We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheaters” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konak

Konak
Ranked #6,885 of 13,378 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Aqaba, Jordan
1 review
“cheaters”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

my advice is to check your bills before start eating ,it might be treble price than what you order and they will not confess that you had not ordered and will fight you and insist to bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    89
    48
    58
    259
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant. Rude and aggressive waiters!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were planning to have a nice dinner with my friends in this restaurant. Firstly, we had to wait for table approximately 20 mins. We all ordered starter and one big plate to share. It cost 30 TRY it means we were expecting that it will be enough for three of us to share. We repeated to the waiter three times that we want only one plate to share as we already had a starter and didn't feel so hungry. We even told him if it's not going to be enough we will order more. When the bill came we were shock as they charged as the meal three times! We called the waiter to say that there is a mistake in a bill. He said no and didn't want to talk to as any more. We call someone who pretended to be a manager. We again explained to him our problem and he gave as 30 TRY discount, but we said that's this is still wrong. We put the correct amount on the table and wanted to walk away. One of the waiters started to shout at us: "sit down, what you think you are doing". He started to be very rude and said to us he is going to call police. We told him go ahead we are going to wait for police. When nothing was happing for couple of minutes I asked: "How long does it take for the police to arrive?" .Another waiter got involved starting to be VERY rude and aggressive towards us. In one moment, I thought he is going to punch me in to my face. In this point they were all managers and nobody was giving us any solution only to pay. I would advise all tourist DO NOT visit this restaurant. Otherwise, you may get assaulted!!!! No customer services what's so ever!!! They must learn how to deal with customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamnik, Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We came across this restaurant while walking on istiklal road. The staff is very friendly and the food is fantastic.
As some of the people mentioned, waiter asked if we would like small, medium or big size (not mentioned on the menu), so we took medium. The price was a little bit higher (I think it was 3 TL).
Also we odered some Meze and they charched it 16TL (on the menu are 4 TL or something like that) but we didn't even bother explaining that to them.
So the food was good but they try to trick you, so be carefull

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid This Restaurant.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

It is located on Istiklal street in Istanbul. The restaurant has a nice setting, but it is a total rip-off. We were 5 people who went there for lunch. We ordered from the menu, but the menu only has one price. They tricked us by asking what size order we wanted without letting us know that the price would change. Again, there is only price in the menu. Then, they served us an appetizer we did not order and was more expensive that the main meal. It was twice the price of our main meal. As we asked for an explanation, yhey pretended they did not speak any English, and they manager completely ignored us. We started saying the word police and that is when someone came. At the end, they reduced our bill, but we still had to pay for something we did not order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice location, but nothing was ok: service is lazy, food bad quality and cold, hairs in the bread, ... I got sick for more then 5 days from eating there. They put goodlooking food in their window, but you get served smaller portions and worse quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konak also viewed

 

Been to Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing