We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Turkish food”
Review of Ciya Sofrasi

Ciya Sofrasi
Ranked #80 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Turkish food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The best food I had during my stay in Istanbul, wonderful Ciya "cheese" kebabs and we loved all the appetizers and main dishes we ordered.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    415
    146
    56
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went here for dinner based on the great reviews but it was really not worth the price. We spent $76 for 2 salads and 5 dishes. They based everything on weight and some of the dishes were heavy so it was nice to take a ferry to go here but I would not recommend based on the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cszlaien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A good recomendation”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a lovely lunch here. They have self service buffet for lunch and across the street in another of their restaurants one
can order the kebabs which are delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Went to see whether it was worth the hype”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having planned to spend a few hours in Kadikoy, this quickly made it to the list of places to try given all the reviews. Easy to find. We thought we explained what we wanted by pointing at items and saying a bit on 1-plate, but what we got was 8 separate dishes which didn't fit on our table, we even asked to cancel one as they had doubled up. The meze plates aren't big. Their standout dishes were the meatballs with crab apples that had a hint of cinnamon, their version of dolmades and their kibbe ( koftas ) . We would give the artichoke with lamb cubes and their lamb stew a wide miss. We were genuinely stunned to see that our bill came to 97 Turkish Lira for 7 meze plates. This was Kadikoy not Bebek. Perhaps we have been spoiled by our experiences of amazing Lokantasas in and around Taksim Square and Galata where one gets generous portions but for the quarter of the price. Would not rush back as it wasn't the highlight meal in Istanbul for us. Wouldn't quite say it was Average, would have rated this as a Good rather than Very Good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VTK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great mezze on the asian side”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great mezze and delicious donner in the middle of the Kadakoy market. The mezze buffet was a wide and fresh selection. You pay-by-weight, so ensure to sample wisely then engorge yourself on what you really enjoy. The main dishes on the other side of the buffet are amazing and of generous quantity. The meats are set-price. The chefs are quite helpful in explaining the main dishes. You can sit outdoors to enjoy your meal with an Efes or a glass of local wine in the midst of the market which is a truly local experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mraidfso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciya Sofrasi also viewed

 

Been to Ciya Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing