul
Hotel Amiral Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing