We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Disappointing'”

Saray Pide ve Kebap Salonu
Ranked #6,857 of 13,595 Restaurants in Istanbul
Restaurant details
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Disappointing'”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a coincidence - a similar experience to 'Shame' 21st Nov 2011. We were also 'lured' into the restaurant and thought when we saw locals eating that we would receive good value. We could not relate the dishes on the menu (reasonably priced) to the platter served; the quantity was vulgar and far in excess of what we could eat. When the bill arrived it was not itemised and, in comparison with other hotels and restaurants in Istanbul, considerably more expensive and, although the quality of food was reasonable the surroundings were inferior. When presenting the bill the waiter/manager specified his tip in a forceful manner. Having no knowledge of the Turkish language we did not question, settled the bill and left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 939JanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Terrible food me and my wife are come to saray kebap for good turkish food! but for the first moment we were dissaponted of smelling bad inside than we order soup turkish pide salad and adana kebap! all food wich we ordered were terrible i find in pide hair of from staff and all testless even we didnt eat nothing they sould asked the reason they were not ingored of guestes we were really unhappy and dissapointed! the prices o k but they dont care of guestes! i dont recomend this place dont go there ! again terrible food i have never eat .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ercan_deniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent local food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Saray Kebap is just a couple of metres down from Cemberlitas tram stop. As most of the places to eat on the main street seem to be typical tourist traps, then this place is totally different. It was recommended by our hotel, and it's mostly full of local people, which is always a good sign, as they know to avoid tourist traps. They have a wide variety of different grilled meats, their servings are huge and they also have a sampler dish for several people at a very reasonable price. Their aubergine kebab was delicious, the same can be said about chicken wings and Iskender kebab. I'll certainly go there again when I'm back in Istanbul.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were going to eat at the place across the street, but we're glad we changed our mind and came here instead.

Got to try a gigantic poofy bread and had our first taste of Turkish tea here! Chili paste on the house, the meats were delicious, and my friends tried baklava dripping in honey for the first time here.

Nice service, but the waiter refused to shake my friend's hand when he offered. Not sure if that goes against their custom here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakarya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pide fresh and nice”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

If it is the Saray Pide near the Istanbul Uni. I can say, you should try it. The price is good and it tasted good to. Cean and it was always full.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Erkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saray Pide ve Kebap Salonu also viewed

 

Been to Saray Pide ve Kebap Salonu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing