We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”
Review of Konak

Konak
Ranked #6,978 of 13,622 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Though we were originally drawn in with the prospect of a sunset rooftop dinner and a reasonably priced Turkish meal, we left bout 5 minutes after getting our food. We got charged more for ordering the medium size plate instead of the menu listed small and the food we were given was practically inedible. My boyfriend's was bone dry and mine was smothered in greasy gravy, both meat varieties were questionable in general. The fries tasted like they had been cooked days before and been sitting around waited to be reheated. Even the complimentary tea was given to us after we were obviously dissatisfied and asked for the check, and it had very large amounts of tea sediment floating in it. Everything was terrible and with the extra charges it ended up being our most expensive meal in Istanbul yet!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    91
    49
    59
    267
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THEY ARE REAL THIEVES/GANGSTERS”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As others reviewers are saying... we thought it was a beautiful restaurant, so we came in. The waiter sowed us a meal and said in poor English 'special meal (showed the picture), 6 persons, 30 TL" so as it was only me and my fiance I said "ok, take me a half portion'' the meal arrived, it was nothing special. However, when de check arrived, they charged us 2 x 30 TL = 60. And they said they had  told us the price!!! so the manager said, or you pay, or I will call the 'Emniyet". I thought it was the owner or something, but no it was a 2 meters guy to make us pay! It was like or YOU PAY OR  HE WILL BEAT YOU!!!!!
So we payed , spit on the floor and left.
Notice that while we were there they did this with other 2 tables where were tourists....
They do this on purpose to STEAL TURISTS MONEY!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcelaFranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be carefull!!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice restaurant on the central street. Be carefull it's a cheat that seems working very well on all courses not mentioned on the list! .Pay attention that price of main course on the list refers to the small quantity so if opt for medium or large quantity you finds out the price at the end of dinner . The waiters always try to offer you course to share for the reason mentioned above. There was no customer who has not discussed at the time of the bill the night I had dinner. Bread and tomatoes are often recycled from leftovers of other tables!! Forget it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabry74-turin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid Rip off place! overcharge tourists”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I went to have lunch on my first day in Istanbul,family of three we ordered 2 kebabs on a plate 2 sodas and bottle of water a plate of French fries,they offereda salad, charged us for double salads and double fries. and an extra orange juice we hadn't ordered.very rude& patronising.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rip off”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A rip off, the prices on the menu don't represent meals, they are multiplied by a factor. They bring you salads that you don't ask for and then charge you a lot for them. The food is good but not the best and definitely not worth all that money..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adhamox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konak also viewed

 

Been to Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing