We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ottoman Hotel Imperial(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$517
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
20
51
61
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
51
61
12
18
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Same story as "Stinky room in dodgy area".
We arrived at 11:30 pm and told that they had large group staying extra night etc etc....They sent us to an even worse hotel over the road called KANDA Hotel. the bloke at the reception was a complete idiot, our room was the terrible, the beds had yellow stains on the sheets there was long black hair in the beds. The bathroom was shocking, the shower was broken, and to top it off there was POO on the toilet seat!!!!! Oh yeah two nightclubs next door = no sleep at all. WE had zero sleep and checked out at 5am went accross the road back to the mighty ANT Hotel and sat in the reception until we went on our tour at 6:30, NOT HAPPY CAMPERS... (actually from all the camping toilets I have experienced none have been as dirty as the KANDA Hotel.

Now back to our friends at the not so Grand Ant Hotel.... they only managed to find a room after I blew my stack at them! However, it was in the STINKY room as mentioned by another reviewer Room 906 from memory. The room was closer to a store room than a standard room! They totally ruined our stay in Istanbull! Looking back at the experience I am sure they are dishonest and were out to scam a few extra $$

Good luck if your brave enough to stay here, if you do and they try the same scam - dont take any crap from them and stick to your guns!

Room Tip: Avoid level 9 - this is an addition to the building and has very low ceilings
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Neville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I recomanded this hotel . very good standard, large rooms , breakfast room nice, traditional. 5 minutes to tram station.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DERMENGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

GAP tours have started using this hotel as a start and finish hotel for it's turkey tours which should explain the big one night bookings that are causing problems. Obviously a nice little earner for the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had exactly the same problem as reerehtse and flashpack (and maybe others). Obviously the owner was lying about having all his rooms booked for a group of tourists who had to stay an extra night. After arguing with him for about 15 min (he wanted to send us to another hotel which I'm sure was some sleazy run-down place), I told him I was going to call the police.We had paid for our room already, so we felt that what he was doing was perfectly illegal. Suddenly, he seemed confused and said there might be a way to find a room in the hotel for us and pretended to call a customer to transfer them to the other hotel. We got the room we had booked and stayed there for 4 days. The owner remained unfriendly to us for the rest of our stay. The room was nice but noisy. We could hear loud music from the night club next door till early morning. We suspect he gave us this room on purpose. We did not even dare to complain and ask for another room considering what had happened on the first day. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank adeline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My partner and I are deeply unsatisfied with this hotel we booked through Agoda.

We booked Grand Ant Hotel in Istanbul for 7 nights in July. It was our second booking with Agoda. When we arrived at Grand Ant Hotel, we were told that there was no room for us on that day as a big group of tourists had to stay for one more night, hence our room was not available. We were offered another hotel in the area to stay for the night, and were told that we could move back to Grand Ant Hotel the next day. We were sweating heavily then, as it was very hot in Istanbul, and we tried to argue that our booking was with Grand Ant, not another hotel, and we produced our Agoda hotel voucher, but we were repeatedly told that there was no room. There was nothing we could do – we did not know the city, it was very hot out there, and we had no internet access to contact Agoda or find another hotel. We had to agree to stay in the substitute hotel for one night. The hotel we stayed at is totally different from Grand Ant. We don’t know what ‘star rating’ it has but we suspect it is at least 2 levels lower than Grand Ant. There was no lobby to speak of, and the room was tiny and smelly. It is totally different from Grand Ant and we could not even find any review of this ‘hotel’ online! It is not listed in any hotel booking sites.

We googled Grand Ant Hotel and saw a rather negative review here on Trip advisor stating a similar experience to ours. Apparently, this is not the first time it happens at Grand Ant.

Back to Grand Ant. The room's tiny, but it's expected. What we didn't expect was a stinky toilet - it stinks even before you start using it. If you leave the toilet door open, soon your room stinks like the toilet.

The hotel's located in a dodgy area where middle-aged prostitutes and their pimps are seen right across the street. True, the hotel's close to Aksaray tram station, but there are obviously lots of other hotels in the Sultanahmet area to choose from, a lot more convenient to most sightseeing spots and a lot safer too. The hotel's also right next to a night club / disco - we hear disco beats at late night, well after 1am. Not good if you want a good night's sleep!

P.S. When we complained to Agoda after coming back, the hotel lied and said they sent us to a better hotel (and gave the wrong hotel to Agoda's CS). So far Agoda has not done anything to compensate us for this.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank reerehtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews