We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveably rude staff”
Review of Istanbul Modern

Istanbul Modern
Ranked #241 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Karakoy
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Unbelieveably rude staff”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I heard that the food was good and the views great. A seat on the balcony can only be secured by prior reservation, but the view is truly spectacular.
The food is pricey. It came nicely presented but it was almost tasteless, despite having spinach, meat and cheese.
The staff were curt, the waitress raised her eyebrows at my choice of drink, physically pushed my arms out of the way for the plate (I'm partly blind and didn't see her till the last moment) and then at the end, after paying and tipping 9%, she BROUGHT IT BACK and reminded me that service was not included in the price. Never been so disgusted. I left and didn't tip any more!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Moskvichka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    126
    55
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siberia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurants overview”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The best way to tell if a restaurant is any good is to see if locals use it and not just tourists!
The better & more local the restaurant the more the locals will use it and there can be no better than a full eatery full with the locals.
The restaurants may not be as plush as the tourist traps and quite often a bit drab looking this however will not be the same as the food and atmosphere.
We look for one of these style places eat there the first two nights then try a bit more up market place and end up going back to the original restaurant as it is half the price & better food try this approach & let me know please.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Amazing food and amazing view! We went here three times during our 10 days in Istanbul. It was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Precious moments”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Nice restaurant with a very good view. We will certainly come back. Food is ok, not too big, but tasty. We loved the atmosphere, music, lights, Bosphorus during the night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manti with a view”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Their "manti" is unexpectedly tasty. Not too big, nor too small; perfect size and thin pasta with the right consistency. Nice view over the historic peninsula.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koray68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Modern also viewed

 
 

Been to Istanbul Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing