We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, but that's all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amiral Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amiral Palace Hotel
Ranked #374 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Location, but that's all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The location of the hotel is very close to the sites in the old district. There are many cafes around and small markets. The hotel is on quite a sloped hill, so if you are not steady on your feet, maybe stay away. We arrived at the hotel to a very hot room with the window open, it was November and only 55 F degrees out, so it shouldn't have been that hot. we told the front desk, they came up to look at the air system, and ended up telling us, that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, so we just had to leave the window open. so we went out and left the window open, returned some hours later and the room was still hot. they agreed to switch us rooms. so we were moved to the first floor, where it is loud, and to a smaller room without tea kettle and tub as in our first room. however it was quite cool in there. the breakfast they served was not really our cup of tea. the front desk staff recommended and booked a horrible half day bosphorus tour for us. the only other recommendations we could get out of the front desk were from whatever random pamphlet they pulled from behind them. not really anything good on restaurants in the area. in fact, they seemed rather against us doing anything in the area, as it's all touristy. well we are tourists, so we didn't have a problem with it. anyway, some may like the hotel, it's clean, and close to attractions, but it left something to be desired in the service department.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    134
    58
    16
    7
See reviews for
66
149
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Good hotel.- Very near to Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace.- Just a few steps away.- Good breakfast.- Rooms adecuate.- Good price, pleasent atmoshere, employees are good.- Elevator is narrow, but 2 only two will deo :=)

Room Tip: 2nd floor or up rear view., are more silent.-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

good room - but I had to push for the room I wanted despite having a lengthy e-mail exchange on the subject prior to arrival. Not what I needed after a lengthy (5 hours) bus ride from Eceabat (kudos to the Turkish bus system - clean, efficient, modern, comfortable), tram ride downtown (also great) and then a walk to the hotel. Our arrival didn't go as well as it could have. Because we were staying 6 nights we were to be "upgraded" from a standard to a corner room. Looking at the photos online it was obvious to me that all corner rooms were not created equal and I asked if the two rooms I saw in two separate images on the hotel website were the same - and if one was larger I wanted that one. I was assured that all corner rooms were the same. Upon arrival, we asked to see the assigned room. We asked to see the other room - which was larger, as I thought. The desk clerk acceded (I got the impression we were seen as difficult) to our request to have that room. Then we discovered the minibar refrigerator didn't work. After bringing in reinforcements, they (desk clerk and a colleague) got the frig working (claimed cause was a previous guest had switched plugs around). Then later we discovered a major shower door leak (large puddle of water on the floor) which then drew ants. They quickly sprayed and they (the ants) for the most part stayed away. I was later told that they were taking out those shower enclosures in a coming renovation (they weren't properly installed and caulked, at least not mine - we're renovating a house and we know). In any event we dealt with the leaking shower during the stay. We also weren't informed in advance that the terrace wasn't open unless you asked to have the bar opened. Great view - they should have it open with heaters in the winter. The only time I saw anybody else up there was the aforementioned desk clerk and some friends sitting up there smoking. The breakfast room was in the basement and it was average. I noted that at some point about halfway through the breakfast the potatoes became french fries rather than the previous diced potatoes with green peppers, which were delicious. Also, it took three days for real muesli to show up. I have to agree with a review below that the waiter running the breakfast room was a bit unwelcoming - simply asking "room number?" when we walked in. And they need to stop running the cheesy music video channel on the big screen TV - I don't need to hear or see some anorexic Turkish crooner at 8 AM bemoaning his lost love while dancing around a junkyard. Special mention to I think his name is "Honor" in English - very attentive and polite guy who didn't appear to think we were difficult guests because we wanted what was expected from this level of hotel - especially one mentioned in Rick Steves.

One major complaint was that there was some large party that moved from inside the hotel to outside the hotel entrance at 1000 PM on I think the night of 3 November - right under our window. They had a traditional three-piece Turkish band - drum, clarinet, something else - banging away until around 1130. Lots of singing and dancing and loud exclamations. I didn't want to be a spoilsport at what I thought was someone's going-away, so I just lay there and hoped they would go away. Eventually they did but three of them decided to have an extended conversation outside my room. That's when I told them to shut up and they scurried away. My point is that all of this - the band - took place perhaps 30 feet from the front desk and when I asked about it the next morning got a blank stare - maybe the night shift had gone home. I couldn't believe the night desk didn't put a halt to it or perhaps it was assumed if the party had moved outside it was dealt with.

So, good location as noted in other reviews but with some qualifications Breakfast is OK. Room was nice, except as noted. Staff - some are better than others (and male desk staff - stop having the young lady carry the heavy bags upstairs). A very good deal is their free one-time airport transfer - which was very, very nice on our departure. I agree with feelymerl below - hotel has a lot of potential just needs some TLC. Maybe it was because it was the end of the major tourist season. Again, good job, Honor - who told me on several occasions he was simply there to make my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Be aware that a corner room has a of street noise - may be better to get one on the back side with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The location is good, they have a splendid view from the terrace, but i was so disappointed that i could not have the breakfast on the terrace or in the garden, instead of that it was served in a kind of basement. in the future i will definitely specify this detail.
the buffet was average, but ok, we had a nice room with lots of light.
wifi in the room. staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were travelling as one of two couples, and were given a turret room (the other couple were not). Our room was very spacious, with an easy chair and additional small coffee table and chairs. It was clean and very light and airy. The bathroom was very well appointed with a walk-in shower. It all looked relatively recently decorated. The other couple's room was also clean and light, but much smaller. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - not much choice of fresh fruit or cereal - although there were lots of cheeses and cold meats. The best thing was the location - only five minutes or so from the Blue Mosque and the Hag Sophia, and round the corner from a very good street for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a turret room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevensbabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were a bit disappointed, given the number of good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were given a small top floor room which felt even smaller due to the sloping ceiling. The bed was comfortable and it was clean. The room had a pretty corner tower with a view of the sea and, unfortunately, of the rubbish tip in the garden below. This may have been the source of the multiple insect bites which we both woke up with every morning. Almost all the bathroom fittings were loose, the hairdryer emitted a strong smell of burning and neither the TV nor the wi fi worked in our room.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful with the one exception of the waiter who was in the breakfast room for our first three days. He seemed to take any request as a personal affront and would stomp away, muttering to himself, if we asked him for anything. All attempts to get him to smile failed miserably. The food was plentiful, if a bit boring, and the rather bizarre choice of hot food was more lukewarm than hot. I think the hotel could have done better than cold chips, rubber eggs and dough balls.
The hotel is in a great location & has a fabulous roof terrace with views of the sea and Sultanahmet mosque. We were told at check in that we could get a drink there but it was never open during the time we were there, which is a real shame.
The hotel has real potential to be good but it needs some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a small hotel a short walk from the archaelogical highlights of Istanbul, such as the Blue Mosque, Haijia Sofia, Roman Hippodrome, and so on. The Bosphorus is also nearby and there is a good view of it from the roof. There is a good variety of restaurants and a decent shopping bazaar within 100 metres. The hotel can be reached from the airport by a fairly inexpensive taxi ride (it cost us 40-45 turkish lira on our 4 trips).

The hotel is in an old building that is quaint, but in decent condition. The rooms are smallish, but comfortable, and the staff are helpful. There is a quiet and comfortable lounge area alongside reception. Because of the great location in an interesting part of the city, it can be a little noisy at times, but it is quiet during sleeping time. They do a decent breakfast and there is free wi-fi. It is a very good base for a few days sightseeing in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#117 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#44 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Palace Hotel

Property: Amiral Palace Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#208 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#222 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#250 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amiral Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magical city, Thank you for your choosing our hotel. We are happy to share your memories . I would like to give you information about our hotel , Our front office department is open 7/24 . We are here to answer all your questions , What to do in Istanbul? How to do in this town? We have prepared answers to these questions for you . Moreover, both professional and as someone family . You can call us for City Tour , Bosphorus Tour ,Turkish Bath , Turkish Night and Dervishes Show etc. Our breakfast served 07:30 until 10:30 in the morning from Garden Restaurant.(Near by the hotel bulilding). Our breakfast is offered about 140 kinds of Traditional taste . Our all kinds of breakfast are prepared handmade in our own kitchen. As Our mother pastry and our grandmothers cakes . Our terrace is a great place to watch in Istanbul. You can drink your coffee with enjoy , can lovely talk ,you can feel serenity .Definitely , I suggest , you review our menu because , all the delicacies on the menu is selected specially for you. You will believe in you, looks amazing Istanbul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Amiral Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Palace Istanbul
Hotel Amiral Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing