We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the very best”
Review of Mikla Restaurant

Mikla Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$102
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
1,537 reviews
1,241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“Just the very best”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Mikla is considered -for a reason- as the best restaurant in town. Run by a Turkish-Swedish chef, it carries kind of modern fusion cuisine with a local twist. Located on the top floor of Pera hotel, you enjoy beautiful view of Istanbul; the attempt at running three services is probably a bit too much but, to be fair,mew have been both late and ordered long degustation menu without being thrown out of the place, so they manage well.

Tasting menu was absolutely delicious: great combination of various vegetables, followed by an eternal grilled anchovies in thin crust (had the same there some 6 years ago), great and interesting dried beef fillet and then some fish and amazingly cooked lamb. Good wine pairing (custom-made, to enjoy large choice of wine by glass and delicious cheese platter, not to be missed.

All-in a memorable dinner to repeat as soon as possible !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    387
    163
    56
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing views, average food, high price $100/person.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The place is high end and chic. It was recommended by the hotel for its views and this did not disappoint. It's almost 300 degree views were terrific.

We unfortunately came in running shoes directly from our walking tour and was shoved in the worst seat where the view was not all that great and the snubbery was at its highest point.

The food was cooked sous-vide but having had great food throughout the world, the food was average though the presentation and service was above average.

The price though was high at $100 per person. At that price, I can eat great food at most 5 star restaurants. You are paying $60 for the view, $20 for the service and at best, the food was worth $20.

It's all about the view and Istanbul is great to see at night from here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High style”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went to Mikla for drinks and the rooftop terrace gave me such a thrill - this is Istanbul at is most chic and cospopolitan. The decor mixes in Scandinavian touches for a stylish effect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but perhaps overrated”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we read a lot about mikla prior to arriving in istanbul and were excited for the meal. have to say that coming from a food city (nyc, chicago) i think expectations were high. overall it was good food - modern with turkish influences - with interesting presentation but i thought for the cost/taste it was a nice meal but something that wasn't uniquely turkish or super standout. the location and views and scene are very chic, which was a nice date night, but be ready for a 200$+ meal with drinks. service was solid though felt rushed and somewhat brusque.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amitasingh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fantastic evening”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Although we had heard about Mikla, being our first time to Istanbul & thus to the restaurant, we really didn't know what to expect. No worries - it was fantastic. Excellent food beautifully presented. Nice wine. Wonderful views over Istanbul. Great service. We really enjoyed ourselves. A nice bar too, and the bartender looked like he relished being challenged to mix interesting cocktails; alas, we didn't test him preferring instead on sparkling wine. Prices on the steep side though esp the imported wines. If we get the chance to do this again, we would start with drinks at the bar terrace and take our time to dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hpctravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikla Restaurant also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Mikla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing