We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amiral Palace Hotel
Ranked #305 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel 12-14th June 2014 by accident. I was previously booked in to the Star Hotel around the corner but they did a common trick of over-booking then farming you out to a sub-standard neighbouring hotel at the same price (even though they say it will be the same standard or better!). We refused the substitute hotel and looked for an alternative ourselves.

I am so glad that we found the Amiral Palace Hotel! It was the same price a the flea pit we had been offered and was definitely a higher class affair. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, crisp sheets (literally!), good breakfast included, decent amenities ... what you would expect from this standard of hotel. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have windows looking out onto a stained glass screen offering privacy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainelaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had 7 nights at this hotel and can highly recommend it. Excellent central location near the Blue Mosque and tram system. Very clean and tidy. Good housekeeping standards. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly average but of a good quality and kept very clean. Air conditioning worked fine without chilling the room excessively. Breakfasts were extensive but the same every morning. Items such as omelettes were available but you had to ask and they were at an additional price. Reception staff very helpful and spoke good English. The area around the hotel is very good with lots of restaurants and a bazaar. You must go to the local café Karafirin for hot chocolate and pastries! Would recommend you walk up to the tram stop for Sultanahmet and the restaurants around there are of a better quality and variety. Expect to be hassled as you pass every restaurant!! Gets a bit tiresome after a week though! The local bazaar is good quality but I thought a little pricey - had more fun in the Grand Bazaar where bartering is an art form!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Wayne2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in two other hotels in same old town area. This was the best for the money for what we got but the wifi is BAD. Have to sign in every time your phone or iPad goes into sleep mode. Barely any signal and worse on terrace. They said the wifi was great everywhere and not true. I wouldn't stay here again just based on the false advertisement when asked. Even one of the employees later told us it was bad.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NorCalMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located near all the highlights in the old town. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Roof top terrace very nice, with quick and good service.
Breakfast very good and the happy hour with free tea and Turkish delights is a treat.
Thanks guys!

Room Tip: If you like views and a window, ask for a upstairs room. We had a deluxe room, nice, but in the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel were very good located in the old parts of Istanbul. Since it was the first time in Istanbul, we wanted to visit most of the tourist sites in the old town. Everything in the old town were within walking distance from the hotel, even though it was very tiresome walking all the sometimes very steep streets. The room was a bit small, but very well cleaned and nice. Breakfast was really good with a lot of different things to choose from.
If I visit Istanbul again, this would be my first choice for my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1975magnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we spent 4 night there, 4 people, had 2 rooms, one twin one double. the only thing good about this hotel is location. One room was cold and humid, with only a half of window starting right from the floor. The second room did have a window, but it had a closed balcony behind it, filled with unused hotel things, so you had no anykind of view anyway. There where no hand shower in the bathroom only the shower from the ceiling, which is quite uncomfortable. Be prepareid that you will hear everything and everybody around you in the hotel during the night and day! Breakfast is so so, the same everyday and not much to choose from. I would give it max 3 stars, no more. The stuff is friendly. The cost of a taxi from the hotel to the Atatyrk Airport is about 40 Turkish Lira ( about 20€ ), so its about twice cheaper than the transfer offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wild f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were four friends coming for the 1st visit to Istanbul, booked two 25 square meters rooms. One of the rooms was big and comfortable with spacious nice bathroom, but the another, very small with a small bathroom, small flat TV screen, difficult windows' system to open/close.
The Hotel is spotlessly clean, with exceptionally kind staff, generous breakfast with variety of turkish home made delights, nice terrace on the roof with a view to the Blue Mosque, Sea and Bosphor (sunrise and sunset are nice scenes). The receptionists are kind and helpful (compliments to Katral and the waiter), the neighbourhood is safe, small restaurants, shops around, a bit hilly upfronts and down with ancient cobble pavement, not suitable for a walk in high heels.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on higher floors, eg. 304, standard rooms are rather smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olja2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#75 of 1,163 in Istanbul
531 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#785 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#116 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Palace Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#171 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#218 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amiral Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magical city, Thank you for your choosing our hotel. We are happy to share your memories . I would like to give you information about our hotel , Our front office department is open 7/24 . We are here to answer all your questions , What to do in Istanbul? How to do in this town? We have prepared answers to these questions for you . Moreover, both professional and as someone family . You can call us for City Tour , Bosphorus Tour ,Turkish Bath , Turkish Night and Dervishes Show etc. Our breakfast served 07:30 until 10:30 in the morning from Garden Restaurant.(Near by the hotel bulilding). Our breakfast is offered about 140 kinds of Traditional taste . Our all kinds of breakfast are prepared handmade in our own kitchen. As Our mother pastry and our grandmothers cakes . Our terrace is a great place to watch in Istanbul. You can drink your coffee with enjoy , can lovely talk ,you can feel serenity .Definitely , I suggest , you review our menu because , all the delicacies on the menu is selected specially for you. You will believe in you, looks amazing Istanbul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiral Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Palace Istanbul
Hotel Amiral Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing