We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to see whether it was worth the hype”
Review of Ciya Sofrasi

Ciya Sofrasi
Ranked #77 of 13,538 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Went to see whether it was worth the hype”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having planned to spend a few hours in Kadikoy, this quickly made it to the list of places to try given all the reviews. Easy to find. We thought we explained what we wanted by pointing at items and saying a bit on 1-plate, but what we got was 8 separate dishes which didn't fit on our table, we even asked to cancel one as they had doubled up. The meze plates aren't big. Their standout dishes were the meatballs with crab apples that had a hint of cinnamon, their version of dolmades and their kibbe ( koftas ) . We would give the artichoke with lamb cubes and their lamb stew a wide miss. We were genuinely stunned to see that our bill came to 97 Turkish Lira for 7 meze plates. This was Kadikoy not Bebek. Perhaps we have been spoiled by our experiences of amazing Lokantasas in and around Taksim Square and Galata where one gets generous portions but for the quarter of the price. Would not rush back as it wasn't the highlight meal in Istanbul for us. Wouldn't quite say it was Average, would have rated this as a Good rather than Very Good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VTK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    411
    144
    55
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great mezze on the asian side”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great mezze and delicious donner in the middle of the Kadakoy market. The mezze buffet was a wide and fresh selection. You pay-by-weight, so ensure to sample wisely then engorge yourself on what you really enjoy. The main dishes on the other side of the buffet are amazing and of generous quantity. The meats are set-price. The chefs are quite helpful in explaining the main dishes. You can sit outdoors to enjoy your meal with an Efes or a glass of local wine in the midst of the market which is a truly local experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mraidfso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Çiya is located on the Asian side in Kadiköy, and is accessible by ferry. They have three restaurants on the same street so you can't miss them. I stopped in with a group of friends and we were seated upstairs. Çiya offers a variety of different mezzes (hot/cold) so you can pick and choose what you'd like to eat based on what's available that day. Prices will vary because they are determined by the weight of your plate.

Because we were a large group (10), we asked the manager to select our dishes for us, with the goal of sharing each dish. We were brought 5 vegetarian and 5 non-vegetarian dishes at intervals - this allowed us to savor our dishes without being rushed . I have to be honest - I don't remember everything that we ate, but I can tell you that the food was delicious and fresh - definitely worth the trek over from the European side. The meal was very affordable at 24TL a piece. Çiya is in the fish market, so once you've passed all the fish and produce, you'll find the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the place in istanbul….”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

this is an amazing place to enjoy typical turkish cuisine!and the best of all it is really good value….just get a taxi boat to Kadikoy…Only ten minutes walk from the pier……

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwindow65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled onto this unpretentious but excellent restaurant while walking around Katakoy. Lovely lamb dish with cherries--memorable. Nice outdoor dining. Later we found out from friends that this is one of the hot spots for foodies.. We just found it to be really nice!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeetheWorld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciya Sofrasi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Ciya Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing