We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting house, well equipped, superb authentic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Stylish furnishings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stylish furnishings.
Recently restored beautiful home that sleeps 6 Modern and comfortable and keeping all it's original historical features.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Stylish furnishings.
Recently restored beautiful home that sleeps 6
Modern and comfortable and keeping all it's original historical features.
A tasty dinner at home?
Original marble sink and cement tiles.
A place to enjoy.
Original stairwell
Two single beds for the Children or friends
King size double bed.
Magnificent wooden ceiling.
Tasteful carefully chosen and restored antique furniture.
Two bathrooms equipped with powerful rain showers to wake you up for the day.
Full of light.
Chandeliers, original ceilings, and lot's of light from the windows.
Bathroom number 2.
1st class design.
Bedroom 2. Large double bed. And access to the balcony.
Reflections.
A room with a view. Ceiling fan. Beautiful rugs.
A place to sit and contemplate.
One of a kind, carefully chosen and restored furniture.
Morning coffee looking down on the water of the Golden Horn a 5 minute walk away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Istanbul

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eilif G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly special!”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four, with two children aged ten an fourteen, spent almost a week in this truly great apartment. It has all amenities and is very thoughtfully designed. And the building itself has been modernized with great respect for the unique local environment in Balat, and is in effect part of the rejuvenation of this historic neighborhood. And it is an oasis of tranquility and genuine local life in the otherwise very busy metropole of Istanbul. Sitting on the balcony after a hectic day of sightseeing in the city is an experience in itself. Tangerine House comes very highly recommended from all four of us. The host Özkan was very, very helpful.
PS: You may wish to use Uber for transport - it takes ten/fifteen minutes from the apartment to e.g. Sultan Ahmet - as some Istanbul taxi drivers are a challenge. But that is an istanbul problem, not a Balat or Tangerine House problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting house, well equipped, superb authentic location. Great hosts.”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent town house, done up in a wonderful antique style, in the Fatih/Balat district, the historic quarter of Istanbul. Amazing atmosphere both of the place and the house. We stayed in Tangerine house, and a twin, Turquoise house, is next door, owned by the same people.

The area:
The house is near the top of a steep hill, so the views from the top floor are superb. You see the Bosphorous and the Asian side of the river, despite the tall houses around you. The street is quite narrow and cobble-stoned. This is not a touristy area, the people living around you are the locals. There are quite a lot of impoverished and refugee people as well, amongst the conservative religious locals. People are friendly, and the area is very safe. You will see tourists visiting the area during the day, who have come to experience the authentic historic city.

The house:
The house is well kitted, and has been done up in beautiful antique style by Peter and Ozkan. There is a kitchen and sitting/dinning area on the ground floor. An old door has been cleverly turned into the table! There is dishwasher, washer/dryer, toaster, kettle, microwave, and well equipped kitchen. There are some steep winding stairs up to the first floor, which is spacious. The bathroom on this floor is a little small, but completely adequate. There are towel drying rails - very handy. The beds can be turned into a double or twin.

Up the winding stairs to the 2nd floor, a loft conversion style double bedroom. There is a balcony here, which is small, but nice to enjoy a cup of tea and take in the fantastic view of the city and the Bosphorous. The beds are very comfortable in both bedrooms. There is a similar style bathroom on this floor. There are sliding doors for both the bedrooms and the bathrooms (with no locks! - so we had to warn our young children to be mindful when opening the doors).

Ozkan and Peter were superb hosts. Very responsive to any questions or needs. The house is well stocked with books (in English) on Istanbul and Turkey, as well as local maps. There is even a hand-drawn sheet specific to the house and its adjoining streets. There is an orange file that the hosts have prepared with their own tips for eating and viewing that was excellent. Ozkan kindly arranged pick up and drop off for the airport, with a people carrier (minivan) which was helpful as a family of 5 with 3 suitcases and some smaller bags, was not manageable by the usual taxi.

A few points to note:

The house is on top of a steep hill, and the staircase is quite steep as well. As noted by an earlier reviewer, those with knee problems need to bear that in mind.

The house is priced slightly differently to other self catering apartments, I discovered. There is a charge per guest per night, beyond 2 guests. So, for a family of 5, it works out similar to other rentals. But, if you are only two, the apartment is actually quite a lot cheaper than others.

The taxi drivers are totally untrustworthy! I got fleeced twice in the first day or two, but then we used the buses as our primary transport (and ferries).

We found a local restaurant Oz Karadeniz on Fathiye Street - excellent ! We ended up eating there every day. The Katmer desert is amazing !

All in all a fantastic trip! We hope to visit and stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Hi Amir,
We are so glad you like the house and the area. Please send your friends and family to us so we would like to show the same hospitality
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nabbas932...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best break anyone could wish for- AMAZING LOCATION AND HOUSE”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

First of all let me begin by saying that the house was an absolute delight to stay in.
It is situated in Balat, which is a stunning area full of cobbled streets, colour and life.The house itself is spacious (we were four adults) and oozing with character, created by the juxtaposition between the preservation of the exposed ottoman features with the modern and clean elements.
The host Ozkan welcomed us warmly and had eggs, milk, fruit and water ready for us on arrival. He was more than happy to eagerly tell us all about Istanbul and its treasures. The beds were all extremely comfortable,the showers were powerful and the house was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and there were supermarkets both above and below the house.
I would recommend a stay in this idyllic home to families, couples and friends alike.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helana201...
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too difficult to find this beautiful house”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful house in a non-touristy part but it is not easy to find. There are not even a nameboard outside! The owners was not very helpful to give us public transport directions to the house. In the end when we called a taxi after walking up and down dodgy streets, the taxi could not find it either. Not even very helpful locals could find the house on our google map! We called Ozkan for help but he did not answer his phone. Although this house is in a poorer part of Turkey I loved the area. The owner only mentioned 2 days before we arrived that they are busy paving around the house. It was a complete mess! We carried our suitcases with difficulty over the rocks and gravel and the Uber driver fell with my suitcase over a piece of wire standing out when he came to fetch us. He also could not find the house. It is a very steep 600m walk from the street and at least 1km from the nearest bus stop! The owner did not give us any directions how to get to the house. The decor is beautiful and that is why I booked this house but that will be the only reason I will recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind words about the House as beautiful. We are happy that in the last fall the house has been featured in a leading interior design magazine so we feel our labour of love in restoring the house will be rewarded :) We are sorry that our wonderful area Balat/Fener here in the heart of the city wasn't to your taste. All though we were trying to be helpful to you all the time it is interesting to read your review about we are not being helpful. We manage several rentals around the same area all of our reviews are saying that we were so helpful and they loved their experience communicating with us. We tried to communicate with you several times before your arrival but you didn`t give us any response until the last minute. I remember years ago meeting a colleague's sister who commented how much she liked Istanbul but that it was dirty, and shabby. At the time the Turk in me ( I'm British!) was offended and asked her had she not seen how dirty inner city London or down town Delhi can be? Later, reflecting, I realised that the texture of Istanbul, it's rough edges, is partly what makes it wonderful. I am sorry that through your visit you couldn't see what appeals to the many photographers who walk our streets and the many visitors and guests who pass this way. The area, a Unesco World Heritage sight and a typical Urban story, is going through gentrification but I hope it never loses all it's grittiness becoming too much pastel colour and designer coffee! Cleaners sweep our streets twice a day. In our diverse community some of the residents are poorer but kind and very hospitable. As the saying goes though, 'beauty is in the eye of the beholder' and although most people visiting Istanbul enjoy the cats in the Street, and their experience of a different world, this doesn't mean all will see the beauty or the charm will appeal to all. When you arrived, the municipality was doing a road work outside the area, which is out of our control and took only a week to finish but you were here only 2 nights and it was the time when they were doing just out side the house. So it is a bit unlucky for you but there is nothing we could stop municipality changing the roads. Apologies about the disturbance at that time but it is only to make the road nicer for the future guest arrives to the area and since than it is all well done and nicer than before. In the future we will hope to receive guests who want to experience the colour of a world different to their own, research the area ahead of their visit (see google for thousands of pictures of the Streets of Balat/Fener) and enjoy to leave the sanitised tourist trail for something more real.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a cosy place to enjoy”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Since this was our first trip to Istanbul we appreciated Ozkans offer to organise a pick up service from the airport. Everything went smoothly - the magic of an Istanbul driver was a first experience. The house was as described, very beautiful and very comfortable. We enjoyed the view of the Golden Horn from the balcony an marvelled about the living conditions of our neighbours. We walked a lot and saw a lot and in the evening it was always calming to come back to our home. Ozkan was a friendly host and walking around in the neighbourhood felt safe all the time. We would recommend this house to everyone who looks for an authentic Istanbul experience. To my surprise we were awakened by the crow of a cock, which I wouldn't have expected in a city of plenty millions...Thank you Ozkan and Peter!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josgreet1
Wehl
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are looking for a please to really capture the multicultural atmosphere in Istanbul this is it. All the tourist spots are within easy reach by walking or public transport and yet when you are staying here you don't feel like the average tourist. This place is a mix of old and new, rich and poor, east and west. Stay here if you want to get a taste of the real Istanbul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere of the house
Liked least: Airconditioning did not work very well, needed fixing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“See and feel the Istanbul of a local”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Do you like to visit exotic locations and get the real feel of a local? I highly recommend this vacation home. Close to a restaurants and cafe's. Close to the a main road artery to the old Istanbul center which includes the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, the Spice Bazaar, the ferry service, the Galata Bridge. Walking to these areas will also take you through neighbourhoods that you would never see on an organized tour. The tram, and ferries are easy to use, but make sure you have a map to plan your trips.The home has all the needs of a traveller, including a balcony where you can see the Golden Horn. The kitchen is fully functional with a stove, fridge and dishwasher. The clothes washer and drier is easy to use. I would have to say that the best attribute of this rental is the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the hosts recommendations and map.
Liked least: The hilly roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing