We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amiral Palace Hotel
Ranked #284 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The location is good, they have a splendid view from the terrace, but i was so disappointed that i could not have the breakfast on the terrace or in the garden, instead of that it was served in a kind of basement. in the future i will definitely specify this detail.
the buffet was average, but ok, we had a nice room with lots of light.
wifi in the room. staff friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were travelling as one of two couples, and were given a turret room (the other couple were not). Our room was very spacious, with an easy chair and additional small coffee table and chairs. It was clean and very light and airy. The bathroom was very well appointed with a walk-in shower. It all looked relatively recently decorated. The other couple's room was also clean and light, but much smaller. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - not much choice of fresh fruit or cereal - although there were lots of cheeses and cold meats. The best thing was the location - only five minutes or so from the Blue Mosque and the Hag Sophia, and round the corner from a very good street for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a turret room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevensbabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were a bit disappointed, given the number of good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were given a small top floor room which felt even smaller due to the sloping ceiling. The bed was comfortable and it was clean. The room had a pretty corner tower with a view of the sea and, unfortunately, of the rubbish tip in the garden below. This may have been the source of the multiple insect bites which we both woke up with every morning. Almost all the bathroom fittings were loose, the hairdryer emitted a strong smell of burning and neither the TV nor the wi fi worked in our room.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful with the one exception of the waiter who was in the breakfast room for our first three days. He seemed to take any request as a personal affront and would stomp away, muttering to himself, if we asked him for anything. All attempts to get him to smile failed miserably. The food was plentiful, if a bit boring, and the rather bizarre choice of hot food was more lukewarm than hot. I think the hotel could have done better than cold chips, rubber eggs and dough balls.
The hotel is in a great location & has a fabulous roof terrace with views of the sea and Sultanahmet mosque. We were told at check in that we could get a drink there but it was never open during the time we were there, which is a real shame.
The hotel has real potential to be good but it needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a small hotel a short walk from the archaelogical highlights of Istanbul, such as the Blue Mosque, Haijia Sofia, Roman Hippodrome, and so on. The Bosphorus is also nearby and there is a good view of it from the roof. There is a good variety of restaurants and a decent shopping bazaar within 100 metres. The hotel can be reached from the airport by a fairly inexpensive taxi ride (it cost us 40-45 turkish lira on our 4 trips).

The hotel is in an old building that is quaint, but in decent condition. The rooms are smallish, but comfortable, and the staff are helpful. There is a quiet and comfortable lounge area alongside reception. Because of the great location in an interesting part of the city, it can be a little noisy at times, but it is quiet during sleeping time. They do a decent breakfast and there is free wi-fi. It is a very good base for a few days sightseeing in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

our welcome to istanbul was great the ride from the airport was nice and made it easier than finding the hotel ourselves. the hotel at first glance is nice its a great location just a short walk from the blue mosque and the hagia sophia and the train that runs through the city to the major attractions. the staff was amazingly friendly and offered us anything we needed from help looking for restaurants to tour to recomendation on the rest of our trip like places to stay in greece and fethiye. the elevator is small, one person and luggage or two people no luggage, but its europe the always are so wasnt surprised and the hotels small so stairs arent so bad. the rooms are also small but nice and everything you need is there. we didnt plan on much hotel time so the room size is irrelevant. the breakfast was good traditional turkish veggies fruit meat cheese and breads. the juice wasnt my thing it was too sour but worth trying. we stayed here twice on our trip once at the begining and once at the end. when we were leaving the first time we told azul and he promised us a room on our next stay in a month at the same rate eventhough it was was then going ot be peak season and should have cost over 120 euros we payed 75 which was amazingly helpful from them to accomidate us. they remembered us and greeted us again as friends ofereing tea and inquiring on the rest of our trip and if we went where they said to and how we liked and when we would be returning again. overall it was a good hotel for a great price in a great location with great staff and i would definitely stay there again if im in istanbul

Room Tip: the corner rooms i believe are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amiral Palace for 5 nights, early October, 2013. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and other sites. We stayed in a corner room which I think may be larger than some other rooms. The room was very clean and had comfy beds, nice linens and free WiFi. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of choices including, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs various styles, deli meats and cheeses, breads and cakes. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Veysel and Gokhan. They had a lot of patience for our many tourist questions! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I arrived at the Amiral Palace Hotel after 9 hours of flying . Though I had made reservations and special requests six months before, for a room higher than the second floor level (for sleep comfort) I was summarily presented with a 2nd floor room key . The desk clerk was very dismissive and argumentative with me about the matter . I would have thought that a 6 month notice would suffice to fix something this simple in a guest's request. It was on paper !
Though my arrival coincided with the complimentary breakfast which is well advertised, there was an attempt to charge me for this , out of pocket .
Sure enough , late at night the garbage collector came and dumped empty glass bottles into a truck bin , sufficiently loud to wake you up . This happened every night.
It is not unusual to hear the sound of hammering going on in the hotel at day time
Little things are noticeable in the rooms like loose water faucets in the bathroom, loose door knob fixtures on the room door , temperature control device hanging by wires.
My room did not have a chair . I had to sit on the bed until the room next door emptied and I got that chair.
A lot is made in ads for the hotel about the roof terrace for drinks and food. Although it is possible to go there , it is deactivated for food and beverage service and is unkempt.
I was told that guests prefer to eat and drink at other venues in the area.
The buffet breakfast is composed of mostly cold items , except for the hard-boiled eggs.
They do make scrambled eggs , but do not bother to provide a heated steam pan . Because of this they stay cold and watery.
The premises are not wheel-chair accessible due to various step-up and step-down. Some rooms have a bathtub with a framing border which makes it quite problematic for the mobility
impaired to ease in and out . I tested one grab bar in the shower which was loose from the wall.

With attentiveness to details surrounding my comments , I'm sure that the Amiral Palace can be brought to competitive levels .

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#10 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#31 of 1,176 in Istanbul
906 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#212 of 1,176 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,176 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,022 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Palace Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#196 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#216 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amiral Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magical city, Thank you for your choosing our hotel. We are happy to share your memories . I would like to give you information about our hotel , Our front office department is open 7/24 . We are here to answer all your questions , What to do in Istanbul? How to do in this town? We have prepared answers to these questions for you . Moreover, both professional and as someone family . You can call us for City Tour , Bosphorus Tour ,Turkish Bath , Turkish Night and Dervishes Show etc. Our breakfast served 07:30 until 10:30 in the morning from Garden Restaurant.(Near by the hotel bulilding). Our breakfast is offered about 140 kinds of Traditional taste . Our all kinds of breakfast are prepared handmade in our own kitchen. As Our mother pastry and our grandmothers cakes . Our terrace is a great place to watch in Istanbul. You can drink your coffee with enjoy , can lovely talk ,you can feel serenity .Definitely , I suggest , you review our menu because , all the delicacies on the menu is selected specially for you. You will believe in you, looks amazing Istanbul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiral Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Palace Istanbul
Hotel Amiral Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing